We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Boot

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
About
Built in 1739, The Boot is a cosy, traditional English country pub restaurant, complete with an Inglenook fireplace, traditional bar area and newly extended restaurant "Wellingtons". Whether you're after a quality pint from our selection of real ales from all over the country, or a delicious home prepared and beautifully cooked meal in our restaurant Wellingtons, The Boot is the place for you. This great, family friendly, country pub restaurant thrives on its friendly atmosphere, well kept beer and delicious food. We even allow dogs in some areas, so please advise us on booking if you would like to include your four legged friend! We look forward to welcoming you soon.
PRICE RANGE
US$7 - US$23
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
FEATURES
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Free off-street parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Playgrounds, Gift Cards Available
Reviews (866)
Filter reviews
864 results
Traveller rating
588
174
53
35
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
588
174
53
35
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish and chips roast beef scallops pie burger potatoes yorkshire pudding the pub sunday lunch specials board lovely lunch food was lovely booked a table zoe marquee trimmings ales
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Recently came to this great pub and it was a great experience for myself and the family. I highly recommend the crisp and light fish and chips and we had Kim look after us who was excellent throughout our visit.

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?2  
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a great Sunday lunch here. Very helpful staff (we were served by Imogen) and excellent food. Will definitely come back.

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 1 week ago

The team here are so lovely…. The food is amazing!!! Especially the fish & chips!!! Nice and fresh….you won’t be disappointed!!!

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?2  
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely old pub, good service, and good large protion food. We were served by Kim, who was very attentive and quick.

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Came for lunch with my English family as I was visiting from the States. A lovely meal started with a nice pint of good beer, and mussels, and then had the vegetarian pie special with vegetables as my side and potato as my main course....Loads of properly cooked not over-cooked tasty seasonal local vegetables. This is one of those meals I will remember as the classic village pub meal and event. Had an after meal drink in the garden. Never rushed . And there were a squadron of children joyfully playing on the little soccer pitch and in playground which all has a fence around it to keep them in the right place while parents and others can sit and enjoy drinks and company. Loads of friendly hellos and smiles from the, I believe, regulars when wandering about and the Governess of the Establishment made herself known and emphasized getting her attention if any needs. Didn't hover just was pleasantly there. And last but not least you can tell how well the place is run by the cleanliness of the toilets with its sign-in sheet for inspection hanging on the wall for hourly checks. Which reminds me of a rule; you can tell how well a place is run and kept by stealing a glance in the kitchen (through the serving window it looked spotless) and how the toilets are maintained. Say no more! I'd go back!More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We held a Murder Mystery party in the restaurant area of the Boot. The owner was so quick with their responses and was so helpful with planning and accomodating us. We were given the entire restaurant to ourselves (over 20 people) and had specific staff...catering to us all night. The food was exceptional and served on time and quickly, which was so important to the running of the evening. We had so much fun and the waiting staff were incredibly friendly, accomodating and even provided separate bills for all guests. We had such a great time and would love to thank everyone at The Boot for making our evening so memorable.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Popped in for a quick lunch after a seven mile walk. Very pleasant greeting, Zoe charming, paninis gorgeous and Lottie my Springer was well looked after. I can't speak for a la carte as this is our only visit to date but can certainly recommend...this pub for lunch.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What a disappointment at The Boot this afternoon. I booked a table for 3 for a birthday celebration having been to the Boot previously. On booking I asked for a quiet table. On arrival they sat us at a table opposite a staff entrance with...loads of staff coming and going through the door carrying crockery and bottles and glasses from the bar throwing empty bottles into crates. As if that wasnt bad enough tables were then put together next to ours to accommodate a large family with kids shouting and the parents shouting back at them!! Very disappointed with the food as I told the Manager (could of been the owner). We all had a roast and all I can say is that it must have been cooking for days. I couldnt even cut through the roast potatoes and the yorkshire pudding was weird. In fact I saw the other customers plates being returned with the yorkshire puddings being returned. The green vegetables were rock hard and hardly cooked. Can anybody recommend a place which serves a good Sunday roast.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
The B, Owner at The Boot, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear alf12348, I'm so sorry we weren't able to give you a quieter table when you visited us yesterday. When you booked with Imogen we did say we would try our best with that request but being a Sunday, we are always busy and it...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were so pleasantly surprised by this awesome pub in this tiny village! The food was beyond excellent, amazing menu with loads of choices and best Guinness I’ve had in about ten years outside of ireland. Super friendly staff - highly recommend!!! Cauliflower tempura and...burger were awesome! Cosy interior and massive garden outdoor spaceMore

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?2  
The B, Owner at The Boot, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Britt I, Thank you so much for visiting us and we are thrilled you enjoyed your experience! Fred, our bar manager, looks after the beer lines beautifully doesn't he :) We look forward to welcoming you back again soon so that you may enjoy some...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked over the telephone the morning of our visit for a family of five for an early evening meal. Was told that we could be seated in the marquee area which I thought would be ideal as still not 100% confident sitting indoors at the...moment due to the rise in covid numbers. Arrived on time and was eventually shown to the area. Only to find out that we were being seated next to a private function and therefore felt that we were invading their space. There was also a murder mystery event happening within the pub itself so the pub felt a lot busier than it should have been. Not once, was I told that these events were happening - I wanted somewhere to take my family for a lovely peaceful meal before my son disappeared off to university! Max was our waiter (hope he sees this!) for the meal and did a good job of taking our orders and making sure that we were okay during the starter and main but I felt that because of these other events taking place, we were sort of missed (one of the other members of staff said that they were short staffed) - indeed, we paid and left without having any desert. Hopefully the next time we visit, it will be a lot quieter.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
The B, Owner at The Boot, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

I am so sorry you felt uncomfortable sharing the marquee with a large table on Saturday. It wasn't a private function and we didn't expect the table to still be enjoying their time with us well into the evening as they were a lunchtime booking....More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Two Brewers Hotel
524 reviews
2.09 km away
North Hill Farm
210 reviews
2.53 km away
The Grove Hotel
3,445 reviews
4.00 km away
De Vere Latimer Estate
1,361 reviews
4.25 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Cart and Horses
518 reviews
1.10 km away
The Cock Inn Sarratt Pub & Restaurant
299 reviews
1.17 km away
The Cricketers
541 reviews
.34 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Chenies Manor House and Gardens
137 reviews
2.91 km away
Chorleywood Common
19 reviews
2.98 km away
Delta Force Paintball Kings Langley
38 reviews
4.06 km away
Golf at The Grove
142 reviews
4.43 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
tonysE7681KZ
11 May 2021|
Answer
Response from Colin W | Reviewed this property |
Yes
0
Votes
juliar519
17 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from angela j | Reviewed this property |
There were dogs in the bar area on our visit and that was a saturday evening.
1
Vote
juliar519
17 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from jonhelen | Reviewed this property |
In the bar area and lots of outside tables.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Boot

Yes, The Boot offers takeaway services.

Yes, The Boot is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

The Boot is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4.5