We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
$15 - $43
CUISINES
Seafood, Cafe, European, New Zealand, South American
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (1,127)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
1,061 results
Traveller rating
428
354
122
83
74
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
428
354
122
83
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tapas pizza ceviche prawns chowder waterfront ferry nz
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 days ago

This place is great for a casual night out… I came by myself having just ran the loop track ( looking very sweaty) I was told to pay first even though I was seated inside and was wanting service. People around me were getting service....I went up to order my next wine and dessert 🍨 asking if I could please have service they came over. The blonde waitress was very kind and pleasant. People are precious… they talk, I think if we treated everyone like they might be undercover boss people would get the service they deserve.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

The staff were amazing and nothing was a problem. Food was great and reasonably priced. Looked at the menu online and made my decision. Great place and recommend it to anyone in Picton or passing through.

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've been going to Cortado for years and have always been satisfied and happy with the food and experience ... Until yesterday. Valentines Day. It may just be that on some unspoken level the server and I were never meant to be friends. While I...was very disappointed last night and wanted to say that I'd never go back to Cortado, I won't let one wait person take the joy of dining there steal the experience. I will go back!More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jo Macdonald, Owner at Cortado Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your honest feedback. I’m happy to hear that you have always in the past received excellent hospitality from us and am equally disappointed that your Valentine’s Day dinner was tainted by 1 person. I will definitely bring this up with...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A beautiful Picton evening watching cruise ship go out. Evening started well for my birthday dinner. However after a cple shared starters we waited and waited and waited … two of my invited guests had to leave to start late shifts so enquired how long...mains were going to be. No order put through!!! There were 4 staff on and no one noticed we had dirty dishes and empty glasses and why was everyone around us eating. Three of us left but had to reorder and again no apology to table about what had happened or did we want another drink while we waited. Felt disappointed especially for my invited guests.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jo Macdonald, Owner at Cortado Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Please accept our deepest apologies for your unpleasant experience at our restaurant. I am so disappointed to hear how disorganised the team were to not notice that you weren’t receiving our best hospitality. Would you please pm us as I would like to put this...More

Reviewed 4 January 2024

Owners need refreshment course in manners and what it means to keep a promise. Living in Chch I purchased a voucher for my sister who lives in Blenheim for her birthday. I followed up with a phone call to clarify some new details which had...come to light. Informed by staff the owner/accountant was too busy to take my call and would call back. No response. Three days on and have sent two emails. No response. Birthday come and gone and money still in their possession. Still waiting and very unhappy. Mission statement talks about their value of people. Not my experience.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jo Macdonald, Owner at Cortado Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2024

Hello Anne. We are so very sorry that we were unable to sort this issue immediately. Unfortunately, there was an issue between appropo and Stripe which meant that your voucher wasn't created straight away as usually happens. This is the first time this has occurred,...More

Reviewed 15 December 2023 via mobile

What a perfect start to our two night stay in Picton. Tahlia was the most incredible server who found a table for us without a reservation on a Friday night. She guided us to consider the “experience” which was perfect for sharing. And she even...shared some local experience and insights to help shape our next two days. And the Pavlova was the perfect finish to a fun evening. Oh, and did I mention the fine selection of local wines and beers?!!!More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jo Macdonald, Owner at Cortado Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2023

Hi Mary. Thank you so much for the stars! We are thrilled that you enjoyed Tahlias outstanding hospitality and the entire team love to get feedback. We hope we get to meet you again. Wishing you a wonderful holiday season

Reviewed 19 November 2023

Stopped in for some local craft beer. Apparently the taps had a leak? No one told us for 40 minutes. Seemed unorganized. Waitress offered to refund our money, but we didn’t pay for anything cause we didn’t get anything. Could have walked away with thirty...dollars but did the right thing and told her.More

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jo Macdonald, Owner at Cortado Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2023

Hi 'TheWindedTraveller'. We are very sorry to hear that you were caught up in the middle of a CO2 leak that feeds our beer taps. Thank you for your honesty re not accepting the 'refund'. Our team were caught unawares and unfortunately we were not...More

Reviewed 10 November 2023

We ordered our drinks and were left standing for 10 minutes to get our drinks. Very disorganised and disappointing. Tables were not cleared and they were dirty !More

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jo Macdonald, Owner at Cortado Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2023

We are so disappointed that we were unable to accommodate your needs on this busy weekend. It can be challenging to manage a large influx of guests all at once, and this is where we will be working with our team to ensure that we...More

Reviewed 8 November 2023

Excellent Lunch provided for 22 Elderly people on their annual day trip. Could not have faulted anything.

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jo Macdonald, Owner at Cortado Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2023

Hi Maria Thank you so much for choosing us to host your event and for giving us 5 stars. We look forward to hosting you again. Warm regards for the team and management

Reviewed 5 June 2023 via mobile

Apart from enjoying a lovely lunch with newly met friends, the outdoor area was great. All our meals were delicious and they had a good selection of wines to accompany their food.

Date of visit: May 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 May 2023

The food here was actually quite good, although the garlic bread was dry and hard. But the service was below average. We waited a long time for a drink and then longer for the 'garlic bread' and our meal a fair while later. I went...to the bar for another wine, different to my first and they poured it into THE SAME glass. I am not a snob but I have never had this in a restaurant, ever. The bar itself was covered in dirty glasses and trays. It seemed the 2 woman were pretty overrun and could have done with more help. For the price we paid I was not satisfied with our experience at all.More

Date of visit: May 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jo Macdonald, Owner at Cortado Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2023

Hi Erin I am so sorry to hear that your experience with us was not up to our usual standard. It is our policy to replace the glass when we pour a new drink So am very disappointed that our policies weren’t followed. There were...More

Reviewed 13 April 2023 via mobile

We stopped for dinner on a Saturday night and enjoyed observing the street by the warmth of the outdoor fire. The drinks were a generous pour and the pizza was excellent - flavoursome and with a good topping. We will definitely stop here again.

Date of visit: March 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 April 2023

Arrived in Picton close to 2 pm on a Saturday, another cafe cooly refused us lunch service as they were closed even though not yet 2pm. Walked across the road to Cortado, instantly made feel very welcome, enjoyed live music, great feed and good service...all with a smile. A lovely open feel to this establishment, if wasn't driving back to Blenheim could have easily spent the afternoon here over a coldie or 3 !More

Date of visit: March 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 April 2023

Got 2 pizzas. One cheese and herb. One vege mumma. They were both overcooked and dry. But if thats what you serv as a vege pizza, its very dissapointing, got afew tiny blk olives, dried mushrooms, and a miserable amount of rubbery feta. And 2...of the slices had 3small thinly bits of red onion. For $19. Wount be back, only ate2bits.More

Date of visit: March 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 April 2023 via mobile

A definite Spanish tapas feeling with an interesting menu in a wonderful shore side location. Friendly service delicious pizzas

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Gateway Motel
1,094 reviews
.11 km away
High Street Living Motel
63 reviews
.15 km away
Escape to Picton Boutique Hotel
219 reviews
.17 km away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
624 reviews
.22 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Seumus' Irish Bar
312 reviews
.15 km away
The Barn
513 reviews
.15 km away
Gusto
554 reviews
.10 km away
Escape to Picton’s Restaurant
571 reviews
.16 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Picton Sound
286 reviews
.05 km away
Waitohi Picton isite Visitor Information Centre
123 reviews
.09 km away
Heritage & Whaling Museum Picton
74 reviews
.05 km away
War Memorial
37 reviews
.04 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
randrvan
5 January 2018|
Answer
Response from j0j023 | Property representative |
That is no problem at all. Our voucher system allows you to use the voucher over multiple visits. We look forward to seeing you
0
Votes
george4209
20 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Jomacd2016 | Property representative |
Unfortunately oysters are out of season at present. We do however have lovely local clams, green lipped mussels, king salmon etc
1
Vote
jennifero687
20 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Stephen J | Reviewed this property |
Yes, always pays to book.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

CORTADO RESTAURANT & BAR, Picton - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions about Cortado Restaurant & Bar

Yes, Cortado Restaurant & Bar offers takeaway services.

Cortado Restaurant & Bar is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4