We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Food and ambience

Grill, New Zealand, French, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, View, Groups, Business meetings
About
Eichardt’s Grille offers a fresh take on quality dining in Queenstown. Serving home-grown, free-range and locally sourced produce is at the forefront of an authentic menu and dining experience. With a sophisticated interior, reminiscent of New York City bistros and genial French brasseries, create memorable experiences in the mere footsteps of the shores of Lake Wakatipu. Eichardt’s Grille offers traditional French fare from breakfast to dinner. Your new favourite local dining experience awaits.
PRICE RANGE
US$10 - US$54
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
CUISINES
Grill, New Zealand, French
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Waterfront
Reviews (540)
Filter reviews
520 results
Traveller rating
264
107
63
48
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
264
107
63
48
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews seafood chowder steak fries lake wakatipu our waiter set menu cooked to perfection dining experience pinot noir lakefront sides qt nz
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 22 March 2022

Recently visited Eichardts Grill, menu is very limited but gave it a try as have had drinks there. That was a mistake! I ordered a hamburger which was just ok as the bun was cold not even warm. Wife ordered a steak cooked medium at...$48, when it came out it was rare to medium rare, so sent it back. The next steak came out quickly so i guess it was straight out of the fridge and not even rested like a steak should be. Again the 2nd steak was not only rare to medium rare again it was also sinewy. Again apologies from the waiter who turned out to be the restaurant Manager, who did say he can get my wife another steak but I had finished my burger and wife was a little bit angry with TWO steaks undercooked and the chances of getting a third one right was nil! Too late!! There was no pressure as the place was almost empty. The chef in that place should be doing dishes not cooking, especially in a high end hotel where room prices start at over a $1000 per night, apologies aren't good enough.More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
92CMA, General Manager at Eichardt's Grille, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2022

Dear Randwick69 I am very sorry to hear you had a terrible experience, there is no excuse the steak should be cooked correctly every time and I do apologies on behalf of my team. Your experience is one which I am not proud and I...More

Reviewed 2 March 2022

Negative reviews are not usually part of our travel experiences. We had looked forward to this evening out for a long time. The meal started well - the French Onion Soup was divine and had we stopped there it would have been a great meal....Then came the mains - chosen from reduced menu because of Covid Rules. Not the most inspiring choices but every dish was served with a huge bowl of Chips. So 4 people sat around the table each with this oversized serving of boring plain chips. Most off putting. Talk about an appetite killer!!More

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?
92CMA, General Manager at Eichardt's Grille, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2022

Dear AnsEri38 Thank you for taking the time to send your feedback. I was happy to see you enjoyed our French Onion Soup and we are looking forward to bringing back our full menu soon. I hope that you will revisit soon so we can...More

Reviewed 27 February 2022

Very looking forward to eating here as we were told the chef at our other favorite restaurant had moved here so looking forward to trying his food. Greeted warmly by who I think was the manager however our waiter was shocking. Indian fellow with a...beard, acted extremely rudely from the second we sat down. He didn't want to be there clearly and made us feel the same.More

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?
92CMA, General Manager at Eichardt's Grille, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2022

Hi 599regani Regani, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I was happy to see that you had a great welcoming experience, We do pride ourselves on listening to our guests and have addressed the behavior from our waiter when looking after...More

Reviewed 3 February 2022

Atmosphere was nice, and the staff were really good but was disappointed in the main steak we had, I expected a lot better for $48 than a very chewy average bit of steak and fries. The entrees were delicious though but again seemed a bit...pricey for what it was. I’ve had better food around Queenstown for less.More

Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?
92CMA, General Manager at Eichardt's Grille, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2022

Hi 322Rich We are sorry to hear that you had a negative experience and appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your entrees and will feedback to the chefs regarding the Steak. Hopefully you'll visit us...More

Reviewed 20 January 2022

Exceptional food + service for our team dinner. Highly recommend for both business and social. A Queenstown gem.

Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?
92CMA, General Manager at Eichardt's Grille, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2022

Hi Poppyg77 Thank you for your great feedback, I will be sure to pass onto the team. Warm Regards, James

Reviewed 19 January 2022

A $48 steak dish was more like a $25 pub meal. It should have been labelled A mains of fries with a side of steak` Also the,entre of seafood chowder is grossly misleading as its not a half size but a chowder without the prawn,...scallop or clams which you get if you order it as a main.. that is just wrong and is deliberately ripping customers off.More

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?1  
92CMA, General Manager at Eichardt's Grille, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2022

Hi Peter, We are sorry to hear that you had a negative experience and appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback. I have spoken to the Head chef about your comments regarding the Steak and seafood chowder. Warm regards James

Reviewed 2 January 2022 via mobile

We had an excellent Christmas Lunch here. We thought the set menu was good and we enjoyed all the dishes we ordered. They had a very good drinks menu and the service was excellent. Overall a very enjoyable experience

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?
92CMA, General Manager at Eichardt's Grille, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2022

Thank you for your feedback and I am glad you enjoyed Xmas with us Warm Regards James

Reviewed 26 December 2021

Overpriced & underwhelming. Turkey entree was tough& chewy. Champagne ham was so dry. Staff were friendly & efficient but totally overstaffed. Sorry guys but a huge improvement needed.

Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 28 November 2021

Didn't take entertainment voucher said it was for next door, over priced small average meal Next door Prime restaurant welcomed us with the voucher and they were awesome

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 13 November 2021

Great service. Smiling, happy, polite staff. I had to ask them to make my dish extra saucy and they happily appliged. Nothing was a problem.

Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Eichardt's Private Hotel
346 reviews
.03 km away
The Spire Hotel Queenstown
213 reviews
.11 km away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
3,884 reviews
.15 km away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa
1,897 reviews
.25 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Blue Kanu
1,950 reviews
.06 km away
Taco Medic (Searle Lane)
1,316 reviews
.03 km away
Winnies
2,146 reviews
.06 km away
Eichardt's Bar
1,018 reviews
.02 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Lake Wakatipu
1,077 reviews
.06 km away
Queenstown Gardens
3,362 reviews
.03 km away
In The Pink Flower Company
12 reviews
.09 km away
Time Tripper Queenstown
60 reviews
.07 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Eichardt's Grille staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Eichardt's Grille

Eichardt's Grille is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5