We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BASE Woodfired Pizza

Is this your business?
181 High Street | Little High Eatery, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
+64 22 182 1921
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent72%
  • Very good22%
  • Average4%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“woodfired pizza” (18 reviews)
“pepperoni” (4 reviews)
“moroccan lamb” (6 reviews)
Closes in 2 min
Hours
CUISINES
Italian, Pizza, Fast food, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
181 High Street | Little High Eatery, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I ordered there version of a margarita. It tasted very factory tomato sauce on a base that was not fun.

Thank TheGlobalIndian
Reviewed 18 April 2018 via mobile

I came because of the trip advisor ranking and I got really disappointed. Paid an Uber there and back just to get an extremely boring veg. Supreme. At least the atmosphere in the complex is cool.

Thank amuellerberlin
Reviewed 12 April 2018

The quality of the pizzas at Base can, at times, be the best in town. The problem is, you never know when those times will be. We've been to Base at least half a dozen times during super busy and quiet times since it opened...More

Thank Rundlich
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Wow! I don't eat a lot of pizza but that might be about to change! Some of the large Sir George I had was meant to go into a 'doggy bag' but I just couldn't stop! Yum! And a side of chips with cheese and...More

Thank Ezra710
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

We had whanau visiting from up north so decided to check out the eats on High st. Most of us went to bacon brothers but I opted for pizza. Biggest mistake ever. The pizza looked nothing like what is pictured, just a dash of stud...More

Thank Keri H
BASEpizza, Manager at BASE Woodfired Pizza, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Thanks Keri for talking time out to review us. Sorry to hear you were unhappy with your food. Would have benefited us both if you had taken up your concerns in person with us on the day/evening as we would have been more than happy...More

Reviewed 22 March 2018 via mobile

We had the Sir George pizza with Aioli sauce. It was arguably one of the best pizza we have ever had. The sweetness of the BBQ base was just right against the meet and sauce. Would highly recommend.

Thank mdrie2016
BASEpizza, Manager at BASE Woodfired Pizza, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2018

Hey Guys :) Thank you for taking time to send us some feedback. The Sir George is our best seller by far therefore it's great to hear such positive comments about it. Much appreciated.

Reviewed 24 February 2018 via mobile

The pizza here is good, cooked in a decent oven that creates bubbled and blackened pizza bases. I had the meat one with chipotle sauce. They are not huge, but good taste. The milkshake is crazy big, don’t attempt it after a big meal, tasted...More

Thank classicchch
BASEpizza, Manager at BASE Woodfired Pizza, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Hey...:) Thanks for the comments. Did you have a milkshake or the Freakshake? Both would be difficult to finish after a good feed!

Reviewed 21 February 2018 via mobile

We ordered two pizzas, I had a margharita style which came with fresh basil leaves. The cheese was not very evenly spread out for my liking, there were big areas of pizza with no cheese at all. Hubby’s pepperoni pizza had loads more toppings and...More

Thank AnanB
BASEpizza, Manager at BASE Woodfired Pizza, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2018

thank you for taking time to send through your comments. I will pass on to staff.

Reviewed 14 February 2018

The pizza here was great. Flavors meshed, and the BBQ sauce provided a nice sweet overtone to the Sir George.

Thank Matt S
BASEpizza, Manager at BASE Woodfired Pizza, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2018

Thanks so much for taking time to review us - much appreciated.

Reviewed 7 February 2018

If you've ever had pizza in Italy, you don't forget it. A stand, a few Euro, and a flavour you don't forget. Of all places, BASE offers a pizza Margherita that will remind you of the streets of Rome. Take advantage of off-times when Little...More

1  Thank matchavez
BASEpizza, Manager at BASE Woodfired Pizza, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2018

Wow thank you very much for the praise.! I will pass this on to staff as they will be delighted that you have recognised their efforts. Definitely our favourite review this year so far :) Much appreciated.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 147 hotels in Christchurch
Ramada Suites Christchurch City
185 reviews
.18 km away
BreakFree on Cashel
2,472 reviews
.40 km away
City Central Motel Apartments
304 reviews
.57 km away
Distinction Christchurch Hotel
10 reviews
.59 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Bacon Brothers
420 reviews
.06 km away
The Little High Eatery
262 reviews
.00 km away
Unknown Chapter Coffee Roasters
167 reviews
.06 km away
Nearby Attractions
185 Empty White Chairs - Earthquake Memorial
1,497 reviews
.35 km away
Cardboard Cathedral
1,844 reviews
.47 km away
South City Mall
22 reviews
.57 km away
Washington Way Skate Park
5 reviews
.61 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Jürgli B
11 October 2017|
Answer
Response from BASEpizza | Property representative |
Hello :) Sorry- no we don't deliver - we feel the best way to enjoy our pizzas is straight from the oven.
2
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$14
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Free Wifi, Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Monday
10:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Friday
10:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 181 High Street | Little High Eatery, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Canterbury Region  >  Christchurch
  • Phone Number: +64 22 182 1921
  • E-mail
Description
We prepare and cook woodfired pizzas to order with only fresh and local ingredients. We provide vegetarian and gluten free options.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;