We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Bar, New Zealand
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Dinner, Lunch
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (201)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
191 results
Traveller rating
87
55
26
14
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
87
55
26
14
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coconut chicken steak ribs seafood chowder light drinks pink panther great family meal extensive menu excellent food and service
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 9 April 2024

Beautiful old building situated in the railway station so very easy to find Great choice of food and drinks - we came for drinks only the day before and were treated respectfully then the next evening for food. Only slight problem was the guy on...reception told us the kitchen was closed and he would have to check if they could serve us.... The manager came straight out and apologised as no such thing so we were happy as had nice food Would go back if ever that side of the world againMore

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dylan Frewin, Other at Cobb & Co. Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2024

Hi Denise, thank you for sharing your experience with us. We're glad to hear you enjoyed the food and drinks at our location. We apologize for any confusion with the kitchen hours and appreciate your understanding. We hope to see you again if you're ever...More

Reviewed 29 March 2024

Great meal. Loved the cute robo-servers. Loved the Traffic Light drink, the Pork Belly and the Prawn Cocktail. My family loves coming here and you are always guaranteed a table in the large comfortable restaurant. I am really glad we have this option in Dunedin...and for a guaranteed quality lunch at a reasonable price.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dylan Frewin, Other at Cobb & Co. Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2024

Hi Stewixnz! Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your meal and the unique atmosphere of our restaurant. We're so glad to be your family's go-to spot for a quality lunch at a reasonable price in Dunedin....More

Reviewed 7 March 2024

Pleasing variety on the menu. The service by Campbell (a university student) was fantastic! Easily the best waiter service I have had EVER in NZ. He was polite, efficient, helpful and certainly positively added to my experience there! Thank you. MichaelMore

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dylan Frewin, Other at Cobb & Co. Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2024

We are thrilled to hear about your exceptional experience with Campbell! Our team takes pride in providing top-notch service and we are glad to hear that it made a positive impact on your visit. Thank you for choosing us and we look forward to welcoming...More

Reviewed 4 March 2024 via mobile

Arriving in Dunedin, we were all rather Hungary. So my girl said Cobb and Co. Ok, sounds good. I'm extremely pleased for that choice as, when we got there we were welcomed as tho we were old friends, but without the presence. The lady smartly...took us to a table (of which we had not previously booked), and we sat. This young gentleman (Campbell) then came and took our drinks order etc. They arrived on the robot. Wow. Once the starters, etc, were sorted, we placed our mains, Campbell never missed a beat, and when something went wrong (which was out of his control) he promptly had the issue sorted over and above what was expected. My 11 year old boy fell in love with the robots that were transporting the meals to tables, which I have to say was pretty bloody cool. When we have the opportunity next, we will definitely be back there. The food, the staff, and the service were all impeccable. Thank you, Dunedin Cobb and Co.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dylan Frewin, Other at Cobb & Co. Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2024

Hi fender4les, thank you for taking the time to share your amazing experience at Dunedin Cobb and Co! We're thrilled to hear that Campbell provided such excellent service and that your family enjoyed the unique dining experience with the robots. We can't wait to welcome...More

Reviewed 15 February 2024

Great steak, great food, great service. Visiting from Australia and I hope we can come back before we leave. One star down due to slower service

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dylan Frewin, Other at Cobb & Co. Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2024

Thank you so much!

Reviewed 9 February 2024

Visit here usually once a week. Always have had great food, but the service for drinks is so slow. The last few visits we have had to go and get a refill from the bar. That's why they have lost a star

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dylan Frewin, Other at Cobb & Co. Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2024

Hi Bjc109, thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your loyalty and apologize for the slow drink service you've experienced. We'll work on improving our efficiency to ensure a seamless dining experience. Your continued support means a lot to us.

Reviewed 9 January 2024

Came in with a large group and had the most amazing lunch. Food was prompt and the drinks impressive. Luke the waiter was outstanding as well. He was funny, calm and compassionate. Great with all ages and really made our afternoon special. Capped off by...a robot Bella, everything was amazing. Thank you Cobb & Co!More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dylan Frewin, Other at Cobb & Co. Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2024

Hi Jon, thank you so much for your kind words! We're thrilled to hear that you had an amazing lunch with us. We're glad Luke provided exceptional service and made your afternoon special. We hope to welcome you back soon for another great experience. Thank...More

Reviewed 28 December 2023 via mobile

Loved the location. The railway station is amazing. Meals are basic but good. Only disappointment was the shrimp cocktail. They really need to use good size prawns even if it costs more. Service was excellent especially from our waiter Luke. Highly recommend.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dylan Frewin, Other at Cobb & Co. Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2023

Hi Ken, thank you for your feedback! We're glad you loved our location and enjoyed your meals. We appreciate your suggestion regarding the shrimp cocktail and will definitely take it into consideration. We're also happy to hear that Luke provided excellent service. Thanks for the...More

Reviewed 4 November 2023 via mobile

If I’d be the chef putting his ‘tick’ with a flag on the steak approving the cooking, then I would be very careful how it comes out of the kitchen. Luckily the serving robots kept us entertained to make up for it.

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dylan Frewin, Other at Cobb & Co. Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2023

Hi jdudiefj, thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your perspective and will take your comments into consideration. We're glad that our serving robots were able to make up for any shortcomings. We hope to provide an even better experience next time.

Reviewed 29 June 2023 via mobile

Enjoyed a birthday dinner at Cobb & Co with family & friends; as a large group with children, it works well. Short-staffed yet patient across all, thanks to the team. The food was well presented, good portions - no complaints there, particularly for a busy...Saturday eveningMore

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dylan Frewin, Other at Cobb & Co. Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2023

Thank you so much!

Reviewed 27 May 2023

What a beautiful place to dine in tonight they were so busy which did not slow our foods coming out/service - I went there with 8 other ladies and the service, portion of food/price was a 10/10- food was nice and hot and came out...quick! The robot that delivered our food was a bonus and definitely got all our attention . Staff were always checking in on us - we had the green room which had a beautiful set up! The staff member Mele who took extra care of us was amazing thank you so much we appreciate you and the other girls who were checking in as well we will be back again for our next group dinner ❤️ I highly recommend this place and already thinking of another event to celebrate here :) Thank you all once again the group of ladies I took to dine in at Cobb & co loved everything about it too! We Ordered all the different mains - coconut chicken was my favouriteMore

Date of visit: May 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dylan Frewin, Other at Cobb & Co. Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2023

Thank you so much! We really appreciate this review.

Reviewed 23 May 2023 via mobile

Went here as Cobb and co no longer in Auckland. The staff were excellent. Had the twice Cooked pork belly which was so good. Chicken Alexander was awesome. Great atmosphere

Date of visit: May 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 March 2023 via mobile

Arrived to see our table placement which was 3little tables and 1 big round one stuck to the end, I couldn’t see my grandparents who were put at the opposite end due to the tables being fully different sizes. Our waitress who came over was...lovely we couldn’t fault her at all although it seemed the blame was put on her for everything. It was very very clear “boss” lady didn’t speak to her staff nicely. After ordering our entree and mains half of the table got there entrees whilst the other half was still waiting for a good 5-10min, next thing the mains started getting plonked on the table even though some of us hadn’t even been given our entrees yet?? My entree and main came at the same time. This all felt extremely rushed and as if we were just to be in and out. There was clearly no communication between FOH & Kitchen at all. 4 out of the 10 of us left over half of our dinner, we are really not fussy people and this is so so disappointing especially for my sisters birthday. The roast pork is was completely burnt, 2x pasta meals were stone cold, nieces sausages for her meal were just ridiculously sad, nanas fish dripping in fat. Really sad to leave a review like this but we gobsmacked at what an experience it was. Hope to see some improvement for you guys.More

Date of visit: March 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Christine S, Owner at Cobb & Co. Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2023

Hi Team Crystal, We have a different perspective... but that is life. We wanted to put you all on one table so we used the Wagon Wheel added with some other tables...it's normally really popular. I'm the "Boss" lady and I never ever blame my...More

Reviewed 10 March 2023

We were tempted by the 2 course Senior Menu which looked excellent value, so we didn’t even check the reviews. We were so pleased with our choice as, not only was it excellent value, the food was delicious. The seafood chowder had large chunks of...fish, and the crispy capers sprinkled on the top were inspired. The roast pork was tender and the vegetables were cooked to perfection. The service was also excellent. All the staff were very attentive and couldn’t have done any more to make our dining experience the best we have had in Dunedin. Well done to the newest member of staff too - first day and already a true professional!More

Date of visit: March 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dylan F, Other at Cobb & Co. Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2023

Thanks so much!

Reviewed 28 February 2023 via mobile

. We ordered a beer and a Pina Colada; both were delayed because the on-tap pipes were being washed and someone had popped out to buy pineapple juice and wasn’t back yet. We said we’d wait. After about 5 minutes I went to ask for...water. After about another 10 minutes the beer arrived but still no sign of the pineapple juice so we skipped that. The waitress was very apologetic but she shouldn’t have to apologise for poor organisation of stock levels. We had squid starter. It was ok; a bit more chewy than you’d expect (I know seafood can be chewy sometimes) the batter was good, crispy and the sauces tasty and complimented the dish well. We both ordered the 300g steak, one rare and one med rare. They were both seriously overcooked. I ordered roast vegetables and was served warm (probably microwaved) roast potatoes and roasted sweet potato; I expected more variety, a few slices of capsicum and onion, perhaps. Overall, it was a nice experience not a great one. The waitress was attentive and polite; the music was subtle and very much appreciated; the venue was stunning but overcooked food, especially steak, is a travestyMore

Date of visit: February 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dylan F, Other at Cobb & Co. Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2023

Thank you so much for the fair and helpful review. We are sorry to let you down in the areas you mentioned, but we are encouraged some things that really matter to us were done well. A bit to work on here so thank you...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Law Courts Hotel
202 reviews
.20 km away
Leviathan Heritage Hotel
161 reviews
.26 km away
Quest Dunedin
246 reviews
.29 km away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
403 reviews
.34 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Prohibition Smokehouse
337 reviews
.38 km away
The Perc Cafe
552 reviews
.36 km away
Ironic Cafe and Bar
1,185 reviews
.09 km away
Best Cafe
490 reviews
.13 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Toitu Otago Settlers Museum
2,097 reviews
.30 km away
Dunedin Railway Station
3,427 reviews
.03 km away
Otago Farmers Market
249 reviews
.12 km away
First Church of Otago
290 reviews
.33 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
cerbyrusq
7 August 2018|
Answer
Response from Hungrybunnies |
some examples: xrated traffic light/pink panther for the adults with vodka $11.5 toblerone, bloody mary, margherita, pina colada $11.5
0
Votes
cerbyrusq
5 August 2018|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from John and Mary-J... C | Reviewed this property |
Lots as you would expect from a licensed restaurant. Easy to deal with
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

COBB & CO. DUNEDIN - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions about Cobb & Co. Dunedin

Cobb & Co. Dunedin is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5