We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$13 - US$31
CUISINES
European, New Zealand
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (749)
Filter reviews
742 results
Traveller rating
424
211
72
25
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
424
211
72
25
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lamb salad burger fries bread ice cream te mata peak great playground kids playground havelock north play area wine list family dinner great food and service great menu all ages hawkes bay new zealand
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 5 days ago

Great meal again yesterday. Could not be faulted. Service staff happy and attentive. I have Duck and friend had lamb. Substantial meals.

Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 week ago

I belong to a book club after an evening of buying books, we had booked for wine, dessert - and a catch up. Didn't disappointment, great friendly service, the desserts were to die for, everyone really happy with their choice, and nice good sized portions.,...thanks Off The TrackMore

Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Communication ahead of time and ability to meet our requirements was great! Good feedback on the food - enjoyable experience all round

Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 27 June 2021 via mobile

A pleasant lunch experience. Good food and wine, pleasant efficient service in a light and airy environment. The existence of a vegetarian menu was appreciated.

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 24 June 2021

We've dined here years ago and the menu was quite extensive and the meals quite generous in serving size, but our experience this time was not anything close to what we'd experienced before. The lambshanks were over cooked and the ju wasn't as authentic tasting...as we'd hoped. The fish and chips one of our party had was pretty good, but it's hard to not to get that right. Bit disappointed really, so we'd most likely not be backMore

Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Off The T, Owner at Off The Track, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Ages ago? Welcome to the 21st century of high produce prices and labor. We feel we are giving our customers value for money in this day and age in both the quality of the food and quantity of food. The shank has always been cooked...More

Reviewed 20 June 2021 via mobile

Incredibly disappointing experience. Owners/chef must of changed since our last visit. Service was appalling. Very limited menu now. Our food took an hour to arrive with out us being offered any more drinks while we waited. Our food was Incredibly disappointing and when we politely...informed the staff of this when they asked how it was we were not given any concern to it. Sad for such a beautiful location that their food quality does not remain the same that it once was.More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 5 June 2021

Booked well in advance for a family and friends lunch celebration for my 21st, I had originally booked for a table of 40 however a few people were unable to make it at the last minute, the wait staf were rude about this and told...my family it would cost us a charge for the people missing, unless we had 30 show up, there were 29 people and they charged us an extra $100.More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Off The T, General Manager at Off The Track, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2021

Hi there Thank you for taking the time to review us. I feel however your comments are somewhat misleading. You are correct in saying you booked for 40 people well in advance. On the particular day you had 25 people show up for the purpose...More

Reviewed 18 May 2021 via mobile

This was a great dining experience - good food, friendly staff and prompt service - one of our favourites and never disappoints.

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 9 May 2021

We hadn't booked so chanced our luck and staff found us a table. They did apologise that they had a very large group in and things were slower than they would like but they could accommodate us. They took our drinks order quickly and did...say food orders couldn't be taken for a little while. No problem - being warned is good, you know what to expect. There were several larger groups there and staff were extremely busy. One group was completely over the top - or at least their kids were. Kids allowed to roar through the dining area disrupting patrons and generally creating havoc. Not really sure why parents think this is acceptable but this lot did. One larger group of diners near us told the kids to clear off and were greeted with absolute cheek and rudeness (this from preschoolers!) Staff were amazingly tolerant and kept apologising but this was way beyond their pay grade! We eventually had our orders taken and food delivered. My steak was absolutely divine - melt in the mouth deliciousness!! Husband had just as good an experience with his dish. Staff were attentive making sure we had drinks and clearing plates etc, and offering the next course or desserts. A winning team and a great dining experience.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 May 2021

four of us went out for tea on a sunday night to "off the track" - and we all had a wonderful meal - I had the desert of Creme Brulee & it was the best I have ever had & bigger than usual too...which was a welcome surprise - the Fish special was amazing - hope they make it as a regular dish - I would eat it every time I went there - thank youMore

Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Village Motel
84 reviews
1.17 km away
Cherry Grove Motel
60 reviews
1.18 km away
Porters Boutique Hotel
178 reviews
1.19 km away
Mercure Auckland Queen Street
6 reviews
2.52 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Malo
280 reviews
1.20 km away
St. Georges Restaurant
351 reviews
.63 km away
Maina
475 reviews
1.18 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Smith & Sheth
30 reviews
1.17 km away
Havelock North i-SITE Visitor Information Centre
32 reviews
1.22 km away
Mantra Beauty & Body Spa
64 reviews
1.22 km away
Sabaidee Thai Massage
11 reviews
1.23 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Off The Track staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Off The Track

Off The Track is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5