We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
$7 - $22
CUISINES
Cafe
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (88)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveller rating
47
27
4
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
47
27
4
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brunch cakes great atmosphere nunnery dairy
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 3 February 2024 via mobile

Best cafe in Chch. Food is amazing, great coffee but the best thing about the place is the lovely staff. The salmon foccacia is yummy for a quick bite and right the chicken sandwich special is delicious!

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 November 2022 via mobile

Great atmosphere with indoor and outdoor seating. They had some gluten-free, dairy free and vegan options. Great spot for breakfast/brunch/lunch or just a coffee and baked good. It can get quite busy so it may be a good idea to call ahead.

Date of visit: November 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 November 2022

Visited with young friend. There was a notice on door to say public holiday surcharge. Usually surcharge is about 10 per cent. Ordered a pot mint tea for two and charged $13.65 .. usual cost is $4.50 per person so surcharge was 50 percent! Will...avoid.More

Date of visit: November 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Georgina M, Owner at Mitchelli's Cafe Rinato, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2022

Hi Joanne, This is a concern... We have just started charging a surcharge on public holidays, but it should only be 15%. I will be looking further into this, and in the meantime if you could flick through an email to us at Info@mitchellis.co.nz then...More

Reviewed 25 June 2022 via mobile

Overall a poor experience for brunch. Waited 20mins between my partners meal and mine because we were unaware the server had put my partners order into the kitchen when we asked for more time to decide on my meal. Mixed smoothie tasted like banana yoghurt...- very little berry flavour, and my coffee was lukewarm. Servers definitely need some upskilling in attentiveness with their customers as wellMore

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 June 2022 via mobile

I visited the Tannery and fancied a coffee at 3.55pm. The doors were wide open and a few people were seated around the cafe. A voice from behind the counter gruffly shouted “we’re closed” so I replied, “you might want to close the doors then.”...He angrily snarled “our signs are in.” I left and found a more pleasant environment inside the mall. Won’t return. If you’re shut, please make it more apparent and don’t be so aggressive towards someone who only wants a quick cuppa.More

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 December 2021 via mobile

Delightful staff, explained the menu well and were genuinely enthusiastic. Good choice of foods and the pasta special of the day was a well flavoured and presented dish. Good HOT coffee to follow. A very pleasant lunch.

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 October 2021 via mobile

I love this cafe! Coffee was good. The young girl wearing glasses who served us wasn't smiling at all, a bit rude and didn't even greet us when we arrived - over all is fine. Will come back again

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Georgina M, Owner at Mitchelli's Cafe Rinato, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2021

Hi there, Thank you for your feed back. I'm sorry you were greeting and served this way... Its certainly not how we ask our customers to be treated, I hope next time you have a better experience!

Reviewed 2 May 2021

Went here today and the service was disgusting, sat down at the table and the staff member took our order - asked for Soup for two, and then Eggs Benedict and Poached Egg. Half way through taking our oder the staff member ran out the...door after "A Runner" as she called it a non paying customer! She came back took the rest of our order (the egg meals) and also our coffee order. Brought us coffees first which was fine. THEN brought us our egg meals - where's the soup we asked - "oh" she said - "well we'll eat these first then??!!" saying "its normal to have your soup before your meals" So then she brings the soup out and sits it next to our egg meals which we had already started (no spoons for the soup) we asked her to take the soup away as it would get cold. Then she got snotty and another staff member (took them away - we asked for her to heat them up once we had finished what we had started, and we said we would complain to the manager after finishing) She was extremely rude. When we finished the eggs we waited to have our soup (after our main meal) the staff member walked past our table several times glaring at us making us wait (obviously on perpose). We waited at least for 10 minutes and then gave up and paid - not paying for the soup. Staff member on the til was nasty and rude and then the other girls comes up with the tray of soup asking us if we "Wanted it to Go". If this is how you treat your customers I'm not surprised you have "Runners" - must happen quite often as they have a sign on the door saying "Have you Paid". NEVER have I had soup after a main meal _ get your act together!More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?3  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Georgina M, Owner at Mitchelli's Cafe Rinato, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2021

I'm sorry you were not satisfied with the service you received with us. Yes, it is normal practice to serve soup as a first course...That being said, on addressing your comments with our staff, we were extremely upset to hear of your reactions and the...More

Reviewed 7 February 2021

Friendly welcome from the staff, great coffee and a scrumptious date scone - what more could you ask for on sunny Sunday afternoon? Thanks guys!

Date of visit: February 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 November 2020

The service was superb, we were waited on as soon as we entered. The cafe was very busy with locals The vegan breakfast and eggs on toast were excellent, good quality food. The chai latte and flat white were equally nice. We thoroughly enjoyed our...lunch.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 November 2020 via mobile

Had an outstanding lunch at this very well regarded cafe. All of the food was outstanding. The haloumi and mushrooms were outstanding in fact I have never tasted better. The cafe is situated in an outstanding venue the tannery. This place is full of boutique...shops and is all class. We enjoyed dining upstairs and we received excellent serve all meal. While the menu wasn’t huge the quality was amazing. We will definitely return.More

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?3  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 October 2020 via mobile

Visiting the Tannery was a lovely experience, with its busy atmosphere. Our highlight has to be enjoying brunch at Mitchell's Cafe Rinato. We enjoyed watching the friendly team ard at work on such a busy morning. We didn't have to wait long to enjoy top...notch flavours Thank you, look forward to visiting again.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 September 2020

Enjoyed a tasty lunch here. Nice selection of food choices and the staff friendly. Worth a try, you will enjoy it for sure.

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 March 2020

We popped in for a coffee before shopping, and when I saw what was on offer for lunch, said we'd be back for lunch. The food was delicious, well made coffee. Friendly owner and staff. Would definitely eat there again.

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 December 2019 via mobile

Loved my brunch of mushroom and halloumi on toast topped with a poachie, cooked to perfection and piping hot! Highly recommended.

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Arcadia Motel
75 reviews
1.11 km away
Ferry Motel
56 reviews
2.17 km away
City Worcester Motel
63 reviews
3.65 km away
Adorian Motel
40 reviews
3.67 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Ferry Indians
94 reviews
1.01 km away
The Twisted Hop Gastropub
162 reviews
.96 km away
The Brewery Bar & Restaurant
228 reviews
.11 km away
Ferrymead Tony's Teppan Yaki Restaurant
157 reviews
1.47 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Lyttelton
307 reviews
1.54 km away
Edmond's Factory Garden
10 reviews
1.22 km away
The Tannery
154 reviews
.06 km away
Deluxe Cinemas
18 reviews
.07 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Mitchelli's Cafe Rinato staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

MITCHELLI'S CAFE RINATO, Christchurch - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions about Mitchelli's Cafe Rinato

Yes, Mitchelli's Cafe Rinato offers takeaway services.

Mitchelli's Cafe Rinato is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4