We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Glenfalloch Restaurants

430 Portobello Road | Macandrew Bay, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
+64 3-476 1006
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent85%
  • Very good9%
  • Average3%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“chef's menu” (2 reviews)
“sorbet” (3 reviews)
Open Now
Hours
CUISINES
New Zealand, International, European, Contemporary, Cafe, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
430 Portobello Road | Macandrew Bay, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Unfortunate circumstance....a communication error between floor staff and kitchen does not mean clients should be neglected. Happy to wait over an hour for a meal? ...not when a Reservation is made. Happy to wait for one more table to be served before yours? Not when...More

Thank Robyn T
OtagoPeninsulaTrust, Public Relations Manager at Glenfalloch Restaurants, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Kia ora and thanks for your review We have investigated the day in question with the manager and team and they remember the incident very clearly. They admitted to you that there had been an error and personally apologised to you at the time plus...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

3 people went to Pasha in St Andrews street Dunedin. Great food and service. Staff excellent. See what this restaurant does with LAMB! Will be back

Thank spikevoncat
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great food that everyone enjoyed, especially the desserts. Staff were very helpful and accommodating in the needs for our staff to make sure everyone had a great time at their fantastic venue

Thank 16water
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you want to have lunch somewhere where the food is great and the service superb this is the place for you. I had the Pork Belly and it was really yummy. Even though we lingered over our meal the staff were friendly and helpful.More

Thank Anne-Marie H
OtagoPeninsulaTrust, Public Relations Manager at Glenfalloch Restaurants, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Kia ora and thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We really appreciate your fantastic feedback and are so pleased you had such a great experience– Glenfalloch Restaurant is a wonderful place and we are very proud of our team. We...More

Reviewed 10 July 2018 via mobile

Very good food. Great service.Very obliging with food requirements as I am lactose intolerant. Fabulous atmosphere. Have been here twice before and highly recommend this restaurant set amongst a beautiful garden.More

1  Thank Southernjen
OtagoPeninsulaTrust, Public Relations Manager at Glenfalloch Restaurants, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Kia ora and thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review and thanks for being such a wonderful repeat customer! We really appreciate your fantastic feedback and are so pleased you had such a great experience– Glenfalloch Restaurant is a wonderful place...More

Reviewed 10 July 2018

Lovely winter garden at the moment. Unfortunately cafe, restaurant wasn't open but will go back when it is.More

Thank Lyn W
OtagoPeninsulaTrust, Public Relations Manager at Glenfalloch Restaurants, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Kia ora and thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We really appreciate your fantastic feedback and are so pleased you had such a great experience– sorry the restaurant wasn't opened when you visited - our hours are below. Glenfalloch Restaurant...More

Reviewed 10 July 2018

We had a very enjoyable experience here - we selected the Thursday evening set menu and really enjoyed it - each dish was new, interesting, beautifully presented and tasty. There was a stumulating range of vegetarian, seafood and red meat dishes on the evening -...More

1  Thank 479David
OtagoPeninsulaTrust, Public Relations Manager at Glenfalloch Restaurants, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Kia ora and thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We really appreciate your fantastic feedback and are so pleased you had such a great experience– Glenfalloch Restaurant is a wonderful place and we are very proud of our team. We...More

Reviewed 10 July 2018

On the recommendation of a friend (she says its her favourite place for eating out in Dunedin), I went there for lunch recently and was not disappointed. A great selection, I enjoyed everything I had. Will definately be back.More

1  Thank Heather390
OtagoPeninsulaTrust, Public Relations Manager at Glenfalloch Restaurants, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Kia ora and thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We really appreciate your fantastic feedback and are so pleased you had such a great experience– Glenfalloch Restaurant is a wonderful place and we are very proud of our team. We...More

Reviewed 1 July 2018 via mobile

What a beautiful place for a cup of coffee or meal. Not the greatest of portions but the gardens offer a year round tranquility with lovely outdoor tables or indoor garden views ..tip is to visit in October/November when the gardens boast a master's pallet...More

1  Thank jeff l
OtagoPeninsulaTrust, Public Relations Manager at Glenfalloch Restaurants, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Kia ora and thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We really appreciate your fantastic feedback and are so pleased you had such a great experience– Glenfalloch Restaurant is a wonderful place and we are very proud of our team. We...More

Reviewed 20 June 2018 via mobile

Great food in a lovely settings. Walks range from, smelling the flowers to walking through the woodland up to the water fall. Lovely afternoon out.More

1  Thank Shaun S
OtagoPeninsulaTrust, Public Relations Manager at Glenfalloch Restaurants, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Kia ora and thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We really appreciate your fantastic feedback and are so pleased you had such a great experience– Glenfalloch Restaurant is a wonderful place and we are very proud of our team. We...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 60 hotels in Dunedin
Camp Estate at Larnach Castle
167 reviews
3.17 km away
Larnach Castle Lodge
686 reviews
3.55 km away
Commodore Motel
118 reviews
5.72 km away
Cable Court Motel
103 reviews
5.77 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Ballroom Cafe at Larnach Castle
77 reviews
3.48 km away
Beam Me Up Bagels
47 reviews
5.64 km away
Emerson's Taproom and Restaurant
254 reviews
5.42 km away
Nearby Attractions
Port Chalmers' Seafaring Museum
23 reviews
2.11 km away
Signal Hill
319 reviews
4.28 km away
Larnach Castle & Gardens
2,312 reviews
3.49 km away
Forsyth Barr Stadium
196 reviews
5.04 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Glenfalloch Restaurants staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Brunch, Drinks, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Seating, Free Off-Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Full Bar, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, View, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
9:30 AM - 3:30 PM
Wednesday
9:30 AM - 3:30 PM
Thursday
9:30 AM - 3:30 PM
5:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Friday
9:30 AM - 3:30 PM
5:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Saturday
9:30 AM - 3:30 PM
5:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 430 Portobello Road | Macandrew Bay, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Otago Region  >  Dunedin
  • Phone Number: +64 3-476 1006
  • E-mail
Description
Dine in one of New Zealand's most beautiful gardens. Enjoy superb cuisine created with fresh local produce from artisan suppliers and imaginatively crafted by an award winning chef. Glenfalloch's menus change regularly to showcase the best of Otago's seasonal ingredients and local delicacies. Try our "Trust the Chef" menu and experience taste sensations. Renowned for warm hospitality, excellent food and a gorgeous historic garden. Open for lunches, dinners and celebrations. Booking recommended. Free garden entry. Glenfalloch is Gaelic for 'hidden valley' only 15 minutes drive from the City Centre. - was established in 1871 as a gentleman's country residence. Today, the Garden's maturity means photographers are spoilt for choice.Casual dining in the Restaurant, Open daily from 9.30am till 3.30pm. Dinner Thursdays and Fridays from 5pm. Weddings, celebrations and festivities are a speciality.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing