We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

50 Bistro

$$$$European, ,
50 Park Terrace, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
+64 3-371 0250
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent52%
  • Very good28%
  • Average15%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (20 reviews)
“macaroons” (5 reviews)
“scallops” (11 reviews)
Closed Now
European, New Zealand, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
50 Park Terrace, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

I have eaten here 3 times now and have always had amazing food and great service. My favourite meal here was probably the gorgeous creamy lobster risotto, simply because I love a great risotto! I think the costs of eating here are very acceptable for...More

Thank bee1056
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Wow, we arrived in Christchurch and this was attached to the hotel. Stunning food, amazing service it was just fab. I had prawns followed by fish of the day, my wife had scallops followed by ribeye steak. All superbly cooked and so tasty. The staff...More

Thank swannythemoose
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at 50 Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear swannythemoose We are thrilled you chose to dine in 50 Bistro whilst staying with us at The George and even more delighted that you had enjoyed such a memorable dining experience. We hope we might welcome you back on a future occasion and thank...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Our visit to this restaurant was closer to disappointment than delight. If Trip Advisor had a scoring rating of ‘good’ then I wouldn’t have given the restaurant a ‘very good’ rating. When compared to other international restaurants (5 star hotels) we’ve visited around the world...More

Thank EnglishHugh
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at 50 Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear EnglishHugh While we are pleased you appreciated the service you received during your recent dining experience in 50 Bistro and enjoyed your starters and some components of your main courses we are sorry that our desserts did not meet with your expectations. If you...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

My partner and I recently went here for a date night and we left feeling a little.... disappointed. The price you pay, you expect exceptional service and food, but we don’t feel we had that. There’s not much to say really, the food was nice,...More

Thank 64GoFi
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at 50 Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear 64GoFi While you found the food satisfactory we are very sorry to hear your recent overall experience at 50 Bistro did not meet with your expectations and that you left us disappointed. We appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback. Kind regards...More

Reviewed 25 October 2018 via mobile

Always a consistently great place to eat. The service is always genuine and friendly. Have never been disappointed when dining hereMore

Thank 740janee
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at 50 Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2018

Dear Jane E We are always delighted to welcome back our valued returning guests and are so pleased to hear that your recent experience with us was consistent with previous visits. We look forward to welcoming you back to 50 Bistro and thank you for...More

Reviewed 24 October 2018

The food was average for the price and the service was not fine dining service. Clearing plates before 1 person has finished... simple rule!! Would never go back, very overpriced.More

1  Thank GoPlaces233022
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at 50 Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2018

Dear GoPlaces233022 We are most concerned to hear your recent visit to 50 Bistro did not meet with your expectations, both in terms of value for money and the service you received ad we are very sorry you left feeling so disappointed. We have certainly...More

Reviewed 29 September 2018

This is a very nice restaurant in the George Hotel. I had the two course special and my parents ordered from the main menu. We were all very pleased with the food and service. The wait staff was attentive and friendly. Would definitely eat there...More

1  Thank adr44
Reviewed 4 September 2018 via mobile

Staying at the George on business it appeared that the kitchen was not working. My order took almost a hour to arrive an when I got it my medium rare steak was grey and closer to medium well than medium rare. While I was waiting...More

TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at 50 Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2018

Dear CTREN Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are very sorry that your dining experience in 50 Bistro whilst staying with us did not meet with your expectations, both in regards to the quality of your steak and the service...More

Reviewed 17 August 2018 via mobile

Incredible food and fantastic cocktails! Best steak meals we have ever had!!!! We Highly recommend treating yourselves to some delectable food at this amazing Bistro!

Thank Natasha M
Reviewed 2 August 2018

Lovely relaxed and quiet lunchtime. Great menu, good service and beautiful food. Great with it being quiet when we visited so we could talk.

Thank Christine W
Nearby HotelsSee all 148 hotels in Christchurch
The George Christchurch
1,583 reviews
.04 km away
Hotel Montreal
294 reviews
.16 km away
Fino Hotel & Suites
170 reviews
.48 km away
Southern Comfort Motel
144 reviews
.55 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Spice Paragon Victoria Street
490 reviews
.22 km away
564 reviews
.27 km away
The Bog Irish Bar & Restaurant
268 reviews
.26 km away
Nearby Attractions
Margaret Mahy Family Playground
852 reviews
.37 km away
Quake City
1,399 reviews
.52 km away
Christchurch Art Gallery (Te Puna o Waiwhetu)
378 reviews
.58 km away
Victoria Street Clock Tower
125 reviews
.21 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from 50 Bistro staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
US$16 - US$40
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
6:30 AM - 10:00 PM
6:30 AM - 10:00 PM
6:30 AM - 10:00 PM
6:30 AM - 10:00 PM
6:30 AM - 10:00 PM
6:30 AM - 10:00 PM
6:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 50 Park Terrace, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Canterbury Region  >  Christchurch
  • Phone Number: +64 3-371 0250
  • E-mail
Relaxed dining with inspired bistro fare 50 Bistro offers inspired bistro food with modern flavours, excellent wines and a great bar. The menu offers a large variety of dishes featuring classic’s twisted with our own 50 flair. Executive Chef, Darren Conole, leads the kitchen team designing seasonal menus using the best local produce. The stylish interior flows out to a generous outdoor area, complete with fire tables that reflect the warm hues of the orange onyx wall inside, making 50 Bistro the perfect place to meet any time of the day for coffee, cocktails and bar snacks or a meal. With windows overlooking Hagley Park, breakfast in 50 Bistro is the ideal spot to start any day. Lunchtime brings with it a buzzy vibe offering great versatility and value with a selection of light meals and salads in addition to entrées and grills and desserts. Evenings bring heartier comfort dishes and a warm ambience, perfect for relaxing with friends.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing