We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fox & Ferret Riccarton

Reserve a Table
RestaurantHub

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2016 - 2017 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Food and ambience

Location and contact

About
Fox & Ferret Riccarton is a modern gastro pub located beside Westfield Mall in the heart of Riccarton. The menu includes light lunches and snacks through to hearty pub fare including Stonegrill and a mouth-watering dessert menu. The pub also offers the finest ales, both imported and locally sourced.
PRICE RANGE
US$8 - US$20
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast
CUISINES
Steakhouse, Bar, Pub, New Zealand
FEATURES
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Accepts Credit Cards
Reviews (258)
Filter reviews
247 results
Traveller rating
74
108
40
14
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
74
108
40
14
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steak ribs salmon salad fries stone grill busy pub pub grub great pub daily specials from australia nice ambience nice meal stonegrill riccarton sides platter
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 247 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

I went here as the place was closing so perhaps I got the bad end of the food. I ordered the spicy beef short ribs. There was absolutely no seasoning, let alone spice and the meat was tough. Sincerely disappointed since when it came out,...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank 691jewelm
Reviewed 1 December 2018 via mobile

Good Food. Poor Service Ordered Emerson’s, got Pan Head. What kind of joke is that? Unbelievable....

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank PanHeadShitBox
Reviewed 16 October 2018 via mobile

We had a pleasant time. The service was great, very attentive! We went on steak night and got the steak special... Steak wasn't great (I don't think they let the steak warm to temperature before cooking) as it was uneven in its cooking making parts...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank hjsgems
FoxHosp, General Manager at Fox & Ferret Riccarton, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2018

Hi Hanan H, Thanks for the measured feedback we really appreciate you taking the time. I'm disappointed to hear the food wasn't up to scratch as we pride ourselves on providing good quality pub meals. I will speak with the team to make sure we...More

Reviewed 4 August 2018 via mobile

Repeat visitor and usually have their amazing platter but alas they have had a menu change and the platter this time was not as good. Nothing wrong with it but just not as good as before so next visit I'll just have to branch out....More

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Wendy M
FoxHosp, General Manager at Fox & Ferret Riccarton, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Hi Wendy, Thanks for giving us a review and I'm sorry to hear that your favourite platter is off the menu! We change it up every summer and winter so hopefully it comes back around, otherwise plenty of other delicious things you might have to...More

Reviewed 29 July 2018

The Fox & Ferret Riccarton was amazing, we were welcomed with smiles & great service , we asked for somewhere which was a little quiet for talking & were taken up stars & couldnt have been better . The food was lovely, we had a...More

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank noelmclean
FoxHosp, General Manager at Fox & Ferret Riccarton, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2018

Hi Noelmclean, Thanks so much for the wonderful review! I'm glad you enjoyed your experience with us and we will look forward to having you in again soon. Cheers! The Fox Team

Reviewed 20 July 2018

We have a daughter that lives in Christchurch, every time we visit, at least 3 times her our last meal before flying back to Sydney is always lunch at the Fox and ferret, the food is plentiful with very quick service, and the staff are...More

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank dholt116
FoxHosp, General Manager at Fox & Ferret Riccarton, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Hi dholt116, Thanks so much for the review we really appreciate it. I'm glad to hear we are a regular stop on your visits to Christchurch and we will look forward to welcoming you back in again soon! Cheers, The Fox Team

Reviewed 18 July 2018

The venue has a nice ambience and we were greeted with welcoming smiles. My food however was poor, less than average. I had venison and was really looking forward to my last kiwi meal but it was as tough as shoe leather. I ordered it...More

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Vonny-Russ2001
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

We often go to the Fox and Ferret after shopping at the mall, the staff are very friendly. I’m geberally gluten free and the waitress who served us made sure that my needs were met. Hubby Really enjoyed the steak!!

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Jac1313
FoxHosp, General Manager at Fox & Ferret Riccarton, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Hi Jac1313, Thanks for the review we really appreciate it and I'm glad to hear you both enjoyed coming in! Hope to see you in again soon, The Fox Team

Reviewed 14 June 2018

Great service from our initial waitress. She gave us every confidence the meal would be good and we would be looked after during our meal. We were. And we all enjoyed our meals and time there. 2year old even enjoyed a dance to the soundtrack...More

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank tradefish203
FoxHosp, General Manager at Fox & Ferret Riccarton, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2018

Hi Tradefish203, Thanks for the lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your birthday meal with us and hope to see you again soon! Cheers, The Fox Team

Reviewed 6 June 2018 via mobile

Arrived in Christchurch & rang to make reservation for my birthday dinner that night. Recording asked me to leave message. From 4.45pm - 5.45pm I rang 3 times & still phone unanswered, & nobody had rung me back. We drove by about 6pm & there...More

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank michellebS5158EQ
FoxHosp, Front Office Manager at Fox & Ferret Riccarton, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2018

Dear Michelle, Firstly let us say how sorry we are that you had a poor experience with us, we pride ourselves on our service & atmosphere so have missed the mark on all is disappointing for us also. Your special occasion night was clearly unacceptable...More

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Fox & Ferret Riccarton staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing