We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About
Contemporary café/restaurant open for breakfast , lunch & dinner Fully licensed with friendly table service 4 tap beers Lots of vegan choices with a dedicated menu on Thursday Friday & Saturday nights
PRICE RANGE
US$9 - US$29
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
CUISINES
Cafe, New Zealand, Contemporary
FEATURES
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Wine and Beer, Gift Cards Available
Reviews (860)
Filter reviews
836 results
Traveller rating
430
279
85
21
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
430
279
85
21
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brunch breakfast burrito corn fritters french toast pancakes salmon tapas burger great coffee big breakfast gluten free options friendly service new zealand brekkie vegan qt yum
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Wonderful menu with lots of variety for everyone. The service was excellent especially on Sunday but yes we went again several mornings for breakfast. The coffee is good too.

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stunning food. We went for an early dinner and had starters and mains. Everything was delicious and reasonably priced. It's just out of the main street so it's much quieter than a lot of other places.

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had just got off the plane from Wellington and headed into town for a couple of hours while we waited for our accomodation to be ready. We saw Halo so went in for brunch and were really glad we did. Delicious, great surroundings and...really nice service from the staff for us and our three children. I would highly recommend this place to others.More

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

First stop in QT and we hit a gem, food was absolutely 💯 👌, massive portion and cooked to perfection the burrito i order stayed hot right until the last bite, oat milk coffee on the menu and made to order was a perfect combination........Highly recommend this little gemMore

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 15 December 2020 via mobile

Just had our delicious breakfast here today!! Thanks for treating our allergy boy with the best gf vegan french toast! ❤️❤️❤️

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?
Bruce G, Owner at Halo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Glad you enjoyed this . It is very popular Bruce

Reviewed 13 December 2020

About 10 years since we were last here and the standard hasn't changed at all. Still the same excellent service, highly recommended

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?
Bruce G, Owner at Halo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thanks for your kind words. We try our best At Halo to make this happen Bruce

Reviewed 9 December 2020

Usually love this place and the food they have to offer! However on my last visit I ordered the vegan french toast (usually love) and wanted a small side of mascarpone, was even willing to pay extra. I understand that this wasn’t Vegan but however...find it a bit horrible that I could over hear the chef from my seat make fun of my request. Considering that this wasn’t a big ask on my part, I am felt rather disappointed.More

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?
Bruce G, Owner at Halo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

I have just written personally to you as this is not the case at all. You overheard wrongly across the restaurant what the chef said to the waitress about charging for mascarpone. It wasnt somehow as you think about making fun of anything So i...More

Reviewed 28 November 2020

Went to Queenstown for breakfast. Waited for quite some time for beverage and food order to be taken. We were one meal short when served, it had been not been input in to the system. Overall the service was poor and we won't be going...back.More

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?
BruceG1481, General Manager at Halo, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2020

Yes that is correct You were one meal short You were not prepared to wait for us to fix our mistake We offered you free drink while you waited but hey apparently not good enough but you are now the keyboard warrior So we tried...More

Reviewed 12 November 2020 via mobile

What a great time we had here. Food and service are top. We came breakfast and we had to comeback for dinner. My friend and I we really enjoy the food. Well presented and amazing flavours. Coffee is one of the best I have had...in South Island. We will come back.More

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?
BruceG1481, Owner at Halo, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2020

Thanks for your comments glad you liked Halo so much

Reviewed 25 October 2020 via mobile

We go to Halo everyday for breakfast when we are on holiday there as it has the best menu, great staff & indoor/outdoor seating for all weather. Def recommend to anyone. The lunch & dinner menu is also amazing. Smashed avo with salmon is my...hubby’s fav!More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
BruceG1481, Owner at Halo, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2020

Cheers for your comments Great to hear

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Spire Hotel Queenstown
209 reviews
.06 km away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
3,828 reviews
.11 km away
The Glebe Apartments
629 reviews
.16 km away
The Central by Naumi Hotels
608 reviews
.16 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Blue Kanu
1,638 reviews
.11 km away
@Thai - Thai Cuisine
589 reviews
.07 km away
Yonder
603 reviews
.10 km away
Balls and Bangles
248 reviews
.11 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
In The Pink Flower Company
12 reviews
.13 km away
St Peter's Anglican Church
66 reviews
.03 km away
Artbay Gallery
21 reviews
.14 km away
Silver Fern Gallery
13 reviews
.07 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Halo staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing