We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

PRICE RANGE
$10 - $30
CUISINES
Cafe, New Zealand
Meals
Dinner
Reviews (62)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
56 results
Traveller rating
14
6
7
8
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
14
6
7
8
21
See what travellers are saying:
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

One meal missing, then rushed through uncooked, one meal missing the extras ordered. Food tasty though. Coffee v watery… they are really under the pump… shame

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

I bought a ham cheese tomato sandwich, which I didn't eat. His bread was very soft. I then had a chocolate drink that had no taste.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sarah Greaney, Owner at Hollyford Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that your experience in our cafe wasn't to the standard we wish to deliver. Our sandwiches are all made freshly each morning and so I wonder if it was the tomato that made the bread soft. I...More

Reviewed 5 January 2024

The worst Belgian waffle ever! Totally dry, cut in and it fell to crumbs. My wife's eggs were overcooked to almost dry. I can only imagine that a rare steak in here would be like shoe leather.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sarah Greaney, Owner at Hollyford Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2024

Thank you for your review and bringing these matters to our attention. We would have been happy to remake your meals if we had known about it at the time as we do pride ourselves in producing quality meals for our customers. I will raise...More

Reviewed 8 November 2023

We stayed in Te Anau last night and had breakfast at the Hollyford Cafē this morning, with our group of friends. The staff were friendly and efficient and our Bacon and Eggs, plus excellent coffee, arrived very promptly. There were lots of choices on the...menu and cabinet food as well. Highly recommend!More

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sarah Greaney, Owner at Hollyford Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2023

Hi Yambio Thanks so much for your kind review. We love to host groups here at the Hollyford Cafe and so I'm really pleased you enjoyed your coffee and breakfast. Best wishes and safe travels Sarah

Reviewed 30 October 2023

we bought some goodies for our road trip to Stewart Island. We had the blueberry muffin and the date scones. both were perfect in taste and texture. nice customer service and friendly advice.

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sarah Greaney, Owner at Hollyford Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2023

Hi Joel Thanks for taking time to post a review. We're delighted that you stopped by and that our team gave you their friendly Fiordland welcome and that you enjoyed the home baking. All the best for your travels and adventures Sarah & John

Reviewed 2 June 2023

Three buses arrived at the same time as our tour group. The restaurant was however more than competent to cope with the crowd. Extremely well organised - perhaps more so than any other we visited. Coffee at a perfect temperature and accompanying foods very tasty...and again, at the right temperature. In store, souvenirs and clothing range amongst the best in the land of the long white cloud”More

Date of visit: March 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sarah Greaney, Owner at Hollyford Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2023

Hi Terry. Thank you very much for your kind words. We are delighted that you had a great experience in our complex. Our team does work hard to make sure that everyone gets good coffee, tasty food and the opportunity to buy quality souvenirs to...More

Reviewed 23 April 2023

We ordered a pumpkin soup, which was served in a take away cup similar to take away coffee. When we got the soup we opened the lid to find that it was less then half full!. My wife spoke to an older lady to check...that they had not made a mistake but was bluntly told that is the serve amount. Sound trivial but it was disappointing. The service as well as the serve was a big let down.More

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sarah Greaney, Owner at Hollyford Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2023

Thank you for your feedback and bring this issue to our attention. I apologise for the lack of service that you received on this occasion as this is not how we usually present food to our customers. You should definitely have received a full portion...More

Reviewed 5 April 2023 via mobile

Where do I start. A beautiful lakeside town, looking forward to a nice cooked breakfast and a coffee after reading the blackboard. Misleading to say the least. No cooked breakfast due to a bus run. I select a pie, and couldn’t eat it, dry, rock...hard. The staff were friendly except the one I pointed it out wasn’t remotely interested. If you are a bus/truck stop takeaway with food only in a warmer suggest this don’t pretend to be a friendly cafe.More

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
NZTraveller20, Owner at Hollyford Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2023

Hi Tony. Thank you for your feedback. We are absolutely a friendly cafe and we do receive great feedback for our coffee and breakfasts. We are sorry that you didn't get to experience this. Like many businesses in New Zealand we have experienced significant challenges...More

Reviewed 10 February 2023 via mobile

Visited here for an afternoon coffee when we arrived in Te Anau. It was so good we went back the day after. Despite being short staffed the staff were great.

Date of visit: February 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 January 2023 via mobile

This cafe made a nice change to all the places serving chips, burgers and more chips. So nice to walk into somewhere that didn’t reek of chip fat! Had delicious frittata and chicken panini. Coffee was good too and a nice range of cakesMore

Date of visit: January 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
NZTraveller20, Owner at Hollyford Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2023

Hi Julie. Many thanks for taking time to post a review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your experience with us. I will pass your message on to the team - we make the frittata in house so this will make their day. Best wishes...More

Reviewed 25 October 2022

Nice and short wait. I absolutely loved the toasted sandwiches. I ordered two. They were absolutely delicious. I loved the colour and the appearance of the sandwiches and they looked appetising.

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sarah G, Other at Hollyford Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2022

Thanks for taking time to post a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your toasties. Happy travels and best wishes Sarah & the Hollyford Cafe team.

Reviewed 26 April 2022

A long wait for a burger that was tasteless and barely warmer than room temperature, plus stewed tea that was strong enough to stand a teaspoon up in. Clean toilets.

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 January 2022

Ordered 2 eggs Benedict with bacon and after 45 minutes still didn’t have the food so went to check and was told it was going to be another 10 minutes as they were making another order. After an extra 15 minutes and watching other people...that arrived after us get their food only 1 Eggs Benedict was brought out and I was told they ran out of spinach for the other one. Wait staff attitude seemed like they didn’t care, no offer of a partial refund or even a free drink to possibly compensate. No apology either. Food was below average and not even worth the wait. Would not recommendMore

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sarah G, Other at Hollyford Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2022

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that you had this experience with us as this is not the standard of service we expect to deliver. By way of explanation, this was an extremely busy weekend for us and we acknowledge that we were...More

Reviewed 22 July 2021

There was limited staff on and we had to wait for quite a while until someone served us, even though we were the only ones there. Small range of average food. It was rainy but as we had a dog we had to sit outside,...there were hardly any seats available, they were all stacked up. Staff were ok, but not super friendly.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 May 2021 via mobile

Very friendly service, good coffee, and good value breakfasts. I got the big breakfast, and my wife got the eggs benedict.

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
840 reviews
.09 km away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
1,052 reviews
.33 km away
Asure Explorer Motel Te Anau
343 reviews
.39 km away
Alpine View Motel
233 reviews
.39 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Ditto
384 reviews
.13 km away
Sandfly Cafe
1,261 reviews
.17 km away
Redcliff Restaurant & Bar
2,003 reviews
.15 km away
Miles Better Pies
1,084 reviews
.19 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Te Anau Glowworm Caves
2,569 reviews
.27 km away
Te Anau Fiordland isite Visitor Information Centre
106 reviews
.22 km away
GreatSights
6 reviews
.02 km away
Kiwi Country
6 reviews
.03 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Hollyford Cafe staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

HOLLYFORD CAFE, Te Anau - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions about Hollyford Cafe

Yes, Hollyford Cafe offers takeaway services.

Hollyford Cafe is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 2.5
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 2.5