We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

PRICE RANGE
$7 - $15
CUISINES
American, Fast food
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (36)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveller rating
8
13
7
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
8
13
7
6
1
See what travellers are saying:
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 25 January 2024

We ordered 2 tuna melts, 5 bits of crackling and 2 iced coffees via Uber. Arrived quickly but we were dismayed to find no tuna in our melts, only one piece of crackling 😔. We enquired to Uber who were no help whatsoever so we...contacted the owner? of the Deli and he couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. He advised us what to do and we received the most amazing tuna melts and more crackling. Thank you so much for making it right.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 January 2024

over last 7 years i've probably purchased 50 plus salmon on broadway hero on ciabatta from this outfit - initially about $13.75, these are now $19.75 - no problem with that price hike if quality maintained - sadly this has been on the downward slope...since the lockdowns - formerly a full on taste attack with horse radish, capers & red onion to the fore, this is now a lame, unseasoned salad sandwich with even the minimal salmon component barely detectable - definitely no hint of horse radish today - no surprise the place is now struggling - that was the last strawMore

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 February 2023

Warmed up the bread and tuna but didn't melt the cheese. Cheesesteak with BBQ sauce , very strange. Overpriced in general

Date of visit: February 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 November 2021

We had our old favourites the Harlem Flank and Bronx Beef which were really tasty. Service was good , as was the coffee. Really like the horseradish sauce, the chilli mayonnaise and tender meat with fresh bread and salad greens .

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 February 2020 via mobile

Went with a friend and we both had 1 each. One chicken and 1 pulled pork. The bread was delish. We had grain. Both the sandwichs were average. Not much flavour. Not sure if we should have choosen extra sauces or what. Not much info...from the guy serving usMore

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 August 2019 via mobile

Underwhelming to disappointing. It was filling but if this is the spice rubbed pork I hate to eat the normal one. Everything from the bread to the meat was blend. It wasn’t even toasted properly. 😏 Place is tidy and staff friendly.

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 August 2019 via mobile

I loved the original location on High Street and to a lesser extent the Lincoln Road version and so was excited to find this near my work place. Unfortunately everything that made those locations good seems to have vanished. I ordered a Brooklyn Shortrib that...is normally bursting with meat and salad only to recieve a skinny sandwich with barely any salad. I think the change from pick your own salads misses a major part of why it was good to start with. With each new location the spirit of generosity that encapsulated the original seems to diminish a little bit more and I'm not convinced that's a great business model. It seems to highlight just what goes wrong when a business like this tries to scale to multiple venues. Unfortunately this means I'm done with what was an old favourite. Thanks for the memories.More

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 July 2019

We called in for breakfast on a three day jaunt of Christchurch and, wow, what a disappointment. We were the first and only people there and the fact we had to pay before we received should have served as a warning in itself. Add to...that, the rudeness of the staff member who growled "I bring that", when my friend went to get some cutlery, and that was only the beginning... The mediocre coffees duly arrived and that was exactly what they were - mediocre. That probably explained why so many people detoured past the cafe, and walked the extra distance, to get their takeaway coffees at one of the neighbouring shops, maybe they had been disappointed in the past too! I had specifically asked if the pulled pork was homemade and was assured it was. My expectation of piping hot, mouthwatering, moist, flavoursome shreds of pork turned out to be luke warm, dry hard bits of pork similar to the bits that fall aside when using an electric carving knife on a larger joint...spiced pulled pork it certainly was not. Top that with a tablespoon of undressed coleslaw and that hey presto, that was the $11.50 Wilbur Bagel. Absolute robbery. I had to ask for my bagel to be heated more (as I didn't want to further enhance my dining experience with food poisoning), and I also asked for dressing on the coleslaw, as it had apparently just been pulled out the bag, plopped on the meat, and served dry. The bagel was duly returned heated but then also came complete with the missing apple sauce as per menu description. My friends bagel was equally laughable especially as avocado was one of the main features. Two wafer thin end slices, cut from a halved avocado, not even amounting to 5gm in total. The mixed leaves were certainly not the freshest either and the whole bland concoction barely added any height to the bagel. Shame on you guys. You are certainly not an asset to the Christchurch cafe scene. We didn't hang around to complain as you were nowhere to be seen. If you were customer focused or had a shred of hospitality orientated concern, you would not have served such crap in the first place.More

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?3  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 April 2019

While very pricey for a sandwich, this deli was delicious - fresh quality ingredients on very nice turkish bread. I had the Chicken Soho Sandwich, the larger size lasted me lunch & dinner, with a peach and mango chutney that was delicious.

Date of visit: April 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 March 2019

Ordered the pull pork sandwich and a mocha. I felt it was pretty average. The portion was large though.

Date of visit: March 2019
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 March 2019 via mobile

As a basic meal the Pulled Pork is very tasty. With a side of tea, my friend and I couldn’t resist purchasing a second lunch.

Date of visit: March 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 January 2019 via mobile

The bagels taste alright but are on the small side and a bit sparse with the fillings. You'd never get away with these bagels in New York...

Date of visit: January 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 December 2018 via mobile

We ordered an East Side Bagel and a Vege Bagel. It cost $NZ19.35. The East Side Bagel ($8.40) had a small slice of processed ham, a slice of cheddar, two coin-sized pieces of tomato and a thin spread of cream cheese. Not enticing at all....The Vege Bagel ($10.95) was even poorer value with a teaspoon of avocado, one see-through slice of tomato, a small amount of cream cheese and a tiny topping of mixed greens all sitting on a bed of tomato relish. It looked awful. Terrible value for money. We will not be back!!!More

Date of visit: December 2018
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 December 2018 via mobile

We eat here whenever we are in town. The chips are to die for, crisp, tasty and served with chunky tomato sauce and aioli. The sliders are great for lunch if you aren't hungry enough for a hero. All fillings are excellent, we haven't had...a bad one yet! Staff are helpful and efficient.More

Date of visit: December 2018
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 December 2018 via mobile

We stopped for breakfast on a raining morning. The restaurant is cosy, clean, trendy and delicious! Free water provided and the glasses were very clean! Have seen too many places with filthy free water bottle and glasses, this little detail was most impressive. Food we...ordered were healthy, delicious, well portioned and well presented. We are happy to eat their food any day!More

Date of visit: November 2018
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Christchurch City Hotel
65 reviews
.04 km away
Ibis Christchurch
1,228 reviews
.05 km away
Distinction Christchurch Hotel
244 reviews
.17 km away
Heritage Christchurch
932 reviews
.24 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Mumbaiwala Indian Street Kitchen
986 reviews
.05 km away
Zodiac
99 reviews
.12 km away
Herba Gourmet Ltd
45 reviews
.12 km away
The Rockpool
223 reviews
.11 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Christchurch Cathedral
1,004 reviews
.19 km away
Cathedral Square
70 reviews
.13 km away
CBD Christchurch
64 reviews
.17 km away
Latimer Square
28 reviews
.19 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from New York Deli BNZ Centre staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

NEW YORK DELI BNZ CENTRE, Christchurch - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions about New York Deli BNZ Centre

Yes, New York Deli BNZ Centre offers takeaway services.

New York Deli BNZ Centre is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 3.5
  • Service: 3.5
  • Value: 3