We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$3 - US$23
CUISINES
New Zealand, Cafe
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (657)
Filter reviews
634 results
Traveller rating
337
188
68
24
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
337
188
68
24
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brunch eggs bene beans cake soup scones burger salmon fish and chips cheese room great coffee cabinet food a late lunch big breakfast tasty food south island beehive
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 days ago

Just had my second visit here - each one about 10-years apart and both excellent! Breakfast is really tasty and good value for money. Friendly and quick service. The bees and cheese room make this a really unique place to eat in Hoki.

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Fantastic food ..went two.days in a row and it wss brilliant . Staff are lovely food is yummy. Thanks guys 4 the great service.

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Dirty uncleared table, a surly staff member - saved by good coffee and a very good seed slice. Sad as this is a good location but runs “hot and cold”.

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went to Stella cafe this morning for breakfast tried their chef special chicken sandwich. OMG that was delicious lettuce tomato with some bacon and baked chicken on nicely toasted ciabbata was yumm. Tick all the boxes compliment to the chef. Will visit again for that.

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?2  
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After spending sometime travelling the South Island one of our last stops was in hokitika. We came across Stella after walking round town, and it was clearly the busier cafe. We were welcomed with a cheery hello and was helped through the menu. The 6...of us had a mixture of menu and cabinet food. I had the salmon bagel which was delicious…. So nice to not have cold smoked salmon but lovely hot fresh cooked! The meals were very prompt and everything came together which was nice. After our travels it’s obvious covid is taking its toll on these little towns so I’m making an effort to leave positive reviews on most of the places I’ve been…. If I had to think of a negative for this place it would be that there was only one toilet and clearly everyone wanted to use it when I did.More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Always a good sign when a place is busy. We had breakfast mid Saturday morning and the place was humming. But the service was still amazing! Best granola I have ever had with fruit, yoghurt and a yummy runny sauce on the side Unfortunately I...don’t live in Hokitika so I can’t be here every day!! Keep up the good work!More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Walked in, observed staff were not wearing masks, as required by the covid rules, and walked out again. So can't rate the food.

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?2  
Stellano1, Owner at Stella Cafe Hokitika, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Obviously didn’t get close enough to see exemption badges. You could have asked any of our regulars about the strict protocols we have followed the whole horrible Covid journey. We are all better off without customers like you.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I’ve had food here before and it was delicious but today I went and it was absolutely horrible spent $20 on eggs bene which was over cooked eggs on what I think was mash potatoe ??? Bacon wasn’t very nice either definitely disappointed in what...I spent vs what I got, I expected eggs on bread or somthing but the eggs yolks were to hard and to vinegary.More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
Stellano1, Owner at Stella Cafe Hokitika, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Clearly you didn't take the time to read the menu description which says Eggs Bennie Our Way comes on a house-made potato cake, or the sign that explained due to Covid we were severally short staffed and asking for a little patience and kindness. Having...More

Reviewed 4 April 2022

Overwhelmed by the selection of amazing dishes on offer here. Definitely value for money. The beverage list was comprehensive and complimentary to the food items. I don't normally order soup, but really felt like it and so glad I did. Very tasty. Thank you for...a great lunchMore

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 26 March 2022 via mobile

Great place, good food, I had a burger which had the best tasting onion chutney this side of the equator. Pretty good coffee, mine was a bit too milky but great place. Toilet was lovely to destroy, luckily everyone was wearing a mask as my...deed would gag a maggot!More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Beachfront Hotel Hokitika
831 reviews
.10 km away
Mountain Jade Backpackers
109 reviews
.23 km away
Heritage Highway Motel
88 reviews
.37 km away
Jade Court Motor Lodge
232 reviews
.51 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Hokitika Sandwich Company
169 reviews
.03 km away
Gatherer Wholefoods & Bar
104 reviews
.22 km away
Kitchen Hokitika
188 reviews
.12 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Hokitika Beach
628 reviews
.10 km away
Hokitika Museum
183 reviews
.13 km away
Hokitika i-SITE Visitor Information Centre
98 reviews
.27 km away
National Kiwi Centre
297 reviews
.18 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Dgvz
2 August 2020|
Answer
Response from Stellano1 | Property representative |
Yes absolutely we do. Our Smokey Mushrooms (minus the ciabatta) is a fav! Especially if you add some bacon. ☆☆☆
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Stella Cafe Hokitika

Yes, Stella Cafe Hokitika offers takeaway services.

Stella Cafe Hokitika is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4