We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Shed Te Motu

76 Onetangi Road | Waiheke Island, Auckland, Waiheke Island, New Zealand
+64 9-372 6884
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent76%
  • Very good15%
  • Average4%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“octopus” (8 reviews)
“lamb shoulder” (8 reviews)
Closed
All hours
CUISINES
New Zealand, International, European, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
76 Onetangi Road | Waiheke Island, Auckland, Waiheke Island, New Zealand
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 30 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2017

100/100 - food was amazingly good and great friendly service. Family celebration, 10 of us, everyone said how good it was. Not a cheap basic restaurant but given the quality of the food and service and i was the one paying the bill i would...More

Thank MEANDMEX
Craig B, General Manager at The Shed Te Motu, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2017

Hi MEANDMEX Thanks so much for the opportunity to host your family celebration at The Shed. We're very glad that we were able to make it such a memorable occasion for you and your family. Kind regards Craig

Reviewed 20 March 2017

Venison tartar superb; coupled with two other starters and their very fresh rose all we needed for pleasant mid day meal after tasting their wines. Finished with beautiful sorbet over tapioca with fresh berries - very hard to beat.More

Thank W B W
Craig B, General Manager at The Shed Te Motu, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2017

Thanks W B W Great to have you visit. The menu works on all sorts of levels so our guests are able to enjoy a wide and exciting range of small plates to a multi-course dining experience - all with the most delicious flavours. Look...More

Reviewed 11 March 2017

We selected "The Shed at Te Motu" based on recommendations from others and went there with high expectations. The prices of the food courses and Te Motu wines were consistent with an up-market restaurant, which was what we were expecting. However, the ambience of this...More

2  Thank ormerods
Craig B, General Manager at The Shed Te Motu, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2017

Dear Omerods Thank you for your carefully considered review. Of course we are very disappointed that your experience did not reach your expectations but I can assure you that our kitchen team works very hard to make every dish well balanced, authentic and flavoursome. Certainly,...More

Reviewed 7 March 2017 via mobile

We are very glad we went here. The food is excellent - such an imaginative combination of ingredients and flavours. The setting is very rural as you'd expect and the whole set up is relaxed, made more so by the welcoming and helpful staff. However...More

Thank phil100652
Craig B, General Manager at The Shed Te Motu, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2017

Hi Phil Many thanks for your positive review - really appreciate the feedback. I'd welcome the chance sometime to chat through the inherent production, transport and holding costs of a wine business on Waiheke. Our wine list has various price points for our specialty estate...More

Reviewed 7 March 2017

We had a really enjoyable meal at The Shed recently - they were so accommodating when we had to change the date and time of our lunch, and food and service were second to none.

Thank Devon C
Craig B, General Manager at The Shed Te Motu, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2017

Hi Devon Thanks for letting us know about your positive experience at The Shed. We're always to help out when we are able to. Regards

Reviewed 2 March 2017 via mobile

We completely enjoyed lunch at the Shed. If you are riding the bus, it's about a 10-minute walk to the vineyard where they offer tastings or lunch/dinner. There is indoor seating and also the lovely outdoor garden that has umbrellas, set right near the vines....More

Thank EmOnTheGo
Craig B, General Manager at The Shed Te Motu, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2017

Thanks EmOnTheGo Really appreciate your kind review. You really can't beat a trip out to Te Motu on Waiheke Island for a great visit at this, or any other, time of year. Kind regards

Reviewed 2 March 2017

Delicious dishes paired with some very good wines from Waiheke. The lunch spot is in a great location, with both outdoor ad open-air indoor seating that both provide for a breezy and breathtaking lunch experience. Very comfortable...exactly what you want a wine-country lunch to be....More

Thank SurfEscape
Craig B, General Manager at The Shed Te Motu, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2017

Hi SurfEscape We're very glad you joined us for your enjoyable experience. We'll look forward to seeing you out this way again sometime. Cheers

Reviewed 24 February 2017

Had some nice wines at this place, they charge $20 dollars to try about 4 or 5 wines. This charge is wavered if you buy a bottle for over $35. They also have a restaurant with very interesting food choices on the menu, which i...More

Thank ianmurphy2014
Craig B, General Manager at The Shed Te Motu, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2017

Thanks Ian Nice to meet you last week and trust that you enjoyed the rest of your stay on the Island Regards

Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

we enjoyed our lunch here. the environment was very relaxed, the menu eclectic and food was superb. the food was inventive, combined several unique and fresh favors snd was prepared perfectly. note, this restaurant is priced accordingly. slightly unrelated, we wanted to do a wine...More

Thank globeHopper56
Craig B, General Manager at The Shed Te Motu, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2017

Hi Globe Hopper Really appreciate your review about the Shed restaurant and the cellar door. Of course we work work hard to provide an excellent experience across all aspects of the business so I am sorry to hear about the wait at the cellar door....More

Reviewed 20 February 2017

We had visited this winery as part of our wine tasting tour. We came back later in the day to have lunch before heading back to the ferry. The "shed" sits amongst the grape vines in a very "country" setting. It is a very, very...More

Thank DJ512
Craig B, General Manager at The Shed Te Motu, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2017

Hi DJ Thanks for coming back to visit us and for passing on your recommendation. Do come back and see us again some time Regards

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Casita Miro
843 reviews
.66 km away
The Boathouse Cafe & Bar
172 reviews
1.32 km away
Stonyridge Vineyard
482 reviews
.35 km away
Charley Farley's
522 reviews
1.44 km away
Nearby Attractions
Tantalus Estate Vineyard & Winery
103 reviews
.51 km away
Obsidian Vineyard
136 reviews
.85 km away
Stonyridge Vineyard
142 reviews
.34 km away
Adventure Fishing Charters
7 reviews
1.01 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
GabrielleHarrop
16 December 2015|
Answer
Response from Katemandeno | Property representative |
Hi Gabrielle, If you could email or call us on 09 372 6884 that is the best way to make a booking. Cheers
0
Votes
Richard B
1 November 2015|
Answer
Response from Katemandeno | Property representative |
Hi Richard, Te Motu is about 15 minutes drive from the Matiatia ferry dock. There are also buses that run here regularly. Cheers
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$10 - US$25
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Business meetings, Child-friendly, View, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 4:00 PM
6:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 4:00 PM
6:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 76 Onetangi Road | Waiheke Island, Auckland, Waiheke Island, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Auckland  >  Waiheke Island
  • Phone Number: +64 9-372 6884
  • E-mail
Description
Casual, garden-to-plate eating in a relaxed vineyard setting.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing