We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Food and ambience

Local cuisine, Seafood, Cafe, European, New Zealand, Vegetarian Friendly
Special Occasion Dining, View, Groups, Bar Scene
About
Cafe Cortado is located on the Picton waterfront with beautiful views over Queen Charlotte Sound and Picton harbour. We have spacious outdoor and indoor dining areas. Our a-la-carte menus include fresh nz seafood including our famous creamy seafood chowder; our pizzas and tapas selections are also favourites. We are the restaurant of choice for our local community with our wide range of food options, local wines and craft beers as well as a great cocktail list and friendly service.
PRICE RANGE
US$11 - US$26
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Cafe, European, New Zealand
FEATURES
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Street Parking, Wine and Beer, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Live Music
Reviews (1,067)
Filter reviews
1,003 results
Traveller rating
408
337
120
77
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
408
337
120
77
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tapas pizza salmon fries prawns chowder steak great coffee blue cod new zealand fish of the day waterfront ferry nz
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago

Average service, average food and what a shame because Cortado used to operate well above the average, it used to be a great spot to dine .More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
j0j023, Owner at Cortado Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review. We value your feedback and are definitely looking into this. We do pride ourselves on our excellent service and the quality of our food and are extremely disappointed that we have let you down on both counts on this occasion....More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Had to clear our own table, had to ask twice for water, ordered a vegetarian burrito, took half an hour to arrive despite being told the wait wouldnt be long, and it was strangely filled with potato and huge chucks of carrot. Overall quite disappointed...with the service and food.More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
j0j023, Owner at Cortado Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your feedback. It’s disappointing to hear that your experience with us was less than our usual high standard. We are looking into this and are looking at why this has happened. We would like to sincerely apologise and look forward to offering...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Four of us went for lunch and as soon as we walked in we were greeted by Claire. She was very friendly and both her and Wei-nee gave excellent service. The guest pizza was superb and enjoyed by all of us. We loved the salmon...layered in the middle. Well done to the chef. Definitely recommend. We will come back!More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
j0j023, Owner at Cortado Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your lovely review. I will pass on your comments to the team. We look forward to seeing you again

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visited this Cafe on Sunday because they had great live music. On entering the premises we stood at the bar waiting to be served for over 10 minutes. While one staff member was making coffees the other 2 chose to ignore us despite not...being busy. When we were finallyknowledged the til operater accepted some notes foldered together there was 2 $10 and a 20.00. He chose to ignore our concerns that we had over paid but carefully unwrapped all the bills and put in the allocated slots telling us we had not over paid. We drunk our drink and left feeling sick that the bar server so blatantly stole from us and tried to deny the extra money was there. When clearly it was and we witnessed his slight of hand behind the til. We won't be going g back.....More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
j0j023, Owner at Cortado Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I felt very disturbed reading your review and we are definitely looking into it. Would you please PM me so we can give you a refund. Thank you

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Seafood platter was yum and came out in good time. Not impressed with service though.. not busy in restaurant and plenty of staff on but we were never checked on again after meal was delivered, no second drinks offered. Waited 40 mins after eating for...table to be cleared and dessert to be offered but never happened so we left. Tried to get staff attention but too busy chatting and on cellphones. Have never been here for dinner and certainly won’t be rushing back :(More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
j0j023, Owner at Cortado Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for reviewing us. I’m very sorry and embarrassed that our front of house team didn’t follow our required procedures. They definitely should have followed up with you on more than one occasion. I am following this up with the team as this was...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Food has good flavours Friendly staff Sharing platters were very tasty Well priced On waterfront Great Coffee

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
j0j023, Owner at Cortado Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for reviewing us. We look forward to seeing you again

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We ordered a mix of dishes to share and it was delicious, even the salad, just what we needed. variety and good flavours.

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The staff were friendly enough on arrival regardless of how frazzled they looked. The wait times for drinks was far to long and we were never approached for a second drink. Our small 2 seater table was never cleared to make any room for the...mains. Over an hours wait for the main which was not worth it. When my partner inquired about the delay we were told " it takes a long time to cook steak " Ordered the ribeye steak, it was tough and tasted strange. Returned the meal as it was inedible. Attempted to discuss our disappointment with the staff member at the till, he ignored our concerns and continued to chat to another staff member. Overall we felt we had been forgotten about and ignored the whole evening. we did appreciate that we were not charged for our mains however we will not be returning.More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

As we had an early booking, the restaurant was not very busy, yet it took 45 minutes for our entree to arrive, then our mains arrived 5 mins later when we hadn’t even finished our entree. We had to go up to the bar after...finishing our mains to get a dessert menu, as we were ignored, and after sitting for half an hour waiting for our table to be cleared and order taken, we decided to leave and get an ice cream from a dairy.More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

An excellent dining experience. As a big kiwi foodie, who has experienced dining all over the world I would highly recommend coming here for the full package. The food was absolutely devine and cooked to perfection. I highly recommend the seafood platter, where you can...sample a generous proportion of a wide range of seafoods. Each element was cooked to perfection! They also showcase a wide range of cocktails that were equally fabulous. The staff were extemely efficient and gave a professional but fun vibe. They all went above and beyond in every way of customer service, including the restaurant manger and duty manager. Thank you to the chef and all the staff for a wonderful last meal and night in Picton!More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Gateway Motel
1,082 reviews
.11 km away
High Street Living Motel
49 reviews
.15 km away
Escape to Picton Boutique Hotel
206 reviews
.17 km away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
491 reviews
.22 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Picton Village Bakkerij
395 reviews
.20 km away
Seumus' Irish Bar
227 reviews
.15 km away
Gusto
537 reviews
.10 km away
The Barn
479 reviews
.15 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Picton Sound
282 reviews
.05 km away
Picton i-SITE Visitor Information Centre
122 reviews
.09 km away
Heritage & Whaling Museum Picton
71 reviews
.05 km away
The National Whale Centre
24 reviews
.03 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
randrvan
5 January 2018|
Answer
Response from j0j023 | Property representative |
That is no problem at all. Our voucher system allows you to use the voucher over multiple visits. We look forward to seeing you
0
Votes
george4209
20 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Jomacd2016 | Property representative |
Unfortunately oysters are out of season at present. We do however have lovely local clams, green lipped mussels, king salmon etc
1
Vote
jennifero687
20 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from 723stevej | Reviewed this property |
Yes, always pays to book.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Cortado Restaurant & Bar

  • Yes, Cortado Restaurant & Bar offers takeaway services.

  • Yes, Cortado Restaurant & Bar offers delivery services.

  • Cortado Restaurant & Bar is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
    • Food: 4
    • Service: 4
    • Value: 4
    • Atmosphere: 4