We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews



New Zealand, European
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (171)
Filter reviews
163 results
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Traveller rating
Show reviews that mention
All reviews snapper soup fries venison lake wakatipu excellent lunch yummy food glenorchy nz trailing platter
Selected filters
Updating list...
Reviewed 5 April 2021

Enjoyed nice cooked breakfast before heading off on tramping trip. Friendly staff happy to share history off the area. Worth going there and would help the business in these quieter times.

Date of visit: March 2021
Toni Glover, Owner at Kinloch Wilderness Retreat Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2021

Thanks for leaving a review, we really appreciate it.

Reviewed 7 March 2021

I haven't seen GST not included in menu prices since 1986! The fact that prices are not noted as "prices exclude GST"", it's not only rude but also illegal.

Date of visit: March 2021
Toni Glover, Owner at Kinloch Wilderness Retreat Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2021

We don't have prices without GST anywhere, we're very confused by this review. When we invoice guests our accounting system separates out the GST but none of our prices anywhere are without GST. Sorry if this wasn't clear.

Reviewed 5 January 2021 via mobile

This place is in the middle of nowhere - literally and it’s the only place there. Takes ages to get to! So if you drive there make sure you book in advance as you won’t get a warm welcome if you haven’t. We asked about...lunch. Flat no. Reservations only. Fair enough. Coffee then? No (mmm). Looked very nice though so we may try another day. However it certainly wasn’t the warm welcome we’ve received elsewhere in NZ in remote spots.More

Date of visit: January 2021
Reviewed 5 December 2020

A beautiful space to eat- indoors or outdoors both spaces are amazing. Excellent service. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: December 2020
Toni Glover, Owner at Kinloch Wilderness Retreat Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2020

Thank you so much!

Reviewed 5 June 2020

Great experience, courteous and thoughtful host, platters to die for, warmth, ambience and hospitality - what was there left to want? A special occasion loved by us all. Our thanks to Toni and John. It was so good.

Date of visit: May 2020
Reviewed 18 April 2020

Last placed that we visited as the lockdown occurred. We had just finished the Motatapu 52.5km Trail Run. Had a fantastic rest at Kinloch Lodge. Weather during this time was fantastic. We booked for dinner, we loved the food and hospitality shown by the staff....Great tips on your website regarding repellent spray. Great walk along the river during the afternoon. The road had just been graded a little, so not bad. Overall, we enjoyed our stay. Would have loved to stay in one of the ecoscapes but, unfortunately all booked.More

Date of visit: March 2020
Reviewed 12 March 2020

Booked for tea at 645pm , arrived 655pm , was told we only booked for cup of tea , we wanted a meal apparently due to language barrier this is called dinner .Was told maybe if there before 7pm we could if got something, we...couldn't be served any food except chips . sign says serving between 5pm and 730pm with reservation , we thought we had done this, very dissapointingMore

Date of visit: March 2020
Reviewed 15 February 2020

Having driven all the way round to lovely Kinloch and on a rough gravel road, the cafe was closed during the day when tourists are on the go and would appreciate these facilities. This was not the case on a previous visit when the cafe...produced delicious homemake cakes and good coffee as well as a warm Kiwi welcome. Come on!More

Date of visit: January 2020
Reviewed 8 February 2020

Right on the lake with outdoor tables, excellent service, a good menu, and reasonably good food, though not extraordinary. We'd definitely go back.

Date of visit: January 2020
Reviewed 18 January 2020

A good quality YHA with lovely pub restaurant at its heart. There’s great camaraderie to be had in the communal kitchen if you’re cooking for yourselves - guests from all over the globe. And there are many walks of all grades to suit all levels...of fitness!More

Date of visit: January 2020
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Matakauri Lodge
327 reviews
30.47 km away
Nugget Point, A THC Group Hotel
751 reviews
30.56 km away
Swiss-Belresort Coronet Peak
369 reviews
30.56 km away
Kamana Lakehouse
550 reviews
31.28 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Trading Post
180 reviews
2.79 km away
Glenorchy Cafe - The GYC Restaurant
599 reviews
2.83 km away
Glenorchy Hotel Ltd Restaurant
202 reviews
2.98 km away
Queenie's Dumplings Glenorchy
28 reviews
2.82 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Glenorchy Animal Experience
323 reviews
3.99 km away
Glenorchy Lagoon Boardwalk
267 reviews
2.77 km away
Glenorchy Waterfront Reserve
51 reviews
2.74 km away
Mt Judah Track
9 reviews
5.82 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Kinloch Wilderness Retreat Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Kinloch Wilderness Retreat Restaurant

Kinloch Wilderness Retreat Restaurant is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5