We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
$12 - $42
CUISINES
Bar, Pub, New Zealand, International, Fusion
Meals
Lunch, After-hours, Drinks, Breakfast, Dinner
View all details
features, about
Reviews (76)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveller rating
22
19
15
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
22
19
15
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tuna steak limited menu one night every night bar and grill lagoon deck
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 28 February 2024

We booked for the Island night so we could see the show after dinner. We were on time at 7 but waited 10 minutes for them to give us a table (which wasn't where the island show even was going to be) then 20 minute...wait for drinks. THEN, a two hour wait for dinner. We thought 1 hour before the show would be great. We ordered the waygu steak and shrimp over mashed potatoes so it should have been quick. No explanation just "Your food is coming". Worst experience ever.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 October 2023 via mobile

Excellent food and very lovely staff. Beautiful spot for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Live music and fantastic views, awesome cocktails. Would recommend you check it out.

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 September 2023

Located in the Aitutaki Lagoon Private Island Resort on Motu Akitua, this restaurant has a pleasant aspect looking over the swimming pool to the lagoon beyond. The menu and wine list are reasonably extensive and prices acceptable. Our meals were quite adequate but nothing special...and the service was patchy - two local servers were quite sullen and lacked any personality, whereas a Fijian waitress was superb and very friendly.More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jason Napa, Marketing at Flying Boat Beach Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2023

Kia Orana, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent dining experience at the Flying Boat Beach Bar & Grill. We genuinely appreciate your valuable input as it helps us continually improve our services. We are delighted to hear that...More

Reviewed 11 September 2022

Very welcoming and friendly. Beautiful food. Stunning scenery. They require advance booking, but welcomed us without a booking the first time, as we didn’t know this.More

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jason N, Manager at Flying Boat Beach Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2022

Kia Orana, Thank you for posting a review of your recent dining experience with us. Glad to hear you had a wonderful time including the warm hospitality from the staff and lovely food served at the Flying Boat Beach Bar & Grill. The Flying Boat...More

Reviewed 28 August 2022

As per the review below, the photos of this bar/restaurant are deceptive, in particular the one showing it with a deck reaching to the lagoon edge. That was the old bar and grill, before the fire. It's not there anymore. I've loaded a picture of...what remains of the deck, which doesn't appear to be used for anything much these days. The replacement bar and restaurant, at least until the renovations are complete, are at the western tip of the island where the chapel used to be (according to the outdated evacuation map in our bungalow). The bar is a small decked area, sharing the same building as the reception. Whilst small we had no problem finding a table to eat lunch or drink their great cocktails overlooking the lagoon. The lunch meals were a limited menu of bar food, eg. burgers and club sandwiches, and were great. The dining area is tables on the sand under a roof with sides of clear plastic, with more tables under an adjacent marquee. We were absolutely fine eating in that setting. The service was quick and friendly, but not always accurate in terms of whose cocktail was whose. The restaurant meals were limited and OK, not fine dining at all, but not the bar food I had seen referred to in another review. I had steak one night, teriyaki tuna another and roast chicken another. We ate at the resort every night as we couldn't be bothered going elsewhere and none of their menus seemed any better. We ate at three different restaurants on Rarotonga (OTB at Manuia Beach Resort, the Waterline and the Little Polynesian) and this was comparable to them all in terms of choice, quality and price. The cocktails were better here though. One night there was a ukelele band who were very talented and entertaining, but a little close/loud for dinner conversation to happen concurrently.More

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?3  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jason N, Guest Relations Manager at Flying Boat Beach Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2022

Kia Orana, Thank you for dining with us every night during your stay and sharing your feedback of your dining experience with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the warm hospitality from the staff and not forgetting the lovely cocktails. The Aitutaki...More

Reviewed 20 May 2022

this bar does not go over the water, is the only food area in the resort and is beach bar food at best, nice but not as advertised.More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Haimona B, Manager at Flying Boat Beach Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2022

Kia Orana, Thank you for your review. We have images of Captain Andy's Beach Bar & Grill on our website. Please note that we don't advertise it as abar over the water, however Captain Andy's does overlook the Aroa lagoon. Our menus are also advertised...More

Reviewed 26 August 2021

Ate here one night and food was great, only a small selection but would recommend. Great spot right on the water

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Haimona B, Manager at Flying Boat Beach Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2022

Kia Orana, Thank you for your kind review. We are thrilled to hear that you had a great dining experience with us and we hope to welcome you back if your plans being you back to Rarotonga. Kind Regards, Haimona Browne Resort Manager

Reviewed 10 July 2021

We had two cooked breakfasts which were nice however the continentals which came as part of our package was disappointing. We ate dinner the first evening of our stay and there were a number of items on the menu which weren't available (that wasn't a...problem) but the meals we did get were very substandard. We ate elsewhere for the rest of our stay.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jason N, General Manager at Flying Boat Beach Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2021

Kia Orana, I appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback. I am disappointed to hear of your experience with regards to the service & quality of meals from the Flying Boat Beach Bar & Grill and I apologise for the inconvenience. As you are...More

Reviewed 3 July 2021

My partner and I came here for dinner with friends who were staying here. Food was average, service was poor but location was great for sunset.

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jason N, General Manager at Flying Boat Beach Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2021

Kia Orana, Thank you for your review, great to hear you enjoyed our Private Island location with best sunsets on the island. Kia Manuia, Jason Napa Resort Manager

Reviewed 21 June 2021 via mobile

We did not stay here, however we did come for dinner on every single night of our stay in Aitutaki. Food was amazing and fresh, I would recommend their coconut noodle salad with chicken, their pizza, tuna special, and game fish sandwich. Even cocktails were...next level. Staff was even better, best customer service I have received on the island. Special thanks to Nanise, she really went above and beyond while serving us. We are already planning out next visit and will be definitely coming back.More

Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jason N, General Manager at Flying Boat Beach Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2021

Kia Orana, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay in Aitutaki. Appreciate your lovely feedback and recommendations of our popular dishes served at the Flying Boat Beach Bar & Grill; coconut noodle salad, pizzas, gamefish sandwich and dinner...More

Reviewed 17 June 2021

We had several meals here. The staff were excellent remembering my drink each day. The setting was lovely.

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
vegantraveler173, Owner at Flying Boat Beach Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2021

Kia Orana Lisa, thank you for taking the time to provide your kind feedback. The staff are thrilled!

Reviewed 2 October 2019

If you want... Cocktails on the beach..., A sumptuous bite to eat on the beach.... While watching over crystal clear waters,... With sandy white beaches just in the distance,... Being served by friendly staff..... This one is for you !More

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Haimona B, Manager at Flying Boat Beach Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2019

Kia Orana, Thank you for your kind review. I am thrilled to hear that you had a lovely experience and that you enjoyed our beachfront location, the tropical cocktails and the warm hospitality from our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind...More

Reviewed 27 July 2019 via mobile

I am unsure if the resort has had problems with people who cross to the island and never leave, in the past, but the welcome by the rudest boatsman ever almost made me turn around. I had to call réception and seek approval to come...over for a $16 drink in the bar. I was approved, I provided the gentleman's name from reception to the boatman and I was sharply informed that I was to go to the bar directly and not stay from the path! Fortunately the woman tending the bar was lovely and the drink was good. The resort needs to find a new boatman and relax in general. Those shelling out for Aitutaki are generally well off (this is an expensive place) and that kind of welcome in such a place is unwarranted.More

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jason N, General Manager at Flying Boat Beach Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2019

Kia Orana, Thank you for writing your review. Glad to hear you found the staff friendly and helpful at the Kuriri Point BBQ & Beach Bar. I apologize for the reception you received from the ferry driver when enquiring about the possibility of dining with...More

Reviewed 12 June 2019

Small choice of meals but what they had was really nice. We ate there twice. Nice place to see the sunset

Date of visit: May 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TRBR_ResortMgr, Manager at Flying Boat Beach Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2019

Kia Orana, Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meals with us and that you also loved the amazing sunsets as well. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards, Jason Napa Resort Manager

Reviewed 27 April 2019 via mobile

The restaurant was good but not great as was the service, those that offered great service compromised by those that didn’t. The menu changes nightly ensuring a variety of meals. Live shows take place every 2 or 3 nights. We chose to eat at the...Boat Shed several times which is only a few hundred metres walk.More

Date of visit: April 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TRBR_ResortMgr, Manager at Flying Boat Beach Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2019

Kia Orana, Thank you for writing your review on your dining experience at the new Kuriri Point BBQ & Beach Bar and Bounty Restaurant. I am delighted to read you found the staff very friendly and the views of the lagoon from the beach bar...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Aitutaki Lagoon Private Island Resort
1,133 reviews
.13 km away
Ranginui's Retreat
120 reviews
.21 km away
Aitutaki Village
240 reviews
.34 km away
Aitutaki Escape
211 reviews
2.98 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Avatea Cafe
103 reviews
4.06 km away
Mouarii Cafe
19 reviews
4.44 km away
Koru Cafe
1,181 reviews
.38 km away
Tavake Cafe
13 reviews
4.35 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Aitutaki Lagoon
1,106 reviews
.08 km away
O'otu Beach
96 reviews
.35 km away
Mount Maungapu
84 reviews
2.72 km away
The Vaka Cruise
1,120 reviews
2.31 km away
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

FLYING BOAT BEACH BAR & GRILL, Aitutaki - Restaurant Reviews, Phone Number & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Flying Boat Beach Bar & Grill

Flying Boat Beach Bar & Grill is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 3.5
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 3
  • Atmosphere: 4