We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Parnells Cafe Gallery and Garden Art Restaurant

349 Victoria Avenue, Whanganui 4500, New Zealand
+64 6-345 7770
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent37%
  • Very good47%
  • Average10%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“brunch” (9 reviews)
“gelato” (11 reviews)
Open Now
07:00 - 16:00All hours
CUISINES
Cafe, New Zealand, European, Contemporary, Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
349 Victoria Avenue, Whanganui 4500, New Zealand
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Great coffee and breakfast ...and after breakfast icecream for my daughter. It was lovely and warm when we were there at 9.30am with a gas fire burning on a cold morning. Staff were friendly.

Thank CharlieBrown555
Reviewed 1 week ago

A quiet Sunday morning Brekky after a fairly heavy night out on the Saturday was just the best at Parnells. Their Black Board menu is substantial and hits the spot for either something light and tasty or the substantial Big Breakfast if you are a...More

Thank ActionHero47
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great food, prompt service, great variety and nice staff. Nice site for a family lunch. We ate outside despite being winter. A large gas burner was available to keep us warm. We didn't need it as the food and drink did just that.

Thank Arbor253
Te Aroha M, Owner at Parnells Cafe Gallery and Garden Art, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your review Arbor253. So pleased you enjoyed your lunch and that you were well taken care of. Te Aroha

Reviewed 10 June 2017

Sunday 4th June, stopped for coffee and a scone. Coffee arrived soon after but the scone arrived at least 15 minutes later seriously cold. Waitress asked us "do you want it heated" !!!!!!! After that delay we had it cold ex the fridge. Not coming...More

Thank gary l
Te Aroha M, Owner at Parnells Cafe Gallery and Garden Art, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2017

Hi Gary1 I can only apologise for this totally unacceptable service. This is out of character for our staff. I am truly sorry and would like the chance to put it right. My apologies. Te Aroha Mackintosh, Owner.

Reviewed 28 May 2017

It was a miserable day out but the cafe was deliciously warm. The food was well worth the average price we paid.The coffees took quite awhile despite it being early and not many in the cafe,but like many Cafes the takeaway orders seem to get...More

Thank Katrine715
Te Aroha M, Owner at Parnells Cafe Gallery and Garden Art, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Katrine715 So pleased you enjoyed your time at Parnells Cafe. Sorry you had to wait for your coffee. Yes that was probably because of the demand for take out coffees at the time. Thanks for you review. Te Aroha

Reviewed 12 May 2017 via mobile

I had lunch here, and despite being extremely busy, the staff were lovely and were doing a great job. They accidentally gave me the wrong lunch order, but quickly rectified this and I was able to enjoy an amazing bowl of homemade mushroom soup with...More

Thank NewZealandishome
Te Aroha M, Owner at Parnells Cafe Gallery and Garden Art, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello NewZealandishome Thank you so much for your review of Parnells Cafe. So pleased you enjoyed your soup and that staff made up for the error in your order. Look forward to seeing you back here! Te Aroha, (Owner)

Reviewed 16 February 2017

Really enjoy stopping here when we travel through Wanganui. The menu is large, the Cafe clean and the service good. The Thai Beef Salad is a particular favourite and they do great milkshakes too.

Thank Julian S
Te Aroha M, Owner at Parnells Cafe Gallery and Garden Art, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Julian S Thank you for your review of Parnells Cafe. We look forward to seeing you again. All the best. Te Aroha (Owner).

Reviewed 9 February 2017

This cafe was recommended to us by the motel we stayed in on a visit to Wanganui. Superb service - frieldnlya dn efficient. Beautiful coffee, and excellent food. Highly recommend this cafe.

Thank Flicks
Te Aroha M, Owner at Parnells Cafe Gallery and Garden Art, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2017

Hi Flicks So pleased you enjoyed your time at Parnells Cafe. Many thanks for sharing your experience and we hope to see you back sometime. Your feedback means a lot to us. Cheers. Te Aroha

Reviewed 8 February 2017

I stopped here for lunch with my young family, en route to Wellington. A great place for kids as high chairs provided and extensive menu means something for all tastes. Unfortunately my order was at first overlooked by chef so rest of family ate before...More

Thank Pocahontas12
Te Aroha M, Owner at Parnells Cafe Gallery and Garden Art, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2017

Hi Pocahontas12 Wonderful to hear your visit to Parnells was successful despite the glitch in service. Thank you for your patience and your generous review. We look forward to your return. Cheers. Te Aroha

Reviewed 29 November 2016 via mobile

Not so good fritters and bacon all under cooked half way through our meal and say something to a waitress who replies what do you want We should have said our money back but still in shock over waitress attitude And why is always left...More

Thank Kevin T
Te Aroha M, Owner at Parnells Cafe Gallery and Garden Art, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2017

Hi Kevin T Sorry my response is late and I do apologise for the poor experience you had. This is not what Parnells is about. I do hope you come back and that the food and service you receive is all that it should be....More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Cafe Anatolia Wanganui
35 reviews
.84 km away
Tasty Indian Restaurant & Bar
32 reviews
.84 km away
Kristy’s Cafe
139 reviews
.46 km away
Nearby Attractions
Virginia Lake
290 reviews
1.55 km away
Whanganui i-SITE Visitor Information Centre
112 reviews
1.52 km away
Kowhai Park
171 reviews
1.27 km away
Quartz Museum
22 reviews
1.34 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Parnells Cafe Gallery and Garden Art staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$4 - US$14
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Waitstaff
Good for
Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
07:00 - 16:00
Monday
07:00 - 16:00
Tuesday
07:00 - 16:00
Wednesday
07:00 - 16:00
Thursday
07:00 - 16:00
Friday
07:00 - 16:00
Saturday
07:00 - 16:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 349 Victoria Avenue, Whanganui 4500, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Manawatu-Wanganui Region  >  Whanganui
  • Phone Number: +64 6-345 7770
  • E-mail
Description
Fresh, homemade food and Mojos coffee. Always a must in Wanganui to eat, coffee and view gallery. Fantastic gelato.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing