We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
$8 - $20
CUISINES
Italian, Pizza, Portuguese, Bar, Contemporary, Gastropub, Grill
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (508)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
397 results
Traveller rating
177
163
35
15
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
177
163
35
15
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pizza steak eisbein chicken prawns salad locals and tourists great menu long drive tasty food nice atmosphere cold beer train deck
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 22 December 2023 via mobile

We had a great get together with friends for an early dinner, choosed some pizza and asked for a frozen strawberry margerita which wasn’t on the menue - hopefully will be soon - but Jeridah the waitress made us a super cocktail and we enjoyed...the relaxed and friendly atmosphere underneath the shades of the beautiful trees on the terrasse!More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maja Prinsloo, General Manager at Sleepers Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2023

Thank You For the Lovely Review! Our Bar Blender is in for repairs Unfortunately, But will be back soon

Reviewed 17 September 2023

Wonderful setting food always well presented great to sit under the big trees outside Lots to choose from off the menu

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maja Prinsloo, General Manager at Sleepers Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2023

Thank you for the Great Review!!

Reviewed 6 August 2023

This was a most enjoyable meal. Very good food, nicely presented, friendly and efficient staff and good value for money. Strongly recommended.

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maja Prinsloo, General Manager at Sleepers Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2023

Thanks very much for the great feedback!

Reviewed 17 July 2023

Having been here several times over the years, Sleepers almost always disappoints on the food. It's mostly bought in and not freshly made. We've found foreign objects in the food twice and it's generally not great. As a place to go for a drink on...a Friday afternoon etc, it's fine.More

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maja Prinsloo, General Manager at Sleepers Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2023

I'm sorry we did not meet your expectations , I can assure you all our food is made on site and fresh, sorry you did not enjoy it we will strive to improve! Please let us know if something is not right when you're here...More

Reviewed 21 March 2023

We went twice in this restaurant. We tried the beef (the T-Bones are pretty amazing, try the 800 gram!), the carpaccio, the pizza's ... all was extremely tasty. Great thing is you can order a half-half pizza, to be honest, never seen in my life...you could do that! The service is more than just service, we would like to give high fives to Precious! Their winelist is quite good for a restaurant like this! As we went twice, you surely have to visit it by yourself :-)More

Date of visit: February 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maja Prinsloo, General Manager at Sleepers Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2023

Thank you! It is always nice to get a personal Review.. Precious will be handsomely rewarded for her good service!!

Reviewed 1 March 2023

I haven't been to Sleepers for some years but finally I managed to be back this year and what can I say, still the same cozy atmosphere and qualitiy food. The staff is very helpful and always has a smile for the customers. Just be...ready to wait a little bit because especially on weekends it can get very packed.More

Date of visit: February 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maja P, General Manager at Sleepers Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2023

Thank you for the 5Star Review!!

Reviewed 9 January 2023

I have often visited this beaut in the heart of Hoedspruit. To collect a couple of little bottles of their delicious chilli, or as a convenient meeting place on our way to the KNP, or a place to have a cold beer or to indulge...in a delicious meal. I have erred in not writing a review. this is the place to meet in Hoedspruit if you want to mix with the interesting locals and tourists alike. The staff, the food, the drinks are a welcome break from the toing and froing of the busy Limpopo region. relax and watch the trains rumble by. I know I'll be backMore

Date of visit: December 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maja P, General Manager at Sleepers Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2023

Thank you for the 5 Star Review!!

Reviewed 4 January 2023 via mobile

We have just spent a week in the, not-so-sleepy town of Hoedspruit. The development here is unbelievable, with so many eateries popping up. We tried a few newbies, but went to our old favourite Sleepers twice. You can’t go wrong with the delicious food, and...a really great menu which covers all tastes. The friendly staff and the ambience also wonderful.More

Date of visit: January 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maja P, General Manager at Sleepers Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2023

Thank you for the 5 Star Review!!

Reviewed 4 January 2023 via mobile

The BEST restaurant EVER!!! Brilliant food, excellent staff, great venue. I love it . I will come back soon!!!!!!!!!!!!

Date of visit: January 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maja P, General Manager at Sleepers Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2023

Thank you for the 5 Star Review!!

Reviewed 4 January 2023 via mobile

Absolutely love Sleepers! Food is consistently good, service good! I look forward to visiting whenever we are in Hoedspruit

Date of visit: January 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maja P, General Manager at Sleepers Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2023

Thank you for the 5 Star Review!!

Reviewed 11 November 2022 via mobile

Me and my family went out to dinner at sleepers,we were seated by a lovely staff member on arrival,we got our drinks order in right away,when it came to order our food we were greeted with a different waiter let’s say this waiter was not...so friendly,I order the cheesy garlic snails for my starters food didn’t take that long to come,with my snails on arrival I could see plenty of cheese but barely and garlic,the rest of my family said there food was straight mediocre.coming to South Africa on holiday this has been one of the worse places we’ve been it will be a while before we come agian.More

Date of visit: November 2022
Helpful?3  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maja P, General Manager at Sleepers Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2022

Dear Fionn, Thank you for the Feedback. we Appreciate the feedback and will work on our staff for future

Reviewed 27 October 2022 via mobile

I don’t think i’ll be back here soon. Everything except the food was good though. I stiil enjoyed the ambiance.

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maja P, General Manager at Sleepers Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2022

Thank you for your Review. Please feel free to contact us regarding your experience, and maybe we can learn from our mistakes

Reviewed 1 September 2022

Lovely dining option in town - especially the outside deck. Service was somewhat slow, but that wasn't dissimilar to other service time experiences. The food was outstanding! The Eisbein was recommended and it did not disappoint. Absolutely loved the meal.

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maja P, General Manager at Sleepers Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2022

Glad you loved the Eisbein. Thank you for the other feedback, we will work on that

Reviewed 27 August 2022

We were a table of 4 people. The food was terrible. The meals ordered were Spare Ribs, Chicken and Prawn curry. Fillet steak x 2. My fillet and side arrived ice cold to the table, the fillet was so tough I could not but my...knife into it. I embracingly sent my food back. My husband had the chicken and prawn curry. The prawns were not cooked. My friend had the worst ribs of his life. I did send my food back and had a salad in replacement of my meal. We were tied and hungry after a long drive through the Kruger. This was a terrible end to a perfect day.More

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maja P, General Manager at Sleepers Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2022

We apologize for your experience. We did Replace your fillet (it was a bad cut) with a salad, and by the empty plates and no other feedback at the table during your meal we understood the rest of the food was enjoyable. Please next time...More

Reviewed 14 August 2022 via mobile

We arrived for dinner after a sunset drive in the Kruger park. The restaurant was busy with a good atmosphere. Service was attentive and food was good.

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maja P, General Manager at Sleepers Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2022

Thanks for the feedback

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Swadini, A Forever Resort
546 reviews
.44 km away
Bushwillow Private Villa
4 reviews
2.22 km away
Radisson Safari Hotel Hoedspruit
3 reviews
4.02 km away
Rafiki Bush Lodge
44 reviews
5.58 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Hat & Creek - Hoedspruit
769 reviews
1.02 km away
The Fig and Bean
66 reviews
.10 km away
Hoedspruit Cafe
12 reviews
1.06 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Siyafunda Wildlife & Conservation
33 reviews
.51 km away
Tshukudu Game Lodge
149 reviews
.10 km away
Maholohomo Animal Rehab Center
6 reviews
.18 km away
Big 5 Safaris
9 reviews
.27 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
jacquess2016
7 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Maja P | Property representative |
Sleepers is a great place to meet new people, young and old alike. also a great mix of locals and tourists.
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

SLEEPERS RESTAURANT, Hoedspruit - Restaurant Reviews, Phone Number & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Sleepers Restaurant

Yes, Sleepers Restaurant offers takeaway services.

Sleepers Restaurant is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5