We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
$8 - $25
CUISINES
New Zealand
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (269)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
263 results
Traveller rating
163
66
18
5
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
163
66
18
5
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunny day new zealand lovely lunch great coffee gallery gifts
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 16 January 2024

Beautiful place to stop on the way to our next stop, Cape Reinga. Although it was cloudy, this was such a lovely stop with yummy food (the French toast was amazing!) and super friendly staff. The Gallery was stunning, so much art from so many...incredibly talented artists. I would definitely recommend!More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 January 2024 via mobile

Such a shame this place is under new management. Rated two out of five because the coffee was good. But food and menu was very disappointing. Now all Indian themed which in itself is perfectly fine but definitely not what we came for. We ordered...75 degree egg and homemade sour dough toast. When it came it was actually untoasted freya’s packet bread! All meals served with fries. Menu extremely odd and confusing. Just not the nice cafe that this place used to be. We come every year when we camp here but this will probably be the last time. We are better to find a nice cafe in Russel or Whangarei.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 May 2023 via mobile

Views were amazing from the cafe. Food was ok, very basic but ok. Gallery was nice to mooch round. Seemed expensive but some very nice pieces.

Date of visit: May 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 September 2022 via mobile

We noticed this place on a Long Weekend Away at Bland Bay,So we Decided to stop on our Way Back,And we were not Disappointed,The Cafe and Gardens are Beautiful,The Food Very Tasty and presented,Awesome Coffee,And The Grounds and shop ,Are Stunning,Prices are very Reasonable,And the...Gardens are Superb,All in All a must visit ,Thanks Helena Bay Cafe 👍More

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 September 2022 via mobile

A great cafe, reasonably priced, great quality food all served up with an amazing view. Great staff and worth stopping in for a meal and a viewing of the gallery.

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 May 2022 via mobile

This cafe is a destination & worth the extra kilometres! You are welcomed upon entering & a sunny day makes the ambiance even better. They are most accommodating to dietary requirements. There was a large group of ladies in the entrance area but nothing was...a problem & we never had to wait for service. A lovely lunch, view & look at the amazing selection in the gallery.More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 May 2022 via mobile

Decided to take my mom somewhere different to enjoy a belated mother's day so drove down for lunch. Easy to find and good parking . The cafe is divided into the gardens, gallery and cafe. We decided to eat first so went into the cafe....At the entry signage is well displayed as to Covid protocol and once inside greater with a sincere and warm welcome. We were given the menu and shown the seating area. The out door area is wonderful and has an amazing views out towards the ocean and bay. I was shown the specials board and we headed to one of the balcony edge tables. We both ordered the asian chicken salad and a glass of wine each. Promt service and delivery of our drinks. The meal came promptly also had been very obviously freshly prepared. If your here for an American sized meal then forget it. The food is about quality not gross quality. We finished with a great coffee before walking around the gardens and gallery Good pricing for the meal $72 all up for 2. I did enjoy the experience and found this location somewhere I will return to.More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Janet P, Owner at Helena Bay Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2022

So pleased we were able to offer you and your mum a good experience. We look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewed 9 May 2022 via mobile

Went to the Cafe for mothers day lunch, booked ahead as knew it would be busy. Eight adults, a toddler and a baby. Weren't allowed to bring in the stroller to the cafe, they were extremely rude about it, citing mothers day busyness etc, Nowhere...to put high chair either. Then no children's menu at all and no concession at all, asked to order a separate bowl of fries for the toddler, they refused, told us to order the beef burger adult meal as it came with fries. Ordered a beef burger with no onions on, but it came with onions. Portions are small as well. All in all an unsatisfactory visit, not even slightly family friendly, don't bother going if you have kids, they don't cater for them. Would give it a 2 out of 10 on a good day. Gallery next door is awesome, so a shame the cafe doesn't keep up.More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Janet P, Owner at Helena Bay Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2022

Thank you for your review. Lets take your comments from the start. I was the one that said you could not bring in your rather large buggy as there was no room on the deck for it. I was not rude but snapped at by...More

Reviewed 17 April 2022

We did a nine-day tour around Northland. There are so many gems and this is one of them. Beware, the entrance is all of a sudden right there. We were driving a McRent Comfort Luxury camper. As long as no one is coming up it's...all good to go down the drive - there is lots of parking. It is a serene setting, and we got greeted by their New Foundland Dog - such a gorgeous friendly dog. There is a cafe (it didn't open until 10am the day we arrived) and a gallery which is a real showcase of New Zealand talent. The customer service in the arts centre was fantastic - she wrapped our gifts while we ate and brought them to our table. The cafe served the best coffee on our trip, best customer service and the views ... a photo does not do it justice. We had perfect weather, blue skies, no wind and an unobstructed view. And to top it off the gardens are beautiful too. There are some cool games and a fish pond, so the perfect spot for a family to hang out and an opportunity to stretch your legs.More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 February 2022

The lady taking our order must have been having an argument with about member of staff judging by the facial expressions between them. This translated in the service we received when ordering and paying for our food. Made us feel unfomfortable.

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 January 2022 via mobile

Amazing place! Coffee was delicious, food as well, views are worth a million dollar, but the service was the best of all… super attentive, friendly, gave us tips and then we spend a great time exploring the gallery and the gardens. A must!

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 January 2022 via mobile

A smallish lunch menu but a good range from staples such as a burger and fries to vegetarian stack and salads where the four of us all found something to suit. The staff were all friendly and attentive, the prices about café standard and the...outdoor deck and view toward Helena Bay was spectacular. Will defintitely look to return next time we are up this way. A nice setting with a gallery adjoining which was well worth a look as well.More

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 December 2021

Arrived for lunch. Signs at the door indicated we would be in a business that prioritise customer safety in a global pandemic. Alarm bells began to ring when the vaccine pass scanner was ‘broken’ and staff not wearing face masks as is required at red...light. We were pointed to a seat and watched as the unmasked staff served various tables, and interacted with customers. Now regret the visit, potential for spread of the virus increased by numerous staff serving one table. Food was not worth the risk.More

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Janet P, Owner at Helena Bay Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2021

Thank you Jenny for your review. Our scanner is not broken. Some passes are not able to be scanned and we do not have to scan all passes. We just have to sight them. As for masks, after a risk assessment I made the decision...More

Reviewed 21 November 2021 via mobile

Beautiful setting, lovely gallery and shop and exceptional garden and views. We had a lovely lunch for 2 looking out at the view. Highly recommend the roast vegetable salad and french toast. The iced mocha was awesome

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 October 2021

This was a place we have been waiting to get to for a few years. It was worth going to. There was a blackboard at the entrance asking us to sanitise, scan and wait to be seated. I had the eggs benedict with salmon and...my partner had French toast. Both meals were lovely. Topped off with a glass of orange juice. The wait staff were only too happy to help and answer questions about the place. We enjoyed the amazing view and perusing the gallery next door. The walk around the garden was great too. Definitely a hidden gem.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Lupton Lodge
344 reviews
22.98 km away
Quality Hotel Oceans Tutukaka
308 reviews
24.70 km away
Opua Motel
28 reviews
24.94 km away
Tutukaka Coast Motor Lodge
41 reviews
25.13 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Whananaki General Store
9 reviews
13.17 km away
Towai Tavern
35 reviews
17.72 km away
Sage @ Paroa Bay Winery
241 reviews
23.26 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
The Gallery & Cafe Helena Bay Hill
78 reviews
.02 km away
Jack Morgan Museum
8 reviews
14.69 km away
Northland Dive
328 reviews
15.41 km away
Whale Bay
56 reviews
19.37 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
beth010
9 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from | Property representative |
Hi Beth, My apologies your afternoon was spoilt. I have changed Trip Advisor. Warm regards Janet Pope
0
Votes
64victoria2015
30 July 2016|
Answer
Response from | Property representative |
Hello, thank you very much for your inquiry. Unfortunately it only reached us today / Monday. Yes we are currently open Wednesday - Sunday, 10am - 4pm. Looking forward to welcoming you in the cafe, Kind regards Julia... More
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

HELENA BAY CAFE - Restaurant Reviews, Phone Number & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Helena Bay Cafe

Yes, Helena Bay Cafe offers takeaway services.

Helena Bay Cafe is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5