We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
2
Fri, 19/04
20:00

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
$14 - $69
CUISINES
American, Bar
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (669)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
667 results
Traveller rating
453
139
55
13
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
453
139
55
13
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tuna tartare meatloaf burrata salad short ribs fries downtown stuart happy hour high top entrees cauliflower specials
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 17 December 2023

I had pork chops which were wonderful. My wife had a filet which she finished. My daughter had grouper which was wonderful. Since the kitchen was slow they provided for free. All the dessert were great. We really enjoyed ourselves.

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 September 2023 via mobile

The food and drinks were exceptional. The service was very good and the ambiance was wonderful. Prices were about average for this type of restaurant. Definitely will return.

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 August 2023 via mobile

Not great and slow service. The swordfish was very disappointing. I have never seen a drier piece of fish. Had it been my meal I would have sent it back. The other dinners were pretty good just took too long to come out. Been here...many times but tonight was a disappointment.More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rick Wilson, Owner at The Gafford, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2023

Hi clyoung97, I am so sorry to hear about your experience. I do apologize that you did not experience our best. I wished we would have known while you were there so we could rectify your issues. Thank you for your past business and I...More

Reviewed 31 July 2023

I eat out all the time and rate the Gafford as one of my favorites. They offer comfort food like meatloaf or fried chicken but it's completely different and unique. Their entrees are varied and familiar but yet done differently and deliciously upscale then what...most are use to. LeeAnne is a treasure at the bar. Always friendly, helpful and attentive to make sure you are 100% happy with your meal. At the 25 plus times I have eaten there I can confidently say that I have never had anything but an exceptional meal. The food is consistently amazing, the service a+ and because everyone is happy with the experience, its one of the most friendliest places I know. If your someone visiting this area, Gaffords is a must!More

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rick Wilson, Owner at The Gafford, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2023

Hi CherylsK, thank you so much for your loyalty to the Gafford and your kind words. I can't wait to share your review with our staff especially Leighanna. We greatly appreciate you and look forward to seeing you back again. Regards, Rick

Reviewed 28 July 2023 via mobile

The chief and I visited here with friends on a recommendation and it was wonderful. Inside is nothing special but it has a nice bar area in the back. Our server was very knowledgeable and helpful. I am a bit if a fried tomato snob...and theirs were the best I ever had. They are covered in crabmeat and a wonderful sauce. The swordfish special was prepared well and the sauce was also delicious. Definitely a hit!More

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rick Wilson, Owner at The Gafford, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2023

Hi travelingsteve, Thank you so much for dining with us and taking the time to post your review. We appreciate your business and sharing your experience. We sure hope when you are back in town you will join us for dinner again. Regards, Rick

Reviewed 24 July 2023

Our first time at the Gafford and we were impressed. The atmosphere is that of a high end pub. The service was excellent and obviously experienced. We had the barrata for an appetizer which was very good. My wife had the swordfish and I had...the snapper and both were excellent. They also have an extensive cocktail menu. Highly recommendedMore

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rick Wilson, Owner at The Gafford, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2023

Hi cooperd9999, thank you so much for your business and kind words. I look forward to sharing your comments with our staff and hope to have you dine with us again.

Reviewed 21 July 2023 via mobile

Dinner on a weeknight. What we liked: - Plenty of free parking - Friendly greeting - Service: Oh my. Every contact with our server, Grace, was perfect. Her parents must be very proud of her. Smiling, helpful, informative. Checked on us frequently. Made us feel...welcome. Thank you Grace for treating us like royalty. - Varied menu - Perfectly blended margarita. So good! - Hubby was happy to have a small choice of nonalcoholic beers. - Crusty, chewy, hot complementary French bread with fresh whipped butter. Honestly, I'd come back just for the bread. - The salad with the Romaine and fresh corn: Oh goodness. What an interesting mix of (mildly) sweet and savory. Like a party in your mouth. I get soooooo tired of house salads and boring Caesar greens. I think, after the sexy bread basket (see above), that this salad was the most refreshing thing I've had in a restaurant in a long time. It was that good. - We split The Gafford, a 20-oz ribeye with adult macaroni and cheese--delicious, and I'm not big on this pasta dish--and broccoli. The macaroni dish seemed to be prepared with a blend of cheeses, was served al dente, and I ATE IT ALL. - Silky smooth coffee with my peanut butter pie. Oh. So. Good. What we didn't like: Nothing. Would we return? I can't wait. This was the priciest meal we had in our 2 weeks in Stuart, but we both agree it was the best meal and totally worth the money.More

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rick Wilson, Owner at The Gafford, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2023

Hi Virginia, wow! Thank you for such a nice review and for dining with us while you were in town. I'm thrilled that you loved everything and certainly hope to see you if you are back in our area. Have safe travels home. Rick

Reviewed 8 May 2023

What was once our favorite downtown Stuart restaurant had fallen in our esteem. Wife and I made reservations months in advance anticipating a spectacular dining experience as we had done on so many previous occasions. We had travelled from Oregon and anxiously awaited what we...hoped would be our first on many fine meals at The Gafford during our extended stay in Stuart. Not to be so. We arrived on time, were promptly seated, and within moments were greeted by our server. My wife ordered wine and we proceeded to peruse the menu. As her wine arrived we placed our entree orders and sat back to enjoy the beginning of what we anticipated to be a fine evening. Surprise!!!! Our entrees arrived no more than five minutes after we placed our order. Never in my life have I seen food delivered this quickly. Talk about "fast food". Needless to say our evening did not pan out as we had expected. No time to relax, enjoy the wine, converse, soak in the ambiance. Nada. Slam, bam, flip that table. We did speak with the Manager who was kind and very professional. Unfortunately, no way to rewind the clock. Did we return to The Gafford? No! Will we return in some future year? Possibly. Although we did find many other very good alternatives in Stuart. Time will tell.More

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 March 2023

We had a terrific meal and great service at this lovely restaurant in downtown Stuart. The food was well prepared, served hot and the waiter was attentive without being in your face. We would definitely go back and highly recommend.

Date of visit: March 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 March 2023 via mobile

My husband and I went here for happy hour at the bar. The duck wings were recommended to us. I’m not fond of smoked meat but we decided to try it. It always tastes like ham. We found it interesting. I had tuna tartare. It...was all right. I didn’t like the avocado mousse. I would’ve preferred regular avocado, chopped up with the tuna. Everyone raved about the meatloaf, so my husband took a chance at it even though he’s not a meatloaf eater. he really enjoyed it. Drinks were great. Leanna’s service was great. I would go back and try other things on the menu. not fair to judge it on those unique items. If you like things that are different this is the place to go.More

Date of visit: March 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 March 2023 via mobile

While other restaurants and bars have lost front of the house staff who are helpful and engaging, we have been pleasantly surprised by the accommodating staff at The Gafford. Food is outstanding and reasonably priced, we have not had any meal there that wasn’t superb....I want to recognize TJ, James, Kim and Christina for being thoughtful and engaging a much appreciated change from some of our former go-to spots in Stuart who have gotten too full of themselves and allow rude, condescending staff to serve their patrons. I highly recommend this place for a happy hour drink, snacks or their varied and excellently prepared dinner menu.More

Date of visit: March 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 February 2023 via mobile

This restaurant was described as upscale Southern comfort and it definitely lived up to its reputation. Our waitress Lauren was cheerful and very helpful. She let us know the portions were generous which helped us not to over order. Even with that advice, three of...us left with leftovers. Everyone enjoyed their meal - meatloaf, snapper, grouper, crab cakes were delicious.More

Date of visit: February 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 January 2023 via mobile

Great service and food was awesome. Got the short ribs. Perfect! Large serving, and sauce and grits went great with ribs. Will definitely return soon

Date of visit: January 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 January 2023 via mobile

Service: immediate, attentive, respectful Meal: seared local ahi. best tuna steak ever. bonus string beans. wife had excellent beef ribs. Price: less than we expected given #1 spot on tripadvisor.

Date of visit: January 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 December 2022 via mobile

Way overpriced food was cold served was rude some tatted up idiot touches all the food never going again

Date of visit: December 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Old Colorado Inn
475 reviews
.13 km away
Best Western Downtown Stuart
952 reviews
1.38 km away
Days Inn by Wyndham Stuart
506 reviews
1.51 km away
Suburban Studios - Stuart
130 reviews
2.34 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Riverwalk Cafe & Oyster Bar
566 reviews
.11 km away
Kilwin's Chocolates and Ice Cream
283 reviews
.07 km away
Osceola Street Cafe
407 reviews
.06 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Riverwalk
519 reviews
.09 km away
Stuart Heritage Museum
100 reviews
.27 km away
Geoffrey C. Smith Galleries
13 reviews
.07 km away
Stuart Green Market
13 reviews
.17 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
ChrisCamdenMaine
24 October 2021|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Rick W | Property representative |
Good morning, thank you for your message. You sure can as long as it is a wine that is not on our wine list. Please find our list at out website. TA will not allow anyone to tag our web site but it is thegafford. We do... More
0
Votes
Ann C
7 March 2021|
Answer
Response from Rick W | Property representative |
Cortines
0
Votes
JohnESimpson
4 December 2018|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from 285davec | Reviewed this property |
There was no live music the past two visits. I believe both were on s Sunday .i don’t recall it being extremely noisy but it was very busy.
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE GAFFORD, Stuart - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions about The Gafford

Yes, The Gafford offers takeaway services.

The Gafford is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5