We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
$6 - $29
CUISINES
Contemporary, New Zealand, International, Healthy
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (265)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
248 results
Traveller rating
187
34
10
9
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
187
34
10
9
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ice cream waffle cone real fruit milkshakes dairy nz
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 22 September 2023

The Handmade ice cream was delicious , tastier than the factory made stuff from the big brands. And the staff were so friendly , a real bonus for Kaikoura

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 March 2023

It seems somewhat unfair to say "average" and "limited choices" when there were lots of choices of ice-cream flavours but I couldn't have the one thing I wanted - an icecream sandwich - because they'd run out of cookies with which to make them.

Date of visit: December 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 February 2023

Visited Poppy's on Waitangi day but the service was terrible. Waited for more than 5 mins to be serviced and the first question received from the old lady server was "are you in the queue?" She didn't ask the same question to any of the...customers that were in front of me and was not interested in servicing me since I don't have a European appearance. She repeated my orders to herself at least three times before written them down. The single scooped ice cream was small, and I was charged additional NZ$1.00 for the waffle cone. Overall not worth it and it was a much disappointment on such a hot and beautiful Waitangi day.More

Date of visit: February 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bmeiks22, Owner at Poppy's Parlour, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2023

Waitangi weekend is one of our busiest weekends at our little shop, during summer time wait times can reach any where upwards to 15mins due to the influx of holiday makers. We are sorry for the wait you experienced during our peek season, I wish...More

Reviewed 28 December 2022

Went into Poppy's yesterday after an amazing hike along the beach with my wife and 6 year old daughter. The server couldn't have been more disinterested, and then, nasty. The milkshake was more like cooled milk. The yogurt ice creams were average. And way too...expensive for the offer. Too bad - such a disappointing end to such a great day.More

Date of visit: December 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bmeiks22, Owner at Poppy's Parlour, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2023

Hi Paul Thank you for the review. Milkshakes are made up of 600ml of milk, 50 grams of soft serve and flavoured syrup of choice. You could say they are “Cooled milk” essentially this is almost what it is, we just call it a milkshake...More

Reviewed 2 May 2022

The staff are so friendly and helpful, just pop in and taste their amazing ice creams plus plenty of other things to taste too.

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bmeiks22, Owner at Poppy's Parlour, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2023

Thank you for your review. You are awesome :) -RM

Reviewed 30 April 2022

Nice food, we ended up with waffles and ice cream cookies (cold/wet day). We received the food very quickly. The staff were friendly but did seem a bit distracted by their friends coming in & out of the store, seemed like a local teenager hang...out? Interior looked nice to sit in but we ended up getting takeaway as a large group of teens came in to hang out with the staff at the tables so wasn't any room for us with a pram.More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bmeiks22, Owner at Poppy's Parlour, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2023

Thank you for your review This is most kid’s/Teens favourite shop in town and we can see why. Lollies, chocolates, ice cream, donuts is every young adult’s favourite foods. As our seating plan is, first in best dressed. Asking our friendly staff if the other...More

Reviewed 4 January 2022

Ice cream was rather average tbh, was expecting something spectacular given the previous reviews. None of the staff were wearing masks. I wouldn't come back. Service seemed to be lacking , also the real fruit ice cream seemed to have a strange taste, the next...door dairy had a taster ice cream.More

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bmeiks22, Owner at Poppy's Parlour, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2022

Thank you for your review, I’m sad to hear you didn’t enjoy your ice cream. We can’t win all hearts. I am though delighted you enjoyed ice cream next door at the diary, still fantastic ice cream. Kaikoura is at a bit of a staff...More

Reviewed 11 October 2021

The biggest 'Real Fruit' ice-cream I have ever been given = needed to ask for a little ice-cream tub to go with it so I didn't drop it all over myself!

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 April 2021

Very yummy homemade ice cream. Friendly staff , very clean and bright. there was a good variety of flavours on offer

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 March 2021 via mobile

Poppy's ice-cream is delicious - incredibly creamy and smooth. Best ice-cream I've ever had. It is actually hand-made. She beats it together herself.

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 March 2021

Had a great eggs Benedict here and even got a discount on second meal. good position and friendly staff.

Date of visit: February 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 January 2021

Delicious ice cream and very generous portions of food. Staff were very friendly and welcoming. Our favourite Ice Cream place in town.

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 December 2020

One of the best coffees you'll find outside of Wellington! We also indulged in the cheese scone, corn fritters and ice creams for the children. They were all super delicious. The cafe had a really warm and cosy ambience, which you might not expect when...you view it from the outside. Highly recommend.More

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 November 2020

We had lunch here on our first day in Kaikoura. I ordered the BLAT and it was a very generous portion and very tasty! Eggs and a cheese roll also enjoyed. There are also many flavours of delicious homemade ice cream to choose from -...we only wish we had stayed in town longer to try them all out!More

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 November 2020 via mobile

Great cafe. Very clean and best cheese rolls I’ve ever tasted. Friendly staff . The coffee was very good . The homemade ice cream had some really interesting flavours

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge
308 reviews
.38 km away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
1,092 reviews
.46 km away
Kaikoura Holiday Homes Limited
482 reviews
.94 km away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
619 reviews
.99 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Zephyr Restaurant
300 reviews
.10 km away
Black Rabbit Pizza
551 reviews
.23 km away
Cods and Crayfish
329 reviews
.87 km away
Beach House Cafe
347 reviews
.45 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Kaikoura Peninsula Walkway
1,183 reviews
.35 km away
Ohau Point Seal Colony
1,260 reviews
1.39 km away
Kaikoura Museum
157 reviews
.34 km away
Maori Leap Cave
33 reviews
.66 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
23 December 2015|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from ikg80 | Reviewed this property |
Sorry I can't answer that, but the people that served us were wonderful .
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

POPPY'S PARLOUR, Kaikoura - Restaurant Reviews, Phone Number & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Poppy's Parlour

Yes, Poppy's Parlour offers takeaway services.

Poppy's Parlour is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4.5