Speight's Ale House Palmerston North

Speight's Ale House Palmerston North

Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
+64 6-355 3482+ Add website
Hours
Sun
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Mon
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Tue
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Wed
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Thu
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Fri
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Sat
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Improve this listing
Ratings and reviews
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Travellers' Choice 2020

RATINGS
Food
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Atmosphere
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Details
Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
PRICE RANGE
$9 – $21
CUISINES
Bar, Gastropub, New Zealand
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
meals, features
Is this restaurant good for lunch?
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles403 reviews
Excellent
118
Very good
147
Average
82
Poor
32
Terrible
24
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

Dean E
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2023 family
They were horrible to my family for having a dog outside who is a member of our family. Refused to give our dog water, and is not a dog friendly place. Told us our dog had to get off the premises.
Written 20 October 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bernice Adlam
Thank you for your review. We are sorry we did not recognise your dog as a member of your family. Did you include your dog in your booking numbers? To date we have never recognised dogs as members of a family. Is it your experience that all restaurants allow dogs inside on-premises? I have done some research for you there are a number of Palmy restaurants that still do not allow fury members of family on premises, and you would be asked to remove your dog from these restaurants also. I think it will be a good idea if you rang and checked before assuming. This will save you any confusion. Thank you Bernice Owner
Written 27 March 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Coastal64901569371
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2023 family
Friendly staff, busy, busy night! Enjoyable meals. As a wheel chair user it is worth noting has very easy parking and access. Sliding door to bathroom a rare treat making access easy. Out table had great placement in restaurant for chair access. (I had advised when booking).
Written 19 August 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Melissa N
Hamilton4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2023 friends
Excellent service and fabulous food. Great selection of food on the menu and reasonably priced. Will definitely go again when back in Palmerston North
Written 13 August 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Janine F
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2023 business
Very poor customer service. I was with a large group of work male colleagues who were all happy to order large lunch meals. I had been unwell, and don't typically eat a big meal like that for lunch. I quietly went and discreetly asked a waitress, as to not make a scene, if it would be possible to order a smaller meal from the bar menu. I was told that if I wanted something off that menu then I'd have to sit at a leaner on the other side of the building. This would have left me to eat of my own, making a spectacle of myself. I then asked if I could just order a smaller meal off the kids menu, and was told I was not under 12, so No! My next solution was to ask if I could have a half meal. I was told yes, but I'd have to pay full price. I ended up ordering a full meal and wasting over half of this. I also ordered a drink to have with the meal....I'm still waiting for this. Come on people. Was it really that big of a deal that you couldn't accommodate one person with a smaller meal from the bar menu and allow me to eat it with fellow work mates who were all spending a lot of money?
Written 22 June 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Richard B
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2023 none
Food was very nice, great atmosphere and service was fantastic. Haven't had that level of service at a restaurant for awhile. Will definitely be back
Written 29 April 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Grant T
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2023 none
Go here whenever in Palmy. Great ambience and service Had Thai beef salad absolutely mouth watering and good price starter garlic bread loaf hot crisp and fresh. Friendly service.Well worth a call in here for a great experience Grant
Written 5 April 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Compass39528940004
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2023 none
Great spot, quick service, not in your face , waited for us all to finish dinner before clearing plates.
Written 17 March 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Meander697622
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2023 family
Had one of the worst experiences in our dining out history tonight. The place was not busy when we arrived but we wanted somewhere quiet to do some paperwork prior to dinner. We preferred upstairs but were told emphatically that if we went there we had to eat from the main menu - NO SNACKS - main menu only !! We were asked a couple of times if we were ready to order and I said no I would let them know - we had sone stuff to do. About half an hour after sitting and ordering drinks and working we were told that we had to order as we had to be in and out in an hour and a half -all up. no the table wasn’t reserved but the waitstaff said everyone had to be in and out within an hour and a half in case other people wanted to come in and eat !!!what the …????? The table wasn’t reserved we just had to hurry up in case ! Table turnover is way more important than customer service, hospitality and reason - no one came in and needed that table. We discussed leaving cos frankly that was appalling hospitality but ordered as we were too tired to pack up and go elsewhere - we should have. We asked if the Caesar salad could be done with chicken, told yes, ordered it, was queried by different wait staff and told she didn’t think that could be done but we told her we’d been told it could - at least 45 mins later we had the meals delivered sans chicken and when queried were told it couldn’t be/wasn’t served that way. We advised that we did check first. A few staff conversations later and some queries about who told us that and we were asked if we still wanted the chicken and well - hell yes - cos that’s what we ordered. One staff said ot would takeabout 1 minute, one said 7 minutes - it was at least 20 minutes - salad was eaten by then. A replacement meal, Caesar with chicken was delivered and they kindly offered to doggy bag it which we did. Not charged for meal nor for 2 drinks due to the Long wait for our meals. During this debacle I asked to speak to the manager but he didn’t show us the courtesy of giving us his time. So rude. So disappointing.
Written 15 March 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bernice Adlam
Hi Mean der I am very disappointed to read your complaint. We like to keep our tables free for dinners who would like to eat off the main menu. If you wanted to have snack you were very welcome to sit in the Bar area. We pride ourselves in hospitality and have ran a successful business for the past 14 years. One of our very new staff members made a mistake advising you that chicken came the Caesar (it used to but we changed it in recent times) We apologised for this error on the night and shouted you a free round of drinks and there was no charge for the two Salads. We appreciated this created a problem for you but I am very surprised you never mentioned our efforts to put the mistake right. It is important when writing a review to tell the full story. Notes from our Manager on the night stated you were an "Angry Woman", even after we had apologised and provided free drinks and salads. You had a couple of staff in tears with your poor behaviour, not sure we are the place for you in the future. Bernice Adlam Owner
Written 12 April 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Taratat
Te Awamutu281 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2023 family
We arrived without a reservation and the restaurant was very busy, but the staff managed to fit us in after a five minute wait. Ribs were tasty and a generous serving as well as the lambs fry and bacon. I washed mine down with my favourite gin. Staff were super helpful and friendly.
Written 22 January 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BerniceAdlam
Hi Taratat Thanks for the great review. The lambs fry and bacon has a big following from our customers. Great to hear you enjoyed the Ribs too Regards Bernice and Tim
Written 30 January 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Penny
Whanganui15 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2022 family
The waitress was just lovely. They said it was just her 4th day and she was a natural. The food was excellent and there was plenty of it
Written 10 December 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BerniceAdlam
Hi Venture Thanks you for the 5 stars. Very pleased to hear you were well looked after and you enjoyed your food with us. Regards Bernice and Tim
Written 30 January 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Ian Atkinson
Auckland16 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2022 business
Very friendly staff and great service, food came out in a good time and was very nice, bar was well stocked and had some great beers and wines, good night and thanks to all the staff, I know hospitality places can have staffing issues but this place didn’t seem that way, great service
Written 27 October 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BerniceAdlam
Hi Ia380 Thanks for your review and thank you for the 5 stars. We have been working hard to get our staffing levels back up. Please you had a great night out with us Regards Bernice and Tim
Written 30 January 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Subs
3 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2022 none
Went there Saturday night order food which took 90 minutes to arrive 1 steak,2 burgers and a schnitzel dinners ,would of been great if service team had told us there was going to be such a big delay on getting served also the cooking of food seemed to be rushed burgers were dry and very small portion of chips for what you pay for this is not the first time but last time we will be going there very poor.
Written 3 April 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BerniceAdlam
Sorry to hear you were disappointed with your meals - obviously not what we are trying to achieve. We will review this with our chef team Regards Bernice and Tim
Written 30 January 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

kriskris83
Wellington117 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2022 solo
Can’t go wrong with any speights ale house. The onion rings were delish and the main dishes very large. Wasn’t a fan of sitting in the “bar” area. Would much rather have sat in the restaurant which was weird as it was very quiet. I didn’t however ask.
Written 30 March 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BerniceAdlam
Hi Kriskris83 Thank you for the 4 stars - great you enjoyed your onion rings. Please feel free to ask next time if there is a table free in the restaurant. If your looking for a small table for 1 or 2, it pays to book as these tables get taken quickly and there is a limited number of them Thanks again Bernice and Tim
Written 30 January 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Bronnyjames
3 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2022 none
Staff nice and friendly. It took the kitchen 40 minutes to cook our meal, which is not acceptable due to us being first in the restaurant. When we complained we were offered a free drink that was declined. I think our meal was forgotten about while kitchen staff were dealing with pub meals. Would probably not go back due to poor kitchen service.
Written 12 February 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BerniceAdlam
Hi LPsMum We are sorry you felt you waited too long - but it is difficult to establish why. It may have been what you ordered- it could have had a long cook time etc. What we also don't know is how busy it was in our outside dinning area or in the bar - All of these areas order meals and our outside dinning has been very busy with this great spell of weather we have had. The best idea is to give us a call and disuss your concerns. We make everything on our menu from scratch - so quality product does take time to get out sometimes if we are busy. Thanks for writing to us Bernice
Written 16 February 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Kerry Ngaire M
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2022 none
I enjoyed the chefs special (beef rib) for lunch today and it was superb. The meat was sublime, cooked to perfection, placed on a bed of deliciously delicate mashed kumara and accompanied by exquisite miniature onion rings and mushroom gravy. But there is more, the service was excellent, just the right amount of attentiveness, information and graciousness (beyond your years) Matthew. Well done for a young man delivering service in such a first class professional and personal way. Your service made my experience in Bernice’s (the owner) restaurant absolutely worth the visit. If you want first class dining, first class food and first class service, put this place on your “must do” list.
Written 6 January 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BerniceAdlam
Thank you for this amazing reivew - really appreciated it Bernice and Tim
Written 16 February 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-15 of 401
Best moderately priced restaurants
See all
Little Savanna
$$ - $$$ · Steakhouse, International
Haru Japanese Restaurant
$$ - $$$ · Japanese, Sushi, Asian
Cafe Brie
$$ - $$$ · French, Cafe, European, Contemporary
Barista
$$ - $$$ · Cafe, European, New Zealand
Yeda
$$ - $$$ · Japanese, Asian, Thai, Singaporean
The Fat Farmer
$$ - $$$ · European
Cafe Royale
$$ - $$$ · Cafe, International, Contemporary, New Zealand
The Elm Cafe
$$ - $$$ · Cafe, European, New Zealand
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

SPEIGHT'S ALE HOUSE PALMERSTON NORTH - Restaurant Reviews, Phone Number & Photos

All Palmerston North HotelsPalmerston North Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Palmerston North
Things to Do
All Palmerston North RestaurantsRestaurants near Speight's Ale House Palmerston North
FlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire