We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Monaco Kitchen

6 Point Road | Monaco, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
+64 3-547 0792
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent55%
  • Very good25%
  • Average10%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“lamb” (24 reviews)
“calamari” (7 reviews)
“linguine” (4 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
European, New Zealand, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
6 Point Road | Monaco, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (340)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 328 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Tonight me and my family went to The Monaco Kitchen for a meal as we just recently moved here to Nelson. The food was amazing, it came out quick, and the service from Tommy was even better. The experience wouldn't have been the same without...More

1  Thank Connector823993
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Guest Relations Manager at The Monaco Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear Harry A Wow, you flatterer - Tommy's head will be spinning now! Seriously, thanks for your terrific review, and more importantly - welcome to Nelson, we know you're all going to love living here. We're delighted you enjoyed your dining experience, both the food...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Meals were ok, service was GREAT. Concept of the restaurant was out dated, ok for breakfast, but poor for dinner. Green chairs looked out of place, no tablecloths for dinner made the place ambience out of whack, but the service was lovely.More

1  Thank Got2try
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Guest Relations Manager at The Monaco Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi there Got2try Thanks for your restaurant review separate to the review you left on the hotel. Thanks for noting that you really enjoyed the service in the restaurant - I'll pass on your comments to the front of house team. Warm regards Nick, on...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

While staying at the hotel we decided to eat there also. The beautiful old English style was ruined by the green plastic chairs. Menu voulcnt decide on a style and one waiter had no idea of what was on it. My fish was bland and...More

Thank HeatherAbbie
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Guest Relations Manager at The Monaco Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear HeatherAbbie Thanks for your review/feedback, please accept my apology that your dining experience at The Monaco Kitchen didn't meet your expectations. The decor in the restaurant is intended to give the restaurant it's on special (informal) character separate to the identify of the hotel,...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Found MK really disappointing food wise. Menu implied small plates but really was entree and main which staff explained. Steak was supposedly 200g but looked cut in half when it arrived and was very tough. High price for a pretty poor meal. Service was ok...More

Thank pennyt675
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Guest Relations Manager at The Monaco Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi there pennyt675 Oh dear, if you're disappointed, we're doubly so because it doesn't sound like you had the sort of experience we aim to deliver. Please accept our apologies for your disappointing dining experience - hand-on-heart I can reassure you that we can, and...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

So........just outstanding service, outstanding company. Top drawer from every respect. I never post on this forum but in this case I felt obliged even though i am 1yr late in posting.More

1  Thank tony352
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Guest Relations Manager at The Monaco Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear tony352 1yr late in posting - wow, Tommy's indomitable service must have really impressed you if you were moved to write about it a year later; I'm sure that Tommy would want me to say thank you very much! Tommy is just as committed...More

Reviewed 12 September 2018

My wife and I had share plates of calamari and the Cardinal fish both very tasty and well cooked. We found the waiter ASH very informative with a bubbly personality. Tommy also was very friendly and made us feel very welcome.More

1  Thank Graeme B
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Guest Relations Manager at The Monaco Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2018

Hi there Graeme B Thanks for your review/feedback - it's great to know you enjoyed your seafood dishes and that you thought them well cooked. Thanks for the great feedback on Ashleigh and Tommy. Warm regards Nick, on behalf of the entire team at The...More

Reviewed 30 August 2018 via mobile

We have eaten at The Monaco Kitchen the last 2 nights and the food has been excellent and the staff could not be friendly. We would definitely recommend this restaurant and we will be back.More

1  Thank Kelly W
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Guest Relations Manager at The Monaco Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2018

Hi there Kelly W Thanks for your wonderful review, we're delighted you enjoyed several really excellent meals and that the team were friendly and really looked after you. We look forward to seeing you back again sometime real soon - our new spring menu launches...More

Reviewed 27 August 2018

Have been meaning to come here for ages and are so glad we finally did! Our waiter, Tommy, really made the evening and kept us smiling all night long. He explained the menu thoroughly and was generally just helpful and fun. We had a window...More

1  Thank Lucy8989
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Guest Relations Manager at The Monaco Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Dear Lucy8989 Thanks so much for your review/feedback, what a pleasure to read your review, we're delighted that you had such a wonderful dining experience at The Monaco Kitchen. We're delighted you enjoyed the warm friendly service, the gorgeous view, and of course a delicious...More

Reviewed 14 August 2018 via mobile

Thanks again Ashleigh for the superb service and food. Look forward to our next meal. Great dining for family and friends.More

1  Thank SimonO1660
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Guest Relations Manager at The Monaco Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

Hi there Simon O Thanks for your great feedback, I'm sure that Ashleigh will be delighted with that special mention. We look forward to seeing you all back in TMK again sometime soon. Warm regards Nick, on behalf of the entire team at The Monaco...More

Reviewed 13 August 2018

A family bereavement bought us to this place by accident. A table of 20 or a table of 2 made no difference. Tommy made us all feel welcome and guided us through an impressive food and wine menu. We dined in house four times over...More

1  Thank ShelleyT411
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Guest Relations Manager at The Monaco Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Hi there Shelley T Thanks for your review, we're delighted that despite the sad occasion for the gathering of your family, that you still enjoyed your dining experience(s) with us at The Monaco Kitchen. It's great to hear that you and your family enjoyed the...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 42 hotels in Nelson
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
1,035 reviews
.09 km away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
177 reviews
.10 km away
Boutique Motel Nelson
117 reviews
1.46 km away
Greens Motel Nelson
83 reviews
2.03 km away
Nearby Restaurants
McCashins Brewery Kitchen and Bar
96 reviews
1.51 km away
Honest Lawyer
317 reviews
.08 km away
The Bach Bar & Restaurant
27 reviews
1.39 km away
Nearby Attractions
Private Driver Hire
20 reviews
.80 km away
Broadgreen Historic House
79 reviews
.87 km away
McCashin's Brewery
71 reviews
1.54 km away
Tasman Helicopters
23 reviews
1.11 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Monaco Kitchen staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$26
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Seating, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Full Bar, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Child-friendly, Business meetings, View, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
7:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Monday
7:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Tuesday
7:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Wednesday
7:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Thursday
7:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Friday
7:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Saturday
7:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 6 Point Road | Monaco, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Nelson-Tasman Region  >  Nelson
  • Phone Number: +64 3-547 0792
  • E-mail
Description
The Monaco Kitchen is in a well-known location on the Monaco peninsula (Nelson, New Zealand), presenting a new dining concept in a stunning location. Championing our local produce we aim to provide a sharing experience with small bites, sharing plates and feasts that you can enjoy with your friends, family or your sweetheart
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing