We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
$10 - $20
CUISINES
Italian, Pizza, Fast food
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (324)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
292 results
Traveller rating
210
62
10
4
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
210
62
10
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pizza moroccan lamb pie sir george toppings eatery cheese
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 11 February 2024 via mobile

Absolute disgrace we ordered takeaway pizzas via uber eats 1 which was vegetarian and both came with meat and we didn’t get the margarita we ordered. I call them and they blamed uber eats and wouldn’t take ownership. The poor uber driver didn’t cook the...pizza. Clearly was an honest mistake but just own it anyway cheese toasts for a starving daughter now. never again order due to the response.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
gill thomson, Owner at BASE Woodfired Pizza, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2024

Hi Paul Sorry to hear you had a bad experience. Unfortunately for us when we have orders go out through our delivery partners, we are totally reliant on them resolving any issues there may be. We cannot refund a payment made through uber.. only they...More

Reviewed 3 October 2023

The meat on chips option superb, beautifully presented, great portion and soooo delicious! Value for money too.

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 May 2023 via mobile

I would not never normally give a four out of five on a whim, but the Moroccan lamb on the pie was very very unexpectedly good. The pizza with olives was also very good. The margarita pizza however, was not good at all. The sauce...was almost out of a can. The bread was almost right, but not there. The homemade pasta chicken pesto Alfredo special was phenomenal.More

Date of visit: May 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 September 2022

Super busy place, but pizza came pretty quickly. It's situated in a place with many other restaurants, and you have to find a spare table, no bookings Pizza was great, super tasty Highly recommended

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 June 2022

We were looking for a place serving delicious Italian food in a nice atmosphere, and going here on a cold winter evening was in this context clearly a mistake. Pasta was ok (a bit salty, tough), but the cheese they used to drown the pasta...was clearly not parmesan but probably the Tasty from the supermarket shelf. A good eatery would serve the cheese seperate so that customers can decide how much they like. Pizza (Sir George) base actually is good and the toppings are not bad if you are after American (vs Italian) pizza. Drown everything in sauce, as Americans like to. Beer was good (if you like Pilsner). Atmosphere of the "little High Eatery" (basically a food court) is - well, lets say "rustical" ... and there might be some at face value nice looking corners to sit. However - it was winter, and the "little eatery" is a large place with plenty of openings where people constantly come in from the cold and go out - it was anything else but cosy. Felt a bit like a big train station on a lousy winter day. A constant cold draft is a good motivator to eat fast and go home. Chairs don't motivate either to stay long .... they do have some resemblence to torture instruments. Wife still feels her back. Maybe a trendy place for students with too much money to spend ... but we are unlikely to come back.More

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 May 2022

Having lived next door to Pepe's in New Haven, Connecticut, I feel qualified to commend BASE for their leopard-spotted, wonderfully chewy crust & toppings. This is a great place for an unfussy but superb pizza & glass of wine when you're taking a break from...Christchurch's many upscale restaurants.More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 November 2021

Friendly staff. Very nice place for your woodfired pizza. I try large sir george and it's was yummy. I recommend

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BASEpizza, Owner at BASE Woodfired Pizza, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2021

We appreciate your feedback Thank you

Reviewed 27 July 2021 via mobile

Delicious pizza! 10/10! We got the honey pork and morrocan lamb takeaway as we live a few hours from chch and was going to eat it later for dinner. We opted to eat it instead of the other food we purchased for lunch as it...was just too amazing. Highly recommend!More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BASEpizza, Owner at BASE Woodfired Pizza, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2021

Love this review!! Thanks so much

Reviewed 14 June 2021

Want a pizza with authentic Italian wow factor? Base has really got it sorted. Full taste sensation and generous amounts of toppings. The pepperoni was sublime.

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BASEpizza, Owner at BASE Woodfired Pizza, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2021

Thank you!! We really appreciate your comments.. will pass on to the staff

Reviewed 23 May 2021 via mobile

Perfectly done pizza. Little high has a fantastic atmosphere and everyone can pick what they want to eat. I went with the sir George pizza and I was not disappointed. It was perfect. Will definitely return

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BASEpizza, Owner at BASE Woodfired Pizza, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2021

Glad you enjoyed the little high experience

Reviewed 3 November 2020 via mobile

Omg - definitely best vegan pizza ever 😍👍🏼 yummy crust and thin base! nice area with different food options.

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BASEpizza, Owner at BASE Woodfired Pizza, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2021

Thank you. We appreciate you taking time to place feedback

Reviewed 30 October 2020

Fantastic quick service with lovely fresh toppings. Pizza is beautiful and well worth the prices. Wish I could have it once a week it’s that good.

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BASEpizza, Owner at BASE Woodfired Pizza, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2021

Thanks guys

Reviewed 24 August 2020 via mobile

Came here a Sunday nite with friends, first time trying out this place. Gave the salmon & cream cheese pizza a go, sounded good especially with the capers. Ended up being a little underwhelmed unfortunately; the pizza was a good size but a bit burnt...all around the edge. The amount of smoked salmon was a really small slither on each slice, and with there being no cheese or tomato on it it ended up being mostly pizza base and therefore pretty dry. There was also no capers as stated in the menu... the best bit! I was with friends & small children seated at the other end, so I opted just to eat it rather than take it back (where the customers queueing up would have heard my comments). Sorry, probably sounds whingey but am just being honestMore

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BASEpizza, Owner at BASE Woodfired Pizza, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2020

Thanks for the feedback... Will look at our processes to see what went wrong with the quantity and the ingredients.

Reviewed 5 August 2020

tastey affordable ,reasonable selection ,loaded fries are a big meal ,normally we share a Pizza with others no complaints

Date of visit: May 2020
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BASEpizza, Owner at BASE Woodfired Pizza, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2020

Thanks for the feedback 👍

Reviewed 22 July 2020

We are regular visitors. Very poor service tonight - waited over an hour when told 30 mins. When went up to ask after 40 mins told it was on the oven and would be ready in 5 minutes. Other people were also complaining. Manager was...rude. You’ve just lost valuable customers and ruined s family celebration.More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BASEpizza, Owner at BASE Woodfired Pizza, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2020

Good Evening, Fully expected this review and it is completely justified in parts. No excuses to give as the wait time was extremely long and inaccurately estimated. Extremely sorry that we contributed to ruining a family celebration.You were given an apology, and a refund. Just...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Ramada Suites by Wyndham Christchurch City
278 reviews
.18 km away
The Muse Christchurch
58 reviews
.28 km away
BreakFree On Cashel Christchurch
3,502 reviews
.40 km away
Christchurch City Hotel
65 reviews
.55 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Unknown Chapter Coffee Roasters
465 reviews
.06 km away
Bacon Bros Burgers
828 reviews
.06 km away
The Little High Eatery
519 reviews
.00 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Bridge of Remembrance
350 reviews
.34 km away
New Zealand Museum of Toys & Collectibles
23 reviews
.25 km away
Corgis On High
6 reviews
.10 km away
High Street
13 reviews
.10 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
j_rglib
11 October 2017|
Answer
Response from gill t | Property representative |
Hello :) Sorry- no we don't deliver - we feel the best way to enjoy our pizzas is straight from the oven.
2
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

BASE WOODFIRED PIZZA, Christchurch - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions about BASE Woodfired Pizza

Yes, BASE Woodfired Pizza offers takeaway services.

BASE Woodfired Pizza is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4.5