We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
New Zealand
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Brunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Dinner
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (985)
Filter reviews
946 results
Traveller rating
526
270
89
34
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
526
270
89
34
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews seafood chowder salad fries no meat lovely atmosphere vegetarian groper mains nz chch platter
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 15 April 2022 via mobile

They served quite nice limited menu which is vegetarian and fish. Menus are creative yet tasting very good. We went for dinner and enjoyed the crowd and atmosphere. The service was good and we really enjoyed our meal. Menu is also seasonal and expect new...things once in awhile.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 10 April 2022 via mobile

Just an ok meal. Service was ok. Food was a bit disappointing given the price, it was just ok. Nothing memorable or impressive about it sadly

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 30 March 2022

With a group of friends we often meet at Dux Dine for coffee as there are 2 small dogs and we can sit outside. The staff are friendly and attentive to the customers and dogs! Some of the best cheese scones in town!

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
Ross H, General Manager at Dux Dine, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2022

Hello Robin T Thanks you for your continued support and for taking the time to post your review. Looking forward to seeing you in dining again some time soon. Best regards Ross Herrick Operations Manager

Reviewed 28 March 2022

Spent a Sunday afternoon listening to range of blues/folk performers, sharing a tasty selection of food and drinks between three adults over several hours. Appreciated there are plenty of vegan/gluten free options and great to see live music being supported in such a lovely sheltered...garden space.More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
Ross H, General Manager at Dux Dine, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2022

Hello JeffreyP1672 Thank you for joining us on Sunday for our Blues and Folk Festival. We definitely enjoyed being able to present this on such an ideal weather day. If you're interested, we host a soloist every Thursday inside the restaurant, along with our seafood...More

Reviewed 14 February 2022

Another excellent night at the Dux. Don't be put off by the vegetarian menu give this place a try. The food here is exceptional and wont disappoint. We went for valentines day dinner the meal was great every course was flavorsome and presented well. The...staff were very attentive and welcoming. The atmosphere at the dux is wonderful and the gardens beautiful. You can expect the same great food and service whether you go for lunch or dinner.More

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?
Ross H, General Manager at Dux Dine, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2022

Hi 919CarlD Thanks for coming to visit on Monday. We're so pleased you enjoyed your time with us including our friendly team, fare and surroundings. Please do come visit again some time soon. Best regards Ross Herrick Operations Manager

Reviewed 12 February 2022 via mobile

Being vegetarian ourselves, we have been to Dux Dine many times, usually for dinners. Thanks to GrabOne coupons for “lunch platter for 2”, we decided to try these out. My wife and I shared the vegetarian lunch platter while another couple shared the seafood platter....The food was delicious and sumptuous, with plenty of variety within the platter(s). The service by Sierra and others was pleasant and courteous. In summary, it was a delightful lunch experience!More

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?1  
Ross H, General Manager at Dux Dine, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2022

Hello ShirishParanjape Thank you for your continued support and for taking the time to post your thoughts here. We are naturally pleased you enjoyed the experience and look forward to seeing you back again very soon. Best regards Ross Herrick Operations Manager

Reviewed 13 January 2022

Bought 2 vouchers for the Seafood Vegetarian Platter. Nothing like the picture. Fried overcooked battered mussels, over cooked samosas, no chilli sauce, in fact the sauces did not match the food. Not impressed and would have said something but a group of friends getting together...I did not want to spoil the day. Unfortunately I will not return. Great surroundings but lacking in hospitality and average food. Grab One is a site used to entice people, and hope they return. You have not succeeded this time around Dux. You need to up the ante as there are many new and exciting places to eat in ChCh. You may find yourselves loosing customers.More

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?
Ross H, General Manager at Dux Dine, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2022

Hello fishoutawater2012 Thanks for visiting us and as i mentioned in my message, I am so sorry you didn't enjoy your experience with us. The reason we only list three items is so we can offer different items that we are potentially looking to add...More

Reviewed 27 November 2021 via mobile

Once again, the worst service at this place where the service is always poor. No greeting from maitre de who would not look up from computer, 20 mins until wait staff visited table then a 15 min wait for one drink. At least this time...they didn't chase us to the carpark and accuse us of not paying, like last time. Avoid.More

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?3  
Reviewed 21 November 2021

Lovely venue with a gorgeous outdoor dining area and a variety of areas inside to dine. When we booked, no notification was given of a band playing, which was right beside our table. Not having seen each other for 2 years, we were there to...talk, proved rather difficult once the band started playing. Left earlier than we would have. Safe distance was not practiced in this restaurant. Tables too close together. Good menu selection and good sized meals. Seafood Chowder had plenty of seafood in it, but the soup was too thick and doughy and not hot enough. Came out with a skin on top. The coffee was cold. They remade it for us, but it still wasn't particularly warm. Unlikely to return.More

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 19 September 2021 via mobile

A group of seven looking for variety however the menu was very limited. We were after brunch which should have been easy. The meals were very good. Tasty and generous but limited especially for teenagers. No bacon, in fact no meat whatsoever. We should have...known this so after that initial disappointment we decided to stay. Coffee was good, service was ok. The building is very cool. Could do with a really good clean.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?3  
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Lorenzo Motor Lodge
422 reviews
.04 km away
Roma on Riccarton Motel
213 reviews
.07 km away
Carnmore Hagley Park
52 reviews
.07 km away
Annabelle Court Motel
81 reviews
.09 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Thai Orchid
662 reviews
.15 km away
Arjee Bhajee
383 reviews
.22 km away
Buddha Stix Riccarton
310 reviews
.39 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Christchurch Botanic Gardens
6,704 reviews
.98 km away
Riccarton House & Bush
459 reviews
.72 km away
Hagley Park
1,446 reviews
.96 km away
TranzAlpine Train
3,453 reviews
1.25 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
494kerenc
21 December 2019|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from joanna9628 | Reviewed this property |
Yes free parking onsite is available. Sorry for the late reply.
1
Vote
scooter4275
22 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from RossH716 | Property representative |
Hello Martin R We currently have a number of reservations. I would highly recommend you make a reservation by either phoning on 033481436 or via our web site. Sorry however we don't take reservations via this site. We hope... More
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Dux Dine

Dux Dine is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5