We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

CUISINES
Cafe, New Zealand
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (108)
There are newer reviews for Arthur St Kitchen
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveller rating
42
30
13
9
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
42
30
13
9
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brunch scones great coffee delicious food takeaway
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 6 June 2019 via mobile

Breakfast was awesome, had eggs Benedict and a got chocolate was really nice, good atmosphere and has parking out front

Date of visit: June 2019
Helpful?
Safari813797, Owner at Arthur St Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2019

Thank you for your nice review, we are very glad that you enjoyed your visit :-) Many thanks from Your team at Arthur street kitchen

Reviewed 9 May 2019

Went there for mid-morning break. Food selection wasn't great. Coffee nothing to write home about. Bacon and egg slice was very nice. Would we go back. Don't think so.More

Date of visit: April 2019
Helpful?
Safari813797, Owner at Arthur St Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2019

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience, we are glad that you enjoyed the bacon and egg pie. We are sorry that you were disappointed with the food selection available to you, at mid morning we are usually getting the cabinet...More

Reviewed 15 April 2019 via mobile

Went with my partner staff rude and no smile when I asked if my partner could have some extra hot water the girl rolled her eyes I was not happy. We were there about 20 minutes and the girl asked you nearly finished we need...More

Date of visit: April 2019
Helpful?
Safari813797, Owner at Arthur St Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2019

Thank you for taking the time to give us your one star rating, you seem to make a habit of complaining about just about every dining experience that you have had. I have spoken with the girls, who remember your visit well, you chose to...More

Reviewed 21 November 2018

We stopped off at this cafe as it had such great reviews. From the minute we walked in the staff were rude and unhelpful. The cashier got the bill wrong, also both our orders were not what we had ordered- we couldn't be bothered to...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Helpful?
ArthurSt8, Owner at Arthur St Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2018

Hello Tracey, We are very sorry to hear about your experience at Arthur St. This is not the standard we adhere to and the staff have been spoken too as a friendly welcome to all is part of what we do and we will provide...More

Reviewed 17 November 2018 via mobile

Nice location - easy to find from route one. Food was excellent with a good selection of food cooked to order and baked. Coffee was good too. Four rather than five stars because it was a bit slow (and not busy when we went).More

Date of visit: November 2018
Helpful?
ArthurSt8, Owner at Arthur St Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2018

Hi Nicola, Thank you very much for taking the time to review Arthur St and we are glad you liked our food and coffee. Sorry that things weren't as fast as you'd wished, an area we'll keep working on so next time we'll get that...More

Reviewed 3 September 2018 via mobile

Stopped in here for a coffee on drive to Dunedin after recommendation from the Avis lady at Timaru airport 😊 Coffee was great and staff really friendly..I only wish I could have tried some of the amazing looking food there, gluten free and sugar free...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Helpful?
ArthurSt8, Owner at Arthur St Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2018

Hi Kelznz, Thank you for your great review (thank you to the lady at Avis too :) Sorry about the Sunday - we are looking at opening Sundays through the summer months though if you are heading back this way... Your Arthur St Kitchen Team

Reviewed 24 July 2018

The staff here were just plain uninterested in the customers and more interested in their own conversations. When I asked if there was a menu I got a blunt 'no'. The food was okay, not as nice as it looked. I wouldn't recommend.More

Date of visit: July 2018
Helpful?2  
ArthurSt8, Owner at Arthur St Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2018

Hi Christine R, Thank you for your review and we are truly sorry that we 'dropped the ball' with our customer service on your visit. It is correct, we do not have a printed menu as we have a specials board and serve food that...More

Reviewed 23 June 2018 via mobile

This is a really cute cafe with individual little rooms and comfy chairs and lounges. The coffee was ok. On the day we visited the staff were not that friendly, or we may have just caught them at a bad time. Worth a try.More

Date of visit: May 2018
Helpful?
ArthurSt8, Owner at Arthur St Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Hi Maddy K, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our wee Cafe. We are really sorry that the staff didn't give you the service you deserve and we strive to offer every single time to every single customer. Our sincerest apologies...More

Reviewed 21 June 2018 via mobile

Had coffee was a little wait but the place was really busy at the time so must be expected when so flat. Coffee and food was top class and recommend beverages and food from this place

Date of visit: June 2018
Helpful?1  
ArthurSt8, Owner at Arthur St Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Hi Kevin T, Thank you very much for your great review, we really appreciate it! Your Arthur St Kitchen Team

Reviewed 19 June 2018

Totally my favourite cafe in Timaru for the smoothest scrummiest mochaccino. Same goes for the coffees too. And some tasty slices and savory bakes. The staff are really pleasant and welcoming and the atmosphere easy and friendly. There are a number of rooms for sitting...More

Date of visit: June 2018
Helpful?1  
ArthurSt8, Owner at Arthur St Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Hi 120Petunia, Thank you very much for taking the time to write this awesome review, we really appreciate it! Hopefully, we get to serve you lots more yummy mochas. Your Arthur St Kitchen Team

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Grosvenor Hotel
348 reviews
.36 km away
Seabreeze Motel
25 reviews
.70 km away
Panorama Motor Lodge
88 reviews
.78 km away
Aspen On King
226 reviews
.95 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Oxford
319 reviews
.31 km away
The Speight’s Ale House
454 reviews
.37 km away
Zest
343 reviews
.40 km away
Street Food Kitchen
105 reviews
.37 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Te Ana Maori Rock Art
85 reviews
.39 km away
South Canterbury Museum
74 reviews
.13 km away
Aigantighe Art Gallery
53 reviews
1.36 km away
York Street Gallery of Fine Art
14 reviews
.77 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Arthur St Kitchen staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing