We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

PRICE RANGE
$33 - $68
CUISINES
Italian
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (274)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
263 results
Traveller rating
119
70
38
21
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
119
70
38
21
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steak salad oysters pizza excellent restaurant dietary requirements saturday night mouth watering the wait staff booked a table mains booth chch
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 days ago

Well situated on Oxford Tce, we had sharing plates of venison. squid and aranchi balls with a glass of wine. Very tasty and well presented... the staff were very helpful with the menu and spent time chatting with us...

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 March 2024 via mobile

Excellent Hostess. The young Irish lady hostess was the making of an exceptional experience at this restaurant and would be an asset to any establishment wanting to make a fab impression.

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Millie Bremner, Marketing at Original Sin, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for this review!

Reviewed 24 February 2024

Such a great experience. Best value for cocktails and food Atmosphere enchanting, staff very attentive.Look forward to next time

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Millie Bremner, Marketing at Original Sin, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2024

Thank you so much for this wonderful review - we are so pleased you had a fantastic experience with us! We look forward to you visiting next time.

Reviewed 23 February 2024 via mobile

My husband and I enjoyed pizza Tuesday on a recent visit to Christchurch (pizza and house beer/wine for 30nzd). The restaurant had a nice atmosphere, the staff were friendly and best of all the food (and wine) was good.

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Millie Bremner, Marketing at Original Sin, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2024

Thank you so much for a great review. We are so pleased to hear you loved our Wine & Pizza night!

Reviewed 9 February 2024

Located on the corner of Hereford St by the side of the Avon river, this restaurant is in a magial location and I visited on a warm, sunny evening and sat in the small outdoor terrace fronting the river. A relaxed atmosphere and on the...Tuesday night I visited they had a $30 pizza and glass of wine deal which sounded too good to pass up. A large glass of Pinot Noir accompanied the pepperoni pizza and I have to say the pizza was one of the best I have had (probably only marginally beaten by one I had in Rome many years ago). Service was great, location fabulous and price was very good considering the company it keeps in the neighbouring restaurants. Thoroughly worth a visit!More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Millie Bremner, Marketing at Original Sin, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2024

Thank you for your review! We can agree out pizza is some of the best in Christchurch - we hope to see you again in the future!

Reviewed 10 January 2024 via mobile

We were overnighting and wandering around looking for a place to eat when we found Original Sin. Staff were very friendly and accomodating and the menu had an excellent variety of food and wine. We shared an entree, a main and salad. Topped it off...with a delicious desert!More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Millie Bremner, Marketing at Original Sin, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2024

Thank you for this amazing review! We are so pleased you enjoyed your experience with us!

Reviewed 2 January 2024 via mobile

Location and atmosphere were great. Upon ordering we were advised that 3 items on the menu and 1 item on cocktail list weren't available despite it being only 7pm. Our pastas came covered in cheese with no allowance for personal preference. Wait staff were pleasant...but were rushed, rough and unskilled. The rib eye was great. Pastas not so good and paid a premium for them. Disappointed!More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 October 2023 via mobile

The food was average for the location and style of cuisine, had a pretty good kids’ set menu. The service was underwhelming and inattentive for a quiet night. It does have a nice outdoor seating area, and the decor is excellent.

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Millie Bremner, Marketing at Original Sin, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2023

Hi Andrew, Thank you for taking the time for writing a review. We apologise for the experience you had with us. Would love for you to email feedback@oxfordgroup.co.nz so we could follow up on this further. Thanks Millie

Reviewed 8 September 2023 via mobile

We were visiting from Australia and were looking for a restaurant in which to celebrate my partner's birthday and discovered this restaurant on the river bank. We had the most wonderful experience at Original Sin. The setting and atmosphere were great, as was the music....The food and wine were superb and the service was friendly and efficient. Strangely enough our first two wine choices were unavailable, but our server, who was most apologetic, was able to recommend fantastic alternatives. We would definitely recommend the restaurant for any occasion.More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Janelle Pritchard, Marketing at Original Sin, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2023

Hi Penny, Thank you so much for your review. We are so pleased you had a great dining experience. Thanks, Millie

Reviewed 23 May 2023 via mobile

We booked a table using first table. Good value for money and decent sized portions. Loved my cocktail and the linguine!More

Date of visit: May 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Janelle Pritchard, Marketing at Original Sin, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2023

Hi Jodie, we are so sorry to hear you had a 3 star experience at Original Sin! We would like to follow up with this in more detail so we can check in with our team. If you are able to send an email to...More

Reviewed 23 May 2023 via mobile

Was extremely disappointing to have to send back our entrée as it was undercooked. We then received it again, and it was still not 100% right but made do. Our mains then came our cold. Overall, it was a very disappointing experience considering it was...an empty restaurant, no reason why this should have happened.More

Date of visit: May 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Janelle Pritchard, Marketing at Original Sin, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2023

Hi Sandra, we are so sorry to hear you had a 3 star experience at Original Sin! We would like to follow up with this in more detail so we can check in with our team. If you are able to send an email to...More

Reviewed 5 May 2023

Discovered this excellent restaurant while wandering along Oxford Terrace. There were plenty of customers inside, but even without a booking we were quickly ushered to our table. Original Sin is an Italian style restaurant and we ordered simple dishes - a spaghetti Bolognaise and a...seafood linguine, and I spoilt myself with 1/2 dozen champagne battered Bluff oysters for entree. there was a good drinks choice - including zero alcohol beers and mocktails - and our meals were served quickly and efficiently. My oysters were superb and the mains were simply incredible! They were so good that we returned to Original Sin a few nights later and had the same dishes! The wait staff were polite and pleasant and the tables spaced with plenty of room for conversation. Can thoroughly recommend.More

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Janelle Pritchard, Marketing at Original Sin, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2023

Thank you so much for your five star review!

Reviewed 2 May 2023

We were unbooked and selected restaurant on menu and no loud music for a quiet Sunday dinner. Were quickly and comfortably sat - ambience was excellent, lighting adequate, able to converse. drinks orders were taken promptly and delivered. We ordered a starter and pizza, both...to share. Starter was excellent venison carpaccio with salad and balsamic dressing. pizza was perfectly sized for two, with a thin base, crisp crust and tasty topping (no pineapple!). Finished with tiramisu and affogato. An excellent light meal with great food and excellent service.More

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Janelle Pritchard, Marketing at Original Sin, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2023

Thank you for your five star review! We are glad you enjoyed your experience. Thanks, Millie

Reviewed 1 May 2023

Finding a table without reservations on a busy Friday night in Christchurch isn't easy to do, but Original Sin obliged. Two Pizzas and drinks were quickly provided, the service was excellent. Amazingly for a restaurant (I'm not from round here) a Pint and a glass...of wine were the same price.More

Date of visit: March 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Janelle Pritchard, Marketing at Original Sin, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2023

Thank you John for an amazing review! Glad you enjoyed your experience with us. - Millie

Reviewed 23 April 2023 via mobile

A great option on the Terrace. Visited for lunch on a Sunday. The meals were very good with a good variety of choices. Pizza was great. Entrees were very good, particularly the Venison Carpaccio. My steak was cooked a little over. Good beer & wine...list. Excellent service. Indoor & outdoor seating. I would recommend.More

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Janelle Pritchard, Marketing at Original Sin, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2023

Thank you for your great review! We will pass this onto our team - Emma

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Ibis Christchurch
1,230 reviews
.12 km away
Christchurch City Hotel
67 reviews
.19 km away
Distinction Christchurch Hotel
248 reviews
.27 km away
Flag Hotel Camelot Cathedral Square
52 reviews
.31 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Mumbaiwala Indian Street Kitchen
991 reviews
.11 km away
The Craft Embassy
341 reviews
.05 km away
King of Snake
1,174 reviews
.08 km away
Zodiac
102 reviews
.02 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Cathedral Square
70 reviews
.19 km away
Kate Sheppard Memorial
11 reviews
.25 km away
Latimer Square
28 reviews
.14 km away
The Central
5 reviews
.12 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
SydneySusie
16 December 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from UncleSamNZ | Reviewed this property |
Parking is available in two locations close to the "Strip" - any hotel /motel can help you with finding it.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

ORIGINAL SIN, Christchurch - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions about Original Sin

Original Sin is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4