We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Dux Dine Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
28 Riccarton Road | Riccarton, Christchurch, New Zealand
+64 3-348 1436
Website
Today
09:00 - 21:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 09:00 - 21:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

690 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 671: English reviews
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
76 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We were here on a Wednesday night, piddling down rain outside so wasn't too busy. Anyway, we had guests here from Boston so we really wanted them to have a good impression of a post quake Christchurch. Food great beer great, but when we asked for a refill from our table, the member of staff wouldn't take our order from... More 

Helpful?
Thank DarthFD
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Great range of food to suit most tastes. All meals were cooked nicely and very tasty. Lovely atmosphere in a renovated villa with gardens. Not the cheapest place but the food and environment were great! Worth a visit!

Helpful?
Thank Y1152PRhelenm
Ross H, General Manager at Dux Dine, responded to this review

Hello Y1152PRhelemn Thank you for visiting us here at Dux Dine and for posting your review. I am pleased to read you enjoyed your dining experience and the selection of dishes. You are correct, we're not the cheap however quality and freshness never is and, based on our recent survey, our prices are lower than comparative style restaurants here in... More 

Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Five of us visited on a Sunday evenings. It was not busy but the service was slow. I thought this might have been their desired pace until I went to pay and had trouble gaining the attention of any of the four staff who could have asked if I needed something. The food was very good..My seafood chowder was excellent... More 

Helpful?
Thank Otanaki
Ross H, General Manager at Dux Dine, responded to this review

Hello Otanaki Thank you for your review and comments regarding the menu offerings. I am obviously very disappointed to read that the service was slow. While we do like to allow guests a reasonable time to dine when bookings allow this sounds like it was to the extreme, especially given your challenge at the counter when paying. I sincerely apologise... More 

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The restaurant was exceedingly loud. The food was overdone. The salmon I ordered was smothered in some overly sweet sauce for no good reason I could tell. Wine list was good put pours were a bit small.

Helpful?
Thank Mark G
Ross H, General Manager at Dux Dine, responded to this review

Hello Mark G Thank you for visiting us here at Dux Dine. I am sorry you found the atmosphere too loud for your liking however I can't apologise for being popular and, subsequently, busy; with a lot of people naturally comes some sound. I am also sorry you found the menu offering 'overdone'. The dishes are prepared as per their... More 

North Sioux City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We were fortunate to be seated despite no reservations, although the place is deservedly busy, and I think we were fortunate. Great food, prompt service. We'll go back again when we're next in CHC.

Helpful?
1 Thank MountainDoc_12
Ross H, General Manager at Dux Dine, responded to this review

Hello MaountainDoc_12 Thank you for your review and I am so very pleased we managed to accommodate you with a table. I am also pleased our menu and service was enjoyable and that you we will be seeing you again, hopefully soon. Thank you and best regards Ross Herrick General Manager More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I'm a big fan of fresh ingredients and this place is great for seafood and fish . Their commitment goes as far as taking from the Menu the plates that can't provide local fresh produce . I had the seafood chowder and Pacific fish of the day with garlic and lemon sauce , very subtle and accompanying a Chardonnay from... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Eduardo G
Ross H, General Manager at Dux Dine, responded to this review

Hello Eduardo G Thank you for visiting us here at Dux Dine and for your posted review. Also, thank you for recognising our integrity and commitment for freshness. There are times our policy is not appreciated, especially when it comes to seasonal products. We're also proud of our 100% NZ wine list and pleased you enjoyed this as well. Thank... More 

Methven, null, New Zealand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Delicious meal had by all four of us. Catered for our various dietary needs with no dramas. Vegan and GF options wonderful and my friend loved her smoked salmon pizza. Large servings that looked and tasted great! Highly recommend Red curry. Staff friendly and helpful and overall prices good. Will definitely make it one on my list to visit again... More 

Helpful?
Thank jobrennan2014
Ross H, General Manager at Dux Dine, responded to this review

Hello jobrennan2014 Thank you for visiting us here at Dux Dine and I am pleased to read we were able to cater to each of your dietary requirements. Thank you again and we sincerely look forward to seeing you back very soon. Best regards Ross Herrick General Manager More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

I arranged a reunion of some old friends for dinner at Dux Dine and our night out was fantastic. We had about 6 different mains and all were excellent. Staff provided great service, with a good balance of being helpful without being intrusive. The restaurant has a nice ambience and there was a good range of drinks. This all added... More 

Helpful?
Thank GlennNZ19
Ross H, General Manager at Dux Dine, responded to this review

Hello GlennNZ19 I am so pleased we were able to provide your reunion with the fitting venue, service and menu such an occasion deserves. It is always nice to hear we are able to appeal to a wider range of guests with pleasing results. Looking forward to seeing you back with us in the very near future. Best regards Ross... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
186 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Came here for lunch before flying out of Christchurch over the Easter break. The place is a little hard to get to with the road work out front and parking is limited. Service was a bit slow as they were understaffed but the food was delicious. We had the smoked salmon with poached eggs and the halloumi and quinoa salad.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Avidtravelfoodie
Ross H, General Manager at Dux Dine, responded to this review

Hello Avidtravelfoodie Thank you for thinking of us for your pre-holiday lunch and I am pleased you enjoyed the majority of your experience, I do hope your break away was relaxing and enjoyable. While we are stuck with the roadworks (I guess everyone in Christchurch has to have a turn with this challenge at some time) I do look forward... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was a very pleasant spot to toast a family birthday and enjoy and share some tasty tapa style snacks.

Helpful?
Thank PamelaDF56
Ross H, General Manager at Dux Dine, responded to this review

Hello PamelaDF56 Thank you for your review and we are proud of our offerings throughout the day. both inside and outside are designed to allow maximum relaxation possible and are very well suited to mid-late afternoon drinks and snacks. I do hope you visit for a meal some time soon and look forward to seeing you again. Best regards Ross... More 

Travellers who viewed Dux Dine also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Dux Dine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$13 - US$24
Cuisine
Seafood, European, New Zealand, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Brunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Free Wifi, Reservations, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 21:00
Monday
09:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 21:00
Thursday
09:00 - 21:00
Friday
09:00 - 21:00
Saturday
09:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 28 Riccarton Road | Riccarton, Christchurch, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Canterbury Region  >  Christchurch
  • Phone Number: +64 3-348 1436
Description
Dux Dine is a reflection of the past but a move into the future. A contemporary feeling, with fresh local seafood and vegetarian delights, Dux Dine has plenty to offer. Our delicious New Zealand wines and Dux craft beers are certainly a crowd pleaser. Dux Dine is situated in a historic turn-of-the-century Villa that was originally the Station Masters House for the Riccarton Railway. The villa has been extensively but sympathetically reworked to provide a variety of spaces to be enjoyed whether it be an intimate candlelit dinner for two, a large group celebration at one of the huge Kauri tables, grabbing a morning coffee at the breakfast bar, enjoyi Dux Dine has many reminiscences of the iconic Dux de Lux yet new and fresh while remaining comfortably familiar. Many of the old favourites can be seen on the menu as well as exciting fresh new foods and ideas. Dux Dine offers many setting options, from relaxing in a lounge, formal table setting to sitting in our sun drenched court yard. Whether it be a small group, special lunch or dinner, corporate event, product launch or company celebration we can cater for your needs. As a company we are passionate about supporting the local businesses around us. The seafood served in the restaurant is frequently sourced from Akaroa, Stuart Island and the West and East Coast including Southern Glory Oysters. With the ever changing environment, Dux Dine is pleased to say that we are environmentally friendly. Coffee cups, take away containers, and menus are all recycled.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Dux Dine and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
billings, mt
Christchurch, New Zealand
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Dux Dine staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?