We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Italian
Special Diets
Gluten Free Options
FEATURES
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible, Gift Cards Available
Reviews (247)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
226 results
Traveller rating
166
46
10
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
166
46
10
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gelato ice cream new zealand yummy island waiheke oneroa
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 23 January 2024 via mobile

It was Amazing 🤩! I had the Pics Peanut Butter Salted Caramel. It was incredible. The salt and sweet complimented each other beautifully. It was topped with a marvelous piece of peanut brittle. I cannot suggest this enough. 👍👌

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 January 2024 via mobile

I was glad I skipped desert at the winery. This gelato hit the spot! I had the honeycomb and white chocalate- wish I went for the third scoop!

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 March 2023

Great gelato, we really enjoyed the biscoff tiramisu, would recommend a visit, just wished that they were open later!

Date of visit: February 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 March 2023 via mobile

Having tasted gelato throughout Italy, the gelato here tasted more like good ice cream. It was not as creamy as expected. If you are ever in Sydney, try Messina Gelato and you will taste the difference. However, the selection of flavors is excellent and this...is a good spot to take a break from exploring the area.More

Date of visit: March 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 March 2023

Located at the top of the town not far from the Oneroa Library. Enjoyed trying out the flavours. Ice cream is made on the island. A bit pricy but it is still nice to support local..You are able to try a flavour if you ask.

Date of visit: March 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 March 2023

Nothing beats ice cream/gelato on a warm & sunny afternoon. Was one of those perfect Waiheke sunny afternoons so the gelato's went down a treat. Was very busy with reasonable queues but service as very attentive & friendly.

Date of visit: February 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 February 2023 via mobile

Small open air gelato stall by the top of town. Delicious gelatos, what a variety of flavours sooo many options! Friendly staff too.

Date of visit: January 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 January 2023 via mobile

The icecream was amazing, with a wonderful range of flavours and dairy free options but the manger there was very rude. The manger ( little asian lady) was rude to us from the beginning and at the end when i went to pay for my...ice creams she TOLD me that i had to tip $4 which honestly isn’t a problem because i can afford that but giving me no option not to is weird considering that we live in New Zealand where tipping in “not normal”. I then later on spoke to my friend who works there and found out that the tips aren’t shared between the workers and that the manger keeps all the tips that she makes people give to the “company”, which is outrageous.More

Date of visit: January 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 January 2023

We love this ice cream. It's not the cheapest, but it is very good, with interesting and diverse flavour options, which change regularly. It's a Waiheke highlight. You won't be disappointed, so don't miss it.

Date of visit: January 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 February 2022

Excellent staff! Delightful flavours to choose from and offered in large portions as well as waffle cones. The coffee served is alo hot and strong!

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Island Gelato Company, Owner at Island Gelato Company, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2022

Appreciate the review. Thank you 🙏🏼

Reviewed 6 August 2021

Such a treat! Had it every day we were there, as flavours changed. There were some unique flavours that I hadn't seen at other gelato places before, as well as the classics.

Date of visit: February 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 November 2020

Lovely staff , loads of delicious flavours , amazingly presented , good value sized cones/ cups . Seats in the sunshine .

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 October 2020 via mobile

So many different ice cream flavours, and also a lot of classics with a twist. Incredible Allpress coffee, all served hot and strong. Highly recommend for both ice cream and coffee!

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 August 2020 via mobile

Have been a loyal, returning costumer for years but unfortunately more recent the service and value has dropped significantly. $6.50 scoop is roughly 1/3rd of the size last summer. Also highlighting the disappointment to the ice cream salesman he simply replied ‘that’s what it is...now!’. I’m local to the island and very disappointed.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
islandgelato, Owner at Island Gelato Company, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2020

Hi i’m sorry to hear that and if i may ask who were you served by? I will have a chat and make sure we will be more consistent with our sizes. we hope to see you return. Thank you for your feedback.

Reviewed 7 March 2020

Wonderful gelato, with interesting combinations, and we were lucky to find a server that gave us tastings before we committed to a purchase. Terrific service, and an enthusiastic server who was pleased with our reactions to the flavours. A great place to stop and sit...under the shade of a tree for something refreshing and different.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Santa Fe
9 reviews
.40 km away
The Boatshed
342 reviews
.75 km away
Waiheke Waterfront Lodge
47 reviews
.89 km away
Waiheke Island Resort
154 reviews
3.29 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Mudbrick Archive Bar and Bistro
193 reviews
1.33 km away
Mudbrick Vineyard & Restaurant
2,342 reviews
1.35 km away
The Oyster Inn
1,100 reviews
.03 km away
Cable Bay Vineyards Winery and Restaurant
1,519 reviews
1.03 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
SegWai
239 reviews
1.52 km away
Mudbrick Vineyard
305 reviews
1.35 km away
Waiheke Wine Tours Ltd
62 reviews
.16 km away
Perpetual Guardian Sculpture on the Gulf
75 reviews
.37 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Island Gelato Company staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

ISLAND GELATO COMPANY, Waiheke Island - 124 Ocean View Rd - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions about Island Gelato Company

Yes, Island Gelato Company offers takeaway services.

Island Gelato Company is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4.5