We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cable Bay Vineyards Winery and Restaurant

$$ - $$$European, ,
12 Nick Johnstone Drive, Oneroa, Auckland, Waiheke Island, New Zealand
+64 9-372 5889
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent55%
  • Very good26%
  • Average10%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“pizza” (53 reviews)
“mezze platter” (19 reviews)
“hummus” (17 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM Hours
CUISINES
European, Wine Bar, New Zealand, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
12 Nick Johnstone Drive, Oneroa, Auckland, Waiheke Island, New Zealand
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (1,233)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 1,180 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

The line up for the hop on hop off was so long, that we opted to walk from the pier to the winery. Hiked way out of the way, what was supposed to be short 25 minute walk took double because we kept following the...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Bcr8tve
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

It's got the view, the ambience, great food and friendly staff. We enjoyed a Pinot Rose with a platter and pizzas. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank John E
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

We did a day trip over to Waiheke island and went to the Verandah at Cable Bay for lunch. Service was impeccable and the food incredibly delicious. I got the El Diablo pizza and the truffle oil had me swooning. Possibly the best pizza I've...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank 675katherinea
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

There’s nothing wrong with Cable Bay, but it didn’t blow me away. I’d been looking forward to visiting after researching vineyards on the island and had seen the photos plastered all over the internet of people relaxing on beanbags and admiring the amazing views from...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank HolidayMelly
Reviewed 5 days ago

We wanted to go to Cable Beach Vineyard because their website showed people all outdoors sitting on the lawn overlooking an amazing view of the Bay. Unfortunately once we arrived and were seated indoors, we found out that they no longer allow anyone on their...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Ali N
CableBay1840, General Manager at Cable Bay Vineyards Winery and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi, Thank you very much for taking time and sharing your feedback, as a team we work really hard to make sure our guests have the best possible time at our Vineyards. I am very sorry to hear CBV did not meet your expectations on...More

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

We were really looking forward to visiting Cable Bay Vineyards. After paying $10 each for 4 tastings, 2 of which were Sauvignon Blanc from the same vineyard in Marlborough, we received tiny tasting of mediocre wines. But what was worse was the attitude of the...More

Date of visit: January 2019
2  Thank scandude
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Would be nice if this place let you know that they no longer allow people on the lawn or drinks outside. Sneaky.More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Ealingguy
CableBay1840, General Manager at Cable Bay Vineyards Winery and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi, Thank you very much for taking time and sharing your feedback. Unfortunately, at the moment, we are not allowed public on the lawn due to the environmental court order. We do however have outdoor seating available in front of the Dining Room Restaurant and...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was just plain bad! A host that is 10 minutes late didn’t start out things well. No greeting the guests and no introduction of himself. No discussion of the Winery. No discussion of their wine making process. No tour of any kind. Brief discussion...More

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank Z7229JMmartins
CableBay1840, General Manager at Cable Bay Vineyards Winery and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi, Thank you very much for sharing your feedback. I am shocked to hear you were not explained the winery and showed wine making process. It is unacceptable for the tour host to be late and not to start an informative and enthusiastic conversation. I...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had the most amazing experience here 2 nights ago. Surroundings were beautiful- amazing sunset-excellent service: attentive and knowledgeable, and beautiful food. We had the tapas menu and each selection was extremely tasty and beautifully presented. All in all a perfect night!

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank thecarrans
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We booked this restaurant a few days before - knowing it would be busy over the Xmas NY period. How wrong we were. With only 3 tables occupied inside they still struggled to serve us. Informing us that we could only choose from the tasting...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Sheree F
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 7 hotels in Waiheke Island
Santa Fe
8 reviews
1.04 km away
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
199 reviews
1.39 km away
The Boatshed
286 reviews
1.57 km away
Waiheke Island Resort
123 reviews
4.16 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Mudbrick Vineyard & Restaurant
1,762 reviews
.51 km away
The Oyster Inn
893 reviews
1.02 km away
Vino Vino
353 reviews
1.03 km away
Nearby Attractions
SegWai
165 reviews
.88 km away
The Waiheke BBQ Tour
11 reviews
1.07 km away
Mudbrick Vineyard
238 reviews
.50 km away
Island Scoot
20 reviews
.97 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
188stephb
24 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Keila B | Reviewed this property |
I'm not sure, but it's unlikely. Getting a wine and some snacks, though, is worth paying.
1
Vote
Google Translation
Pauline S
5 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Joost K | Reviewed this property |
No private boat landing available
0
Votes
Google Translation
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$15 - US$59
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Private Dining, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, View, Romantic, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 12 Nick Johnstone Drive, Oneroa, Auckland, Waiheke Island, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Auckland  >  Waiheke Island  >  Oneroa
  • Phone Number: +64 9-372 5889
  • E-mail
Description
Cable Bay Vineyards offers the complete vineyard experience – a cellar door for tasting our award-winning wine while looking out over our winery, innovative cuisine in both our restaurants; The Dining Room and, The Verandah and expansive lawns with breath-taking sea views towards Auckland city. Our organic kitchen gardens, orchards, groves and beehives supply olive oil, honey, fresh herbs, fruit, vegetables and edible flowers to our chefs who create culinary masterpieces to match our range of expressive wines. Cable Bay is a must-see during your visit to Waiheke Island.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing