Sanya Cucina Italian Restaurant

Sanya Cucina Italian Restaurant

Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
+86 188 7660 6882+ Add website
Hours
Sun
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Mon
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Tue
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Wed
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Thu
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Fri
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Sat
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Improve this listing
Ratings and reviews
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles

RATINGS
Food
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Atmosphere
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Food and ambience
Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings
Does this restaurant offer outdoor seating?
About
Your escape to Italy is here, in the tropical island of Hainan, Cucina is the place where you will have the authentic Italian Experience, Owner Daniele Vacca hails from Sardinia, an Italian Island in the middle of Mediterranean Sea, His home, with its rich flora and fauna, serves as the basis of his inspired Mediterranean-Italian cuisine, his multi country experience will create a unique journey for your palate featuring fresh delights, the highest quality imported meats, cheeses and cold cuts, homemade pastas, fresh local seafood, and delicious desserts. Along with all this, Our Italian Pizza Oven will also amaze You, we give you the opportunity to enjoy brick oven b aked pizza and Accompany your dining experience with a large selection of the famous Italian wines, Cucina features an al fresco terrace in a tropical pull garden facing the ocean where you will enjoy an unforgettable sunset, this the perfect place for celebrate the special moments in your life, Arrivederci
PRICE RANGE
$9.00 – $574.00
CUISINES
Italian, Pizza, Seafood, International, Mediterranean, Grill
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
FEATURES
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free off-street parking, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Digital Payments, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles255 reviews
Excellent
224
Very good
13
Average
7
Poor
3
Terrible
9
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

Marcusw69
Toronto59 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 couples
What a gem of a restaurant! Food and service were amazing, in a great outdoor setting. The super fresh baby octopus in tomato sauce was sooo tasty, and both the prawns and the fish were perfectly cooked, with the “bring the sea back to the fish” sauce absolutely stunning! The husband (Italiano!) and wife team are very personable and genuinely interested in their guests’ experience and prices are very reasonable. Great value for money and highly recommended!
Written 26 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
danielevacca195
Dear Guest, We very appreciate what you wrote this wonderful comment, This make me proud to serve and cook with more enthusiasm, Here we try to improve daily our standards and quality, Personalize the guest experience is our mission, Thank you again and we hope to see you soon, Grazie e arrivederci, Daniele & Tessa
Written 28 January 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

dreamsaredreams84
Rome12 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020 friends
I come from Sardinia (Italy) and I live in China since 4 years, and I want to share that this is a 100% authentic Italian restaurant where really delicious Sardinia specialties are served. Some flavors like the Fregola pasta and the marinated olives, reminded me about my grandma’s kitchen and brought me back to my childhood. In Cucina I found ingredients imported from Italy that are difficult to find in China (especially some famous Sardinian cheese), and above all I found a quality and a taste that is not comparable to the one you’ll find in other Italian restaurants in China. Actually for me it’s a top Italian restaurant not only in China but at an international level. Living in Shanghai, where the choice of western and Italian restaurant is huge, I never experienced such authentic Italian food at a honest price, with such nice Italian courtesy and careful service. Not to mention Sardinia authentic food, which is very rare or almost impossible to find in China. I plan to come back to Sanya from Shanghai with the main purpose of eating at Cucina. I will never have enough words to thank the owner and Chef Daniele and his wife for giving me this unforgettable experience during my holiday in Sanya, Cucina was my best discovery in the island.
Written 17 August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
danielevacca195
Dear Guest, First of all I wanna thank you to choose Cucina for your dining’s, Thank you for mentioned we fulfilled your senses and bring back to your childhood time memories, In Cucina the mission is make is true the authentic Italian dishes are never compromised or modified from they original recipes and presentation, for me cooking authentic dishes will help the restaurant to keep the real level of Italian standard as in Italy without any recipes modification but just a contemporary touches, Another key point is a continuous training the staff and involve them in a daily Italian palate tastings, Grazie end we looking forward to have you here soon, Ciao, Daniele & Tessa
Written 26 August 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Alessandro
Shanghai5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2021 couples
We decided to visit this restaurant after seeing the good online reviews and we were not disappointed. The food was great and I was surprised to see some menu specialties from Sardinia, very rare to find in China. The grilled fish was fresh, the service was excellent and very nice and cozy ambient. The price was absolutely worth the quality we got, same quality restaurants in China have higher prices. The owner is italian and clearly knows how to provide traditional italian taste and great service quality. I highly recommend this restaurant, we will definitely be back!
Written 21 August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
danielevacca195
Dear Guest Thank you for sharing your 5 star rating and review, It was a pleasure to read and I will share the comment to the team where will be very happy, We are so pleased you enjoyed visiting us and hope we can welcome you again soon, Grazie e arrivederci, Cucina Equipe, Daniele
Written 24 August 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Kirstylyn85
Suzhou4 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020 friends
The setting is nice, over the road from the beach and next to the hotel pool. The food was authentic and tasty, but my prosciutto and melon starter was a little disappointing seeing as you only got very thin ribbons of melon (so thin in fact, I couldn't even see it), which was not enough to balance the salty flavour of the prosciutto. Unfortunately, the service was very poor. The waiter seemed unnecessarily nervous over everything, told us the wrong information, and completely ignored us between courses when we would have ordered additional drinks given the chance. The place is also very strange about availability. We went there a few evenings earlier than our visit at 8pm, and they said they were fully booked despite there being numerous empty tables, so we booked for a later day (we also noticed numerous others being turned away). They insisted we booked 7pm or earlier, so we did, but we were there 7pm-10pm and it never got busy. Very weird, it seems like they don't want your business.
Written 14 August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
danielevacca195
Dear Guest, I do my apologies on behalf of Cucina for what happened, About the Burrata with Melon and Prosciutto I can answer you, the melon is wafer sliced at the same as prosciutto and wrapped together for have the mix flavors, if you looking for the big pieces of melon we can provide to you but is not a refine dish in presentation, About reservations: in that day we had a big tables and for be sure we can serve and cook a proper food we manage the entrances, my advice is always take the reservation to be sure we can provide the best experience, Hope to have you here again. Daniele Vacca
Written 27 August 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Florentine D
Chengdu10 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020 friends
After waiting for a long time, the boss finally gives me a plate but apart from the boss, the waiter is lost, she had no idea what she was doing and the service was mediocre. They brought the deserts, we hadn’t finished our pastas and pizzas. My pizza was extremely salty and was very good though but almost nothing on it and 158 rmb. For an expensive pizza it’s not worth it. The pasta was delicious. My panacotta was delicious but was not a panacotta. At the end, per person if you took one aperitif one meal and one desert you will have to pay around 300 rmb per person. But the worse is like we called to make sure one person could be added to the table and they said no and when I arrived the restaurant was almost empty...
Written 21 August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
danielevacca195
Dear Guest, I do my apologies for what happened, On base of my investigation, that table was booked for 4 people @ 8:30 and one member of the table call us and ask to add 4 more people’s, in that time we cannot accomodate more guest in the same table, However, at the end you arrived with total 6 people and create a problem to organize your a table already prepared for 4, About pizzas here we do authentic Italian pizzas and I don’t know you which kind of pizzas you took in your previous experience, in the pizzas we don’t add any seasonings, if you have time check the feedbacks of the guest about our pizzas!! about panna cotta I can reply to you and thank you to say was nice and that is a real Italian panna cotta, about prices we cannot force the guest to buy the food, lots of customers after they check the prices prefer to change place and we understand them, Sanya have a lot affordable restaurants where sure can accomodate you and maybe provide to you a better experience, Grazie e arrivederci,
Written 25 August 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

kalman h
5 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2020 none
I have not tasted their food so I can't say if it is worthy of the hype they have been receiving. Upon entering we were not even welcomed so just sat down by an empty table and before ordering I wanted to wash my hands. The restaurant does not have its own toilet/washroom so I was directed to the nearby hotel (50 meters away) where there was no soap at all so I could not really do what I wanted. When I returned there was a bottle of hand sanitizer gel, however I was already quite fed up with their attitude and lack of proper service. The cover of the menu book was very dirty and I started wondering how many people must have touched it and why the staff could not clean it. I browsed the menu and saw that the prices are very high (over 100 RMB pizzas) and because I was not satisfied with their service and attitude, we decided to leave and swore that we will never go there again.
Written 29 October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
danielevacca195
Sorry for the late reply, but I investigate personally to all your matters: We are sorry to heard you were disappointed with elements of your visit
Written 2 April 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Adam A
2 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2021 friends
Used to be best choice for Italian restaurant in Sanya. Unfortunately deteriorated a lot. Watch out for Limoncello SCAM. We were a party of 7 people, had several starters, main dishes, and 3 bottles wine. When we asked for a free limoncello digestive the waiter brought it but charged us 8 USD per shot! The most ridiculous moment of the night was when the owner/chef denied he was the owner when we asked him for a free digestive. Avoid the restaurant.
Written 11 June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
danielevacca195
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your lovely comment and I will like reply to it! LOMONCELLO SCAM IS NOT APPROPRIATE!!! Here we don’t do any frauds as you mentioned, and here we don’t give NOTHING FOR FREE to the people use arrogance way to ask discounts or complimentary food or drink, all of this coming with our part usually when the guest FIRST don’t ask it, is not the matter what the guest eat or drink is a principle of respect, We are Ladies and Gentlemen serving Ladies and Gentlemen, This coming from The Ritz-Carlton Credo When You asked for free limoncello that is a inappropriate verbiage and here we don’t like do this things! I think next time when you go somewhere don’t ask for something for free, Cucina is not the place for Guest like you, the price per Limoncello is 48 Rmb and for me is not the price but the action, always we give the limoncello as complimentary but no when the guest ask for it, not exist one restaurant where supposed give limoncello for free than the Owner or manager choose to give it by complimentary on base of the appreciation of the service given, Daniele
Written 12 June 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Em G
Nanjing113 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2020 couples
Authentic Italian in Sanya .. Make sure to reserve a table ahead on weekends as it gets busy and they are only seating outside because of covid. The server was friendly enough...The food was delicious... we had the diavola pizza, Parma chicken and honey basil salad with a few cocktails. The chef dropped by to ensure we were pleased with the food, which we certainly were! A definite must when in Sanya....
Written 26 July 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
danielevacca195
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for choose Cucina for your dining experience, The chicken you choose was a Chicken in Sardinian Style, with slices of Sardinian pecorino, olives and sundry tomatoes, one of our best sellers, our pizzas are made with Italian flour, mozzarella and tomato and baked in a Italian tiled made stoned brick oven to be sure our pizzas will be the most authentic, Grazie e arrivederci, Daniele & Tessa
Written 2 August 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Annett E
21 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2020 family
This restaurant called "Cucina" in Sanya / Hainan we can highly recommend. It's a authentic Italien Restaurant . Chef Daniel is loving his cooking in each detail and his wife Tessa is serving the dishes and drinks with always a smile in her face. Thanks to give us a feeling to be a bit home in Europe.
Written 25 July 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
danielevacca195
Dear Annet, Thank you very much for choose our restaurant during your stay in Sanya, We very appreciate the comment you shared, for sure lots of guest appreciate this when they looking for a real Italian experience abroad Italy, Looking forward to have you here, Grazie e arrivederci, Daniele & Tessa
Written 2 August 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Giulia B.
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2021 couples
I’ve been recommended this restaurant by a friend and had the chance to dine there twice during a vacation in 2020. Once back in Sanya in 2021, the place was on my must-visit list and I ended up going 3 times for dinner over 5 days vacation... Cucina serves authentic Italian food with a Sardinian flair, well presented and reasonably priced in a lovely location overlooking the beach. Plus, chef Daniele and his staff are as nice as you would expect from Italian style hospitality. Would go back anytime and recommend it always.
Written 5 May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
danielevacca195
Dear Giulia, I very appreciate your loyalty during your Sanya vacation, Sure your feedback will help the T/A readers to understand what we are doing in Cucina, Looking forward to have you here soon, Grazie e arrivederci, Daniele & Tessa
Written 7 May 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

LauraJ.
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2020 family
We were been here during public holiday because our friend strongly recommend. The waitress is very friendly and speak very fluently english so will not be the problem here about communication.Food is real amazing and authentic Italian food. we tried the seafood pasta ,burrata cheese with melon and grill mix seafood , everything tasted so fresh ,even our baby like she's bolognese Spaghetti .Chef is Italian , he talked with us for make sure the satisfaction. For sure we will come back again ! Cheers !
Review collected in partnership with 单个酒店
This business uses tools provided by Tripadvisor (or one of its official Review Collection Partners) to encourage and collect guest reviews, including this one.
Written 2 October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
danielevacca195
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for reviewing us, We are happy to heard from you your satisfaction relate food and service, Something we face customers with lake of knowledge and ask us why we don’t have Tabasco, Ketchup or Mayonnaise in our restaurant and we explain to them that ingredients are not Italian products and we don’t serve them, here in Cucina we start we a real Italian experience from food dishes and service style, The reason why is for make it sure the experience become the real Italian in everything, Hope to have here with us in your next trip to the Island, Grazie e arrivederci, Daniele & Tessa
Written 5 October 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

twincreekplace
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2020 none
We have been spending our winters in Sanya since 2008 & have become regulars at Cucina since it opened 2019. We are globetrotters ,so enjoy eating a wide variety of food, but are nonetheless quite critical in our tastes. Culinary here has certainly not disappointed on each occasion we’ve visited. They serve real Italian beer & wines which are well selected. The menu of starters, soups, anti pasta, pasta, pizza ,grills are huge, so it makes ordering pleasurably difficult ! Desserts if you can manage them are genuine Italian. The food is consistent as the Sardinian chef ,Daniele & his lovely wife Tessa are always there to help with ordering & to check on their guests whether for lunch or dinner.The expat guests (by their numbers ) attest to the reputation the restaurant has developed in just a short time. Finally the inside/outside seating arrangement along with the tasteful background music really rounds out the experience. Bravo Daniele & Tessa !
Written 15 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
danielevacca195
Dear Guest, Thank you for the very detailed review, Also thank you for always be a loyal guest in Cucina since opening during your stays in Sanya, Make me proud to cook and serve special people like you appreciate what we are doing, The people like you help us and our business to climb and defend our reputation in a very hard period like this one, but I believe Together We Can, Hope to see you shortly, Grazie e arrivederci, Daniele & Tessa
Written 18 March 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Terrence L
Shenzhen63 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2020 couples
My wife and I decided to try after reading about here. We weren't disappointed. For our first visit, we ordered a pizza, seafood soup, calamari platter, lobster pasta, panacotta and tiramisu (yes, the two of us killed all of it). We had such a great experience that we decided to go again the night before we had flew out. This time, we had pork sausage pasta, seafood pasta, buratta melon platter, minestrone soup, panacotta (again) and the cheese pastry. A fly landed in my wife's glass of wine and the staff immediately poured her another glass. I don't understand the negative comments about the service because I didn't see any evidence of it at all. They also provided mosquito repellent and incense which I thought was super thoughtful. Our only regret was not coming for lunch to play with their two Frenchies! Would recommend to any visitor to Sanya.
Written 14 November 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
danielevacca195
Hi Terrence, is a genuine pleasure for us to hear how much you enjoyed your visit in Cucina, Personally I appreciate the details you mentioned because will be useful for sure for lots of guest will read your comment, Also I show your comments to our team and they appreciated your words and sure they encourage them to do better to go above and beyond of the guest expectations, Looking forward to have you here soon Grazie e arrivederci Daniele, Tessa & Cucina equipe
Written 3 April 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Fredrik
Shanghai5 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2020 friends
The food was good but service was so and so depending on the waitress one very good and the other one who did not speak English should not work in the service sector. After dinner we decided to share another bottle of wine but we were then informed that the restaurant was closed, time was 22.15 and there was still a few tables with guests. So overall the service and lack of flexibility needs to improve.
Written 28 December 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
danielevacca195
Dear Guest, I do my apologies on behalf of Cucina Team to hear your negative experience, I understand your frustration, However, I will like to explain you the points, We now the lack in knowledge in the English language but this problem affect all the Island and in primis the 5 star hotels, sincerely we are in a not bad position relate barrier language communication, 1/3 of our staff speak English and the day you come only 2 of them in the FOH one of them only speak Chinese and another speak 4 languages, The second point is relate the last order, our operation is at 9:30pm for the kitchen and 10pm for the restaurant, all the tables in the restaurant havre the same treatment, at 10pm the restaurant close the operation, I hope you understand, Thank you very much for your feedback and sure we will improve the service parts, RG Daniele
Written 3 April 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

barantankut
Tokyo4 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2020 family
Pizza is very good. But service is quite bad for such a pricey place. We wanted to order the pizza to be delivered as first so that kids can eat before me and my wife orders the main course. And we were told that all the food should be ordered together which was quite a weird demand from the restaurant
Written 30 December 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
danielevacca195
Dear Guest, We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your visit, I will follow up personally to be sure the service will be enhance and this thing never happen again, Daniele
Written 2 April 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-15 of 159
Best moderately priced restaurants
See all
The Jade Egret, The Sanya EDITION
$$ - $$$ · European, Healthy, Gastropub
SKYBAR at EDITION, The Sanya EDITION
$$ - $$$ · Bar, Pub, Wine Bar
Market, The Sanya EDITION
$$ - $$$ · Chinese, Seafood, International, Asian
Chuyi Wutai Restaurant
$$ - $$$ · Fusion
Sanya dolphin sports bar & grill
$$ - $$$ · American, Bar, International, European
Green House - 1 Hotel Haitang Bay
$$ - $$$ · Chinese, Seafood, Asian, Healthy
Casa Mia Italian Restaurant
$$ - $$$ · Italian, Pizza, European, Tuscan
Linjie Xiangwei Seafood Restaurant
$$ - $$$ · Seafood, Asian
Kon Tiki Grill Restaurant
$$ - $$$ · Steakhouse, Seafood
All Sanya HotelsSanya Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Sanya
Things to DoFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire