We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Little Black Bird

$$ - $$$Cafe, ,
108 Market Street South, Hastings 4122, New Zealand
+64 210 842 5211
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent52%
  • Very good28%
  • Average14%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“donuts” (7 reviews)
“wraps” (2 reviews)
“steamed buns” (2 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Cafe, New Zealand, Contemporary, Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
108 Market Street South, Hastings 4122, New Zealand
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Two of us for lunch today, the 1st time visit and enjoyed our food especially the fresh steamed bun and filling. Cosy and warm atmosphere

Thank Anne A
Reviewed 3 June 2018

This cafe was a bit off the beaten track, but well worth searching out. Lovely spacious seating area, including a play area for the littlies. Great personalised service - we arrived late in the day looking for food we could take away, and the staff...More

Thank nin132
Reviewed 16 May 2018

They go out of their way here to make you welcome. Friendly staff, coffee good & not usual run of the mill food, they seem to make theirs different & fresh. Dine inside or out, gets sun in afternoon. Inside can get noisy if you...More

Thank SPYC
Reviewed 22 April 2018 via mobile

Caught up with a friend for lunch on a week day and this place was humming. Hard to find a table! Fresh food with lots of options for vegetarians, great coffee. Only negative was no sugar / sweetner on tables. Otherwise perfect. Great service too.

2  Thank Antarisha
Reviewed 17 April 2018 via mobile

Omg this was such good food. Loved it. Can't recommend enough. Really didn't need the donut after I'd finished my breakfast but they looked so good and as we were only passing through it was our only opportunity. They did not disappoint. If you're in...More

1  Thank Hayley S
littleblackbirdcafe, Owner at Little Black Bird, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Hi Hayley! Thank you so much for your review. It's makes our day when we get such positive feedback! Thank you for taking the time out of your day to review us we really appreciate it and we will hopefully see you again when you...More

Reviewed 12 April 2018 via mobile

I’ve been a couple times now and every time is is busy/humming (not crowded), cozy with a fire and friendly staff. The cabinet all looks delicious and the smoothies are delicious. The menu has a huge range of options. And they use paper straws!

1  Thank 98ashleighj
littleblackbirdcafe, Owner at Little Black Bird, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Thank you so much for your positive feedback, it really does mean a lot to us! We're all about the paper straws here! Say no to plastic!! See you again soon The team at little black bird

Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

When this cafe first opened it was just AMAZING. I especially enjoyed the healthy creative salads, the sweet choices, the decor and the lovely vibe. Where has it all gone? After some disappointing visits I deserted Little Back Bird for a while. Eventually I went...More

Thank HT20132013
littleblackbirdcafe, Owner at Little Black Bird, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Thank you for review and we are sorry you didn't enjoy the little black bird experience. If you could please contact us and elaborate on what food you had and the problem with it so we can look into it and take it further. Unfortunately,...More

Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile

Food was expensive, took ages and when it came we were disappointed food was cold and sad. Best bit was the great iced coffeeMore

Thank Georgia U
littleblackbirdcafe, Owner at Little Black Bird, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Thank you for review and we are very sorry you didn't enjoy your little black bird experience. We pride ourselves on using the best quality ingredients such as organic free range eggs and chicken and Wagyu Beef so our prices do reflect that. We would...More

Reviewed 4 March 2018

The food here is worth raving about (and i do). Although its very hard to go away from the chefs steam buns. they all have beautiful fillings and the buns themselves are divine cabinet food is great, especially the donuts, so i doubt you wont...More

1  Thank watsonfloyd510
littleblackbirdcafe, Owner at Little Black Bird, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Thank you for your review!! We love it when people love what we do! We look forward to seeing you again. Thank you!!

Reviewed 24 February 2018

We have visited little Black Bird many times. On this occasion our Cappa's were topped with cinnamon instead of the asked for chocolate. A simple mistake, but instead of fixing the waitress argued we had got it wrong!! I guess she thought we deliberately complained...More

4  Thank Mark152014
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 17 hotels in Hastings
Portmans Motor Lodge
83 reviews
.38 km away
Apple Motor Inn
71 reviews
.46 km away
Claremonte Motor Lodge
34 reviews
.92 km away
Valdez Motor Lodge
106 reviews
1.57 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Gengy's Mongolian Bbq Buffet Restaurant
89 reviews
.18 km away
Bay Espresso - Karamu Road
144 reviews
.23 km away
Cafe Anatolia
53 reviews
.18 km away
Focal Point Cinema and Cafe
121 reviews
.21 km away
Nearby Attractions
Hastings i-SITE Visitor Information Centre
27 reviews
.16 km away
Cornwall Park
18 reviews
1.02 km away
Vidal Estate Cellar Door
12 reviews
1.39 km away
Hastings City Art Gallery
25 reviews
.29 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Jeanie B
4 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from littleblackbirdcafe | Property representative |
Hi Sorry we are currently not open in the evenings so we do not have a set menu. Thanks, from the team at little black bird
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Business meetings
Open Hours
Monday
7:30 AM - 3:30 PM
Tuesday
7:30 AM - 3:30 PM
Wednesday
7:30 AM - 3:30 PM
Thursday
7:30 AM - 3:30 PM
Friday
7:30 AM - 3:30 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 2:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 108 Market Street South, Hastings 4122, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Hawke's Bay Region  >  Hastings
  • Phone Number: +64 210 842 5211
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing