We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BASE Woodfired Pizza Restaurant

181 High Street | Little High Eatery, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
+64 22 182 1921
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent72%
  • Very good22%
  • Average4%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“pizza” (140 reviews)
“morrocan lamb” (3 reviews)
“sir george” (19 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Pizza, Fast food, Italian, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
181 High Street | Little High Eatery, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

First time to Base for pizza and wasn’t at all impressed. Easy going atmosphere, reasonable service, but you’ll get more flavour from a soggy cardboard box than from the Moroccan lamb pizza. We shared a large, which I would regard as “medium” but rather disappointed...More

Thank Steve H
Reviewed 1 week ago

had the steak pizza. It was incredible! highly recommend. It is super busy though so you need to pick you timing well.

Thank xandos94
BASEpizza, Manager at BASE Woodfired Pizza, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

You chose our best seller. ! School holidays are finished now so might be a little easier to get a seat now. Hope to see you again😊

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went with the family (4 of us) last night to Little High on a recommendation from work colleagues and tried Base Pizza. We had the Sir George and Sgt Peppers, excellent choices. Then we had dessert ... 2 Freakshakes !!! Yum .. I went back...More

Thank Darryl T
BASEpizza, Manager at BASE Woodfired Pizza, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

So Great! Thanks for the fab comments :)

Reviewed 14 September 2017

The ingredients speak for themselfs! High quality ingredients great taste really really yummy pizza! although a little pricy for some just for a pizza it is worth it because it tatstes amazing !!! Will be eating alot more of these thats for sure!!!

Thank Zaan11
BASEpizza, Manager at BASE Woodfired Pizza, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Thank for the review - glad to hear that you appreciated the fresh ingredients :)

Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

Great place to stop by for a quick pizza and pint! The wood fired pizzas are cooked perfectly and are very tasty!

Thank Christina G
BASEpizza, Manager at BASE Woodfired Pizza, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Pizza and a pint - that sounds like a great time to me!( Our tap beer is from the Brewmoon brewery at Amberley .) Hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 2 August 2017

Wide range of delicious pizza with reasonable price. Staffs are very polite, friendly and well presented.

Thank ChristVogt
BASEpizza, Manager at BASE Woodfired Pizza, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Thank you for the positive comments.i will pass them on to staff.

Reviewed 27 July 2017

There are two Base Pizza's in Christchurch, that I know of. One in the foyer at The Court Theatre and one in the newly opened and very exciting Little High Eatery. Although I'm not really a pizza aficionado, this little restaurant's offerings are freshly made...More

Thank milliesmum2016
BASEpizza, Manager at BASE Woodfired Pizza, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Thanks for the great comments - Yes we are in The Court Theatre as well as our new spot at Little High Eatery :) The outrageous chocolate thing is the fast becoming famous Base Freakshake. There's one with your name on it for next time...More

A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

Came here through trip advisor reviews of a pizza place that didn't cost the earth. So happy with my pizza and the service was very quick on a busy night. Please be aware if you're a tourist like I am, the map for this posting...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
BASEpizza, Manager at BASE Woodfired Pizza, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Hello- Glad that you found us after all - as the whole place is recently newly created, sadly you aren't the only customer to have trouble finding us .However - we are in the process of improving the signage and thanks for the tips you...More

Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

Man......we love this place, all the pizzas are fab but my absolute fave is the Sir George! We popped in to the new one at Little High last night before the Rugby and we shared the bacon and cheese fries- they are so good!

Thank fludlle
BASEpizza, Manager at BASE Woodfired Pizza, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

I myself love pizza ,bacon and cheese fries and RUGBY!!! What a night that must have been.Glad to have been of service ;)

Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

We went to Little High for a casual family meal. We got a pizza and chocolate thick shake. Both were outstanding. The dessert was something else and was a work of art just to look at let alone eat it.More

Thank David B
BASEpizza, Manager at BASE Woodfired Pizza, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Our thick shakes and freakshakes are a new addition to our menu since moving into Little High. They seem to be very popular. Glad you enjoyed them. Have a look at our facebook page - we are having a public vote on what the next...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Bacon Brothers
170 reviews
.06 km away
The Little High Eatery
80 reviews
.00 km away
Coriander's
452 reviews
.15 km away
Nearby Attractions
185 Empty White Chairs - Earthquake Memorial
1,263 reviews
.34 km away
Cardboard Cathedral
1,583 reviews
.45 km away
Cashel Street
417 reviews
.54 km away
Bridge of Remembrance
176 reviews
.67 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Jürgli B
11 October 2017|
Answer
Response from BASEpizza | Property representative |
Hello :) Sorry- no we don't deliver - we feel the best way to enjoy our pizzas is straight from the oven.
2
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$14
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Free Wifi, Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Monday
10:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Friday
10:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 181 High Street | Little High Eatery, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Canterbury Region  >  Christchurch
  • Phone Number: +64 22 182 1921
  • E-mail
Description
We prepare and cook woodfired pizzas to order with only fresh and local ingredients. We provide vegetarian and gluten free options.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing