Ma Maison Restaurant & Bar

Ma Maison Restaurant & Bar

Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
+64 3-304 7668+ Add website
Hours
Sun
10:00 am - 8:00 pm
Mon
12:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Tue
12:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Wed
12:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Thu
12:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Fri
12:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Sat
10:00 am - 8:30 pm
Improve this listing
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Ratings and reviews
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Travellers' Choice 2023

RATINGS
Food
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Atmosphere
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Details
Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
PRICE RANGE
$1.00 – $50.00
CUISINES
Seafood, International, New Zealand
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
meals, features
About
Overlooking Daly's wharf and the Akaroa Harbour, Ma Maison is one of Akaroa's hidden gems. The view speaks for itself! Set away from the hustle and bustle, our Restaurant offers a very private dining experience, one to be enjoyed and savoured. Since 2002, Ma Maison has been delighting locals and visitors to Akaroa with the very best cuisine, cocktails and setting. We’re open for Brunch, Lunch and a la carte Dining.
PRICE RANGE
$1.00 – $50.00
CUISINES
Seafood, International, New Zealand
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free off-street parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Live Music, Waterfront, Playgrounds, Dog Friendly, Gift Cards Available
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles620 reviews
Excellent
378
Very good
121
Average
64
Poor
39
Terrible
18
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

Peter L
Christchurch2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2020 none
OK, it was our 10th wedding anniversary. So I guess we were well-disposed to enjoy ourselves. But there's one thing I'm very picky about - paying for a meal and getting either bad food, a bad atmosphere, or a waiter/waitress who hasn't a clue how to "serve" well in the hospitality trade. In short, when I pay for a special evening - i want it to be special! And it was. The waiter was humorous without being intrusive; the food was plentiful and incredibly tasty. The chocolate dessert was better than anything I've had in a couple of years. The wine and cider choices were excellent. In two words, it was simply "AN EXPERIENCE!" (and a really good one, at that!)
Written 13 July 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Tony K
Maidstone21 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 couples
We had an early dinner after our boat trip. Make sure you book and ask for a table outside if it’s the summer. We both had the oysters and fish of the day Oysters were soft and tasting the snapper was excellent with a good accompaniment of potatoes and vegetables. We shared the pear and rhubarb crumble - no custard though! It’s was excellent. House wine as recommended by the excellent Angelique/Angie was a good choice and reasonably priced. Angelique was maitre’d for the evening and was funny and engaging and a real treat, she said she didn’t but I wouldn’t be surprised if she didn’t own the place.
Written 21 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

sidadandsimum
16 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 couples
7pm on the first Friday after New Year and EVERY table in the place was full. Of course we had made a reservation days ahead for a table for two. Angie made us feel special the moment we arrived. Her well trained wait staff were attentive to every table. Ma Mason was packed and staff were working the crowd and ensuring everybody had a good time. The table of four next to us ordering drinks by the glass never went thirsty. And the food was delicious. We started with a big bowl of warm olives to share. Do you know the feeling when you see your favourite fish dish on the menu and when it arrives on time and cooked just right! Then I got food envy when when my spouse's eye fillet looked better. Lucky for me I got a taste as the portions were generous. Clever little taste morsels and garnishes... I am not sharing secrets - you have to try yourself. All around us there were happy diners tucking into their meals. Behind the scenes the kitchen had delivered to expectations. Angie's frequent attention ensured we had a memorable night. Angie's farewell at the end of her shift came with an invitation to come back for a coffee next morning. We usually go for a consistently excellent coffee from Kate at the General Store but her many regular customers were waiting outside and in in the park across the street.... so back to Ma Mason. At 10:30am Saturday there was a mixed crowd. A big long table having a family breakfast, couples and one with a little cutie with egg on her face. We chose a spot in the sun with a harbour view through the roses. Great coffee! Thanks so much Angie. Amazing energy. I don't know how you do it :-)
Written 4 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

sophiec6785
Copenhagen6 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2020 family
My visit here was highly disappointing. The services was so average with staff that didn’t bat an eye at 5 people waiting to be seated. Waited more than five minutes to be brought menus when a couple that arrived after us were seated, given menus and had their drinks orders taken. Our server was not accommodating when I asked to have a vegetarian option made vegan and I received the below average meal as pictured. I paid $20 for a tomato, 2 mushrooms, burnt sourdough and less than a handful of spinach. No sauce or relish. The chefs should be embarrassed at serving this up! I emailed them expressing my disappointment and with a range of ideas of how they could improve to be more vegan friendly and they didn’t even bother to reply.
Written 2 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
akaroamamaison
Hi Sophie Thank you for your review and for taking the time to contact us. We sincerely apologise that your experience was not up to par with our usual standard. I have asked for the restaurant manager to contact you back via email and I can assure all the points you have raised will be acknowledged The above points will also be addressed with staff both Front of House & Kitchen. Kind Regards Ma Maison
Written 4 March 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Otanerau
Brisbane97 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 none
Walked out hungry due to poor service. It started with being vaguely pointed to a table then the waiter walked off. We sat where we thought he’d pointed to then were told to move to a different table and he told us we’d sat in the wrong place?! A second waitress with poor English attempted to take our order with much confusion and coming back and forth multiple times as we had some dietary requirements (the menu clearly states they welcome accommodating all dietary requirements and our requests were fairly simple) A third different waiter then approached us to clarify our order and was very rude and aggressive towards us making us feel very uncomfortable. At this point we made the decision to leave as we felt unwelcomed and that whatever order we had tried to place would be mixed up. At this level of dining and price point we expected much better, the whole restaurant seemed a little chaotic and understaffed, with nearby diners also disgruntled. Would not recommend this place although sadly we can’t comment on the food since we left hungry
Written 20 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Mandi P
Tumbi Umbi78 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 none
Lunch with my 20 yo son He wanted fish and chips for lunch but baulked at the prices on offer and suggested we go elsewhere for a cheaper meal. I told him not to worry about the price and get what he wanted. Eventually he settled for something mid-range. I asked about the seafood platter for two but at $135 NZD I passed. I ordered pate as an appetiser - not enough bread was served with it and we were charged for asking for more to finish the pate with. It was delicious pate though. My mussels were delicious if a little salty with way too much broth The battered fish & chips (blue cod) were very good according to my son Overall the food was good without being great but pricing was steep
Written 26 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Jenma_honey
6 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2020 couples
Visited on a busy weekend day. They were short staffed (I’m guessing here as was our first visit) which ruined the ambiance of the place - dirty tables everywhere, the wait staff spent only mere seconds at our table and we were sat near a smouldering fire place. We had the chowder $19 and quesadilla $23. The chowder was thin and really salty served with a small piece of bread. The quesadilla was huge by comparison but very bland, no salsa, no offer of chilli or sour cream. I questioned where the coriander mentioned on the menu was, the chef replied via our wait person that is was ‘all mixed in’? With the absence of anything green in the dish I suspect they used ground coriander which is hardly worth mentioning on the menu. Wouldn’t bother risking a second visit.
Written 14 June 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

frances s
Auckland Central111 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2021 none
Really disappointed as we had a fabulous meal here in October 2020. Then the food was great, good service and a wide range of classy wines by the glass. This time, the food was still OK although not great, but the choice of wines by the glass was very small, and even by the bottle expensive and poor quality. The waitress then tried to tell us it was impossible to get a decent red older than 2020 for under $100 a bottle!
Written 22 February 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Danielle
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 friends
We went for desert- when we sat down at a table the waitress said the table was reserved for 745pm which gave us a hour to finish our deserts, after 25min and half way through our deserts the waitress came up and said we had to leave as the people had showed up 25min early. So we had to leave our half eaten deserts and awkwardly drink our drinks standing at the bar. Terrible experience.
Written 14 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
akaroamamaison
Hi Danielle Thanks for the review. During the summer months bookings are essential, where we can accommodate people around the bookings we do, you were advised that the table was free for an hour and at 7.45pm when the booking arrived we offered you the seats at bar to finish your drinks and even welcome to stay there if you wished. Many Thanks Ma Maison
Written 29 February 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Grant Mckenzie
Auckland1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2020 couples
After glowing Trip Advisor reviews reserved this restaurant for the 1 night my wife and I were in Akaroa. Turned up at our reserved time and asked to sit on their couch while they organised our table, finally shown to our table which was set up all the time ?We then waited a considerable time to be given menus, and then after receiving them had to wait a considerable time again for both our drink and food orders to be taken. The whole ordering process was very transactional and remote with our waitress and from what we could see thus seemed to be the general approach of the waiting staff. The positive thing was the kitchen has got it together as food was faultless. We started with a hearty seafood chowder, then onto beautiful Blue Cod and a perfectly cooked piece of lamb rump, all together a beautiful meal. Unfortunately the front of house let’s this place down badly coming across as remote and leaderless.
Written 25 July 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Darthvader6
Christchurch9 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2021 none
We came to Akaroa for a weekend away and ate at Ma Maison on the first night. The location is very nice, the restaurant has a nice outlook over the water. I had the pork belly and my husband had the blue cod for our dinner. I was very disappointed in the pork belly entree, my expectation was that it would be cooked that afternoon and be ready for the evening dinner, I expected it to be hot and melt in the mouth, but it was firm and warm, almost as though it was reheated?? We did let the staff member know when we paid and she apologised and said she would tell the chef....
Written 30 March 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Scotchegg
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 friends
Ma Maison is a favourite of mine everytime I visit Akaroa. I boasts the best views around, the service is always very friendly and professional and the food is consistently delicious. This time I enjoyed the mussels in a coconut sauce. Thankfully I was given bread to mop up the sauce because I hear it's rude to lick the bowl in restaurants. My husband loved the burger and our friends all enjoyed their meals. We even returned the next morning for coffees and smoothies before hitting the road. Next time I'll try something from their amazing brunch menu. Thanks guys for another memorable experience.
Written 4 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

tigersChristchurch
125 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 none
We tried the fillet steak and also the snapper. Both meals cooked to perfection and served with a large side order of vegetables. Reasonable pricing and a good wine list. Friendly and efficient service. The evening meal was that good that we returned for a wholesome cooked breakfast that was huge in portion size. The place has a really delightful setting and a very relaxed style and character with a nice ambiance.
Written 18 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Mary
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2020 friends
Incredible food and amazing service is just the beginning. I visit Akaroa often and last weekend I went to Ma Maison for brunch which was so delicious we decided to go back for dinner that night. Really great value for money and I found the portion sizes to be very generous. You have to get the deserts, absolutely delicious! Honestly, If you want delicious food, amazing service at a beautiful restaurant overlooking the harbour you have to visit Ma Maison. Easily the best restaurant in Akaroa.
Written 16 September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

First Class Girl
32 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2021 none
Lunch for two. I had the fish of the day (salmon) but asked to substitute the salmon for the blue cod and it was no problem. The “other” had the beer battered blue cod with chips and we shared the salt and pepper squid. The food was faultless but my favourite thing was the chilli salt on the chips. Very nice. The service was even better. We sat outside on a hot sunny day and when the sun started to take over our table, we asked to move to the only other table available outside in the shade but it was for six. Our request was politely declined (and just as well because a party of six arrived soon after) but the staff were never short of solutions and within a few minutes, we got the perfect table. 100% recommend this place. Food was so good we forgot to take pictures.
Written 1 January 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-15 of 588
Best moderately priced restaurants
See all
Mandala Restaurant
$$ - $$$ · Indian, Healthy
Tīni Gin Bar & Eatery
$$ - $$$ · Bar, Wine Bar
THAI Trading Rooms Asian fusion & Seafood Restaurant
$$ - $$$ · Seafood, Asian, Thai, New Zealand
Bully Hayes Restaurant & Bar
$$ - $$$ · Bar, Seafood, International, European
The Common
$$ - $$$ · Brew Pub, Cafe, Contemporary, Wine Bar
La Thai
$$ - $$$ · Asian, Thai
Aihe
$$ - $$$ · Seafood, European, Fusion, New Zealand
Hilltop Tavern
$$ - $$$ · Pizza, Cafe, Pub, New Zealand
The Madeira Hotel
$$ - $$$ · Bar, International, Pub, New Zealand
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

MA MAISON RESTAURANT & BAR, Akaroa - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews

Things to DoFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire