We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Bar, Cafe
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (135)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveller rating
54
46
16
15
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
54
46
16
15
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fries chicken best place in town public holiday coffee teddy mince mushrooms hubby
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Meal was nice but very disappointing with service waited for over one hour for our lunch meals and only 3 other tables with people- been here for business meeting s in the past and same issue not improving it’s getting worseMore

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Linda McNamara, Owner at Joe's Garage, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Derek thanks for this feedback we are obviously very disappointed with this as we pride ourselves on the service we deliver. (which through other social media platforms is excellent). I abit confused with the wait time (which after doing some research with the staff may...More

Reviewed 8 January 2024 via mobile

Came in one morning for brunch. Wasn’t too busy and we were seated right away. We were served by a lovely American lady. She sat us down and read out the special and what wasn’t available ect, she was AMAZING! Her customer service was 100/10!...The food was also very delicious! Will definitely be back! :)More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Linda McNamara, Owner at Joe's Garage, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2024

Hi Julia, sorry for the slow response but thanks so much for the very kind words, they are greatly appreciated. We love what we do and pride ourselves on our service. Hope to see you again in the future - we have past on your...More

Reviewed 29 March 2023

Best place in Town , best food, staff amazing! friendly staff always go above and beyond for their customers ! if you are thinking of visiting you wont be disappointed

Date of visit: January 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Linda McNamara, Owner at Joe's Garage, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2023

Thanks Cheryl as always for your kind words and for taking the time to review us. we dont always get it right but do try our best in this very competitive market., Hope to see you guys again next year,

Reviewed 19 February 2023

We arrived, it appeared reasonably quiet. Our meal was very slow to arrive 40 mins from ordering. The meal was fine with only the one criticism, the big breakfast came with mushrooms which was actually one mushroom diced into 5 slice's... DISAPPOINTING!More

Date of visit: February 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Linda M, Owner at Joe's Garage, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2023

Mark hi, thanks for your feedback. firstly i hope you would of been told there was a wait, as although we were not full at the time the tables we had all ordered burgers which takes time!!! And as for the mushrooms (i will take...More

Reviewed 24 January 2023 via mobile

When the blurb for a Caesar’s sealed says ‘grilled egg’ it’s a warning that management knows it’s chef can’t even poach an egg. Stupidly I ignored this and ordered one anyway. Cold stale croutons, hard and unedible. Shredded lettuce of a plain sort but not...Cos, which is necessary and claimed. Must have been some Parmesan I guess but couldn’t see it. Prepare generic tasting dressing. Pre cooked bits of bacon, no fresh rasher here. And the aforementioned grilled egg…which is actually a fried egg. Yuk. Staff friendly, coffee good.More

Date of visit: January 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Linda M, Owner at Joe's Garage, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2023

Firstly thanks for your feedback. We are a franchise so unfortunately do not poach eggs "has nothing to do with our chef not been unable to do this". There are several other comments that are incorrect but we have taken these comments on board anyway....More

Reviewed 23 January 2023 via mobile

Very busy morning bring a public holiday but we managed to get a table. We were advised if a half hour wait for food but I’m sure it came out faster than that. Great wait staff, fast friendly and efficient. We all thought the breakfast...was tasty and substantial. I enjoyed the mushrooms and hubby had the mince on toast. Our first visit to a Joes Garage and it won’t be out last going by today’s experience.More

Date of visit: January 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Linda M, Owner at Joe's Garage, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2023

Thanks guys for taking the time to do such a wonderful review!! we really appreciate your feedback and love looking after such lovely people like yourselves. we pride ourselves on our service and making people feel welcome. Hope to see you again in the future.

Reviewed 26 April 2022

Omg this would be the best place in town the staff food 😋 and service is outstanding ❤️ We would highly recommend you get down to joes garage you will not be disappointed 😃 see yah again in Feb P.s the best coffee ☕️More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Linda M, Owner at Joe's Garage, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2022

Thanks Cheryl for taking the time to review us with such wonderful kind words - we love the stock car teams champs and they are so good for Palmerston North (the people are so friendly) and like yourself good to have a chat with. Safe...More

Reviewed 31 March 2022 via mobile

Food was really nice and service is always great when I’ve been. I got the teddy best this time and it wasn’t really what I expected quite small. The joes chicken is always a winner and I love how they service beers on tapMore

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Linda M, Owner at Joe's Garage, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2022

Hi thanks for the wonderful review ,we pride ourselves on our service and have fantastic staff. thanks for the feedback, you should of been told that teddy best is half a chicken breast and quite small. I'm sure we will see you again in the...More

Reviewed 30 October 2021

Excellent meal, fabulous environment & very friendly welcoming staff. Ice Chocolate the Joker highly recommended

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Linda M, Owner at Joe's Garage, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2021

Thanks very much for the wonderful review, in challenging times like these,having great reviews makes all the difference. Hope to see you again in the future.

Reviewed 6 July 2021

I've been to several of these restaurants in New Zealand. They are reliable and always have good service. This one was no different with nice food and staff. We had the pikelets with banana, bacon and maple syrup. They were nice and it was good...to have a decent amount of syrup for pouring over the meal. It could be improved by cooking the banana to let it caramelise. We also shared chips and gravy. The chips had a nice flavour and the gravy was very good. Please get rid of the chips being served on a wooden board that has seen better days and has cutting marks all over it. There's a reason plates were invented and this is one of them! Always reliable and the prices are reasonable.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Linda M, Owner at Joe's Garage, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2021

Thanks for your feedback and kind words. We are a franchisee so do need to follow receipts set by Head office but will send your feedback. Am so glad our wonderful staff looked after you so well. hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 3 May 2021 via mobile

Great place , atmosphere is great !! Food amazing and fantastic staff all at a reasonable price !! We go most weekends

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Linda M, Owner at Joe's Garage, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2021

Hi Diana, sorry for the slow response. Thanks very much for your kind words - we love seeing your family and pride ourselves on making our regulars feel welcome. see you again soon.

Reviewed 12 April 2021 via mobile

The granola with coconut yoghurt and berries is delicious and the perfect way to start your day. Really funky friendly place with a great menu to chose from. Really want to go back to try some other foodie options.

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Linda M, Owner at Joe's Garage, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2021

Thanks for the wonderful review, and for taking the time to do it. we Love what we do have wonderful staff and pride ourselves on our service. Hope to see you again in the future

Reviewed 4 April 2021 via mobile

Lunch here was awesome, the meals were awesome and the coffee good. The staff were very enthusiastic asking if everything was ok, perhaps 6 times during our meal was a bit over the top as it made eating without trying to talk thru a mouthful...of food hard, but shows a keenness to check on the customer and i did give 4 stars regardless. You cannot fault the food here, and the environment was awesome- from the spanner style door handles, to the large tables and the memorabilia around the walls, it gives you an experience from the moment you walk in the door. We were given a 30min wait time for a meal, and given a public holiday that’s fair, but our meals were served in under 15 minutes which was VERY impressive!More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Linda M, Owner at Joe's Garage, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2021

Chris hi thanks for the wonderful review, have taken on board the feedback - have a few new girls and they just need to learn communication between each other, but if that' s all that is needed we are very lucky, to have wonderful staff...More

Reviewed 20 December 2020 via mobile

This is our weekly go-to for brunch and nowhere else compares. The staff are always friendly, cheerful and bubbly, and the food is top quality. I also really enjoy the aesthetic of the restaurant; it stands out from any other place in palmy.

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Christie Hal, Owner at Joe's Garage, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2020

Well what can we say.....thanks so much for the fantastic review!! We love what we do and always try and make our customers feel welcome and part of the place. see you again soon.

Reviewed 20 December 2020 via mobile

We love the Garage. Joe’s is our local brunch spot, we come every week and wouldn’t be without it. The staff are awesome and the food is really homely. Atmosphere is relaxed and welcoming.

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Christie Hal, Owner at Joe's Garage, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2020

Thanks so much for taking the time to give us such a fantastic review. We love what we do and pride ourselves on making people feel like part of the family. See you again soon.

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Kiwi Studios Motel
109 reviews
.04 km away
Broadway Motor Inn
47 reviews
.35 km away
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
211 reviews
.70 km away
Cornwall Motor Lodge
245 reviews
.72 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Nero Restaurant
527 reviews
.12 km away
Little Savanna
309 reviews
.04 km away
Saigon Corner
184 reviews
.10 km away
Aberdeen
176 reviews
.09 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Te Manawa Museum of Art, Science & Heritage
240 reviews
.82 km away
New Zealand Rugby Museum
197 reviews
.82 km away
Palmerston North isite
109 reviews
.40 km away
Palmerston North Clock Tower
180 reviews
.41 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Joe's Garage staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

JOE'S GARAGE, Palmerston North - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions about Joe's Garage

Yes, Joe's Garage offers takeaway services.

Yes, Joe's Garage is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Joe's Garage is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 3.5