We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Christchurch Tramway Restaurant

Welcome Aboard Booking Office | Shop 13 Cathedral Junction, 113 Worcester Street, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
+64 3-366 7830
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent73%
  • Very good20%
  • Average5%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“amuse bouche” (8 reviews)
“pudding” (5 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
New Zealand, European, International, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Welcome Aboard Booking Office | Shop 13 Cathedral Junction, 113 Worcester Street, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (550)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 522 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago

This was a great activity. We had a fabulous three course dinner and a nice long trip around downtown Christchurch. The gnocchi and lamb were both excellent. The cheese plate dessert was great as well. I recommend getting the wine pairing option (also excellent) if...More

Thank StellarRat
CHCHAttractions, Manager at Christchurch Tramway Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for joining us on the Tramway Restaurant! We are very happy to hear that the food was the best you ate in New Zealand and that you enjoyed the wine pairing and service on board. Thank you for recommending us and for taking...More

Reviewed 6 days ago

Sitting in the tramcar, eating a delicious meal is wonderful experience. While you really do not see much of downtown Christchurch as the tram will stay in one location for 10-15 minutes at a time, the service and attention you receive makes up for that...More

Thank VivianC972015
CHCHAttractions, Manager at Christchurch Tramway Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

We are glad you enjoyed your evening on the Tramway Restaurant! We will pass on your great feedback about the food and service to the chef and wait staff team. Thank you for choosing to join us and for sharing your photos from your time...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We decided to do this to try something different and see some of the city at the same time. Staff were excellent, food was great and was an all round great experience.

Thank Dcc84
CHCHAttractions, Manager at Christchurch Tramway Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for joining us on the Tramway Restaurant! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your evening on board.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had an absolutely wonderful dinner and experience. The welcome drink and canapes were a nice way to start as the waiter took everyone's jackets and seated patrons. Our entrees were one of lamb and one of goats cheese, we both had the venison main...More

Thank Inverness1966
CHCHAttractions, Manager at Christchurch Tramway Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for choosing to celebrate your anniversary on board the Tramway Restaurant! We are happy to hear you enjoyed the food and service on board, and we will pass your comments on to our team. Thank you for sharing your feedback, and we look...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Thanks to Anita and her crew for a fabulous meal. The service was first class and the staff were very friendly and informative. The wine pairing was excellent and well researched. Murray our waiter was so friendly and really good value, such an asset to...More

Thank LoreleiS47
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Firstly its a unique way to blow $300 and so not worth it. They carry on about the chef being in a confined space preparing meals, I saw him plating up! you, didnt see him standing there whipping up desserts and the like . They...More

Thank Scott R
CHCHAttractions, Manager at Christchurch Tramway Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are sorry to hear you were unhappy with your evening on the Tramway Restaurant. Our food preparation is done by our chef offsite in a bigger kitchen where there is more space and more resources available for them to use, with the cooking then...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

110% PERFECT. From my booking phone call with Ashley, to the wait staff and behind scenes chef and driver this experience on the Tram for dinner was amazing. I was visiting Christchurch for my daughters birthday and I wanted to take her somewhere with a...More

Thank bcdef2619
CHCHAttractions, Manager at Christchurch Tramway Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for a fantastic review, and we are pleased to hear you all enjoyed celebrating your daughter and her partner's birthdays with us! We will pass on your thanks to Ashleigh and the Tramway Restaurant team. Thank you for recommending us, and we hope...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

After reading the reviews I was really excited about going for dinner on the tram and whilst its a unusual way to dine and rather pleasant the food was a real let down i didn't find it at all inspiring. Make sure you have a...More

Thank Di W
CHCHAttractions, Manager at Christchurch Tramway Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your evening on the Tramway Restaurant, and we are sorry that you were not entirely happy with the food on board. Our desserts are temporarily being made by our catering partner's production kitchen before...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The tram was broken so we just circled the same spot three times. The food was not varied enough for foreigner's taste. The staff was pleasant and helpful but not worth the expense.More

Thank Donna C
CHCHAttractions, Manager at Christchurch Tramway Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Donna, we are sorry to hear that you were not happy with your evening on the Tramway Restaurant. I assume you were dining on board on the evening of Sunday 29 July when strong winds blew a safety fence into the side of the...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Exquisitely delicious 3 course meal (and did the wine matching option, so a lovely pairing for each dish!) with friendly and professional service all evening long. Would absolutely recommend the restaurant tram for anyone looking for a nice night out in Christchurch. Thanks to the...More

Thank CarolineN1802
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 147 hotels in Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
497 reviews
.01 km away
Hotel 115 Christchurch
540 reviews
.03 km away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
2,346 reviews
.05 km away
Heritage Christchurch
766 reviews
.07 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Twenty Seven Steps
787 reviews
.12 km away
The Happening Bar and Kitchen
189 reviews
.08 km away
O.G.B
421 reviews
.09 km away
Nearby Attractions
New Regent Street
387 reviews
.12 km away
Christchurch Cathedral
843 reviews
.14 km away
Isaac Theatre Royal
56 reviews
.13 km away
Worcester Boulevard
19 reviews
.16 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Lawton L
4 September 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from CHCHAttractions | Property representative |
Thank you for your enquiry. Yes, the Tramway Restaurant has heat pumps on board which heat the tram in winter and offer cooling in summer in order to ensure a comfortable temperature for our guests. Please note that the... More
0
Votes
AlphonsusAng
22 April 2018|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from CHCHAttractions | Property representative |
Thank you for your enquiry. Yes, you are welcome to book for a group of five people on the Tramway Restaurant. We offer 2-seat and 4-seat tables on board the tram, so would be able to seat your group at one of each of these... More
2
Votes
rec0mmend0r
4 February 2018|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from CHCHAttractions | Property representative |
Thank you for your enquiry. We offer one sitting at 7:00pm daily from 1 March until 31 October. From 1 November until 28 February we offer one sitting at 7:30pm daily with an additional early sitting at 5:00pm available on... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$65 - US$65
Meals
Dinner
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, View
Open Hours
Sunday
7:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Monday
7:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Tuesday
7:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Wednesday
7:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Thursday
7:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Friday
7:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Saturday
7:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Welcome Aboard Booking Office | Shop 13 Cathedral Junction, 113 Worcester Street, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Canterbury Region  >  Christchurch
  • Phone Number: +64 3-366 7830
  • E-mail
Description
Enjoy dinner in style on board our beautifully-restored heritage tramcar. A unique experience mixing great New Zealand cuisine and beverages with a slow-paced tour showcasing Christchurch's rebuilding and vibrant inner city - this is not to be missed!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing