We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mumbaiwala Indian Street Kitchen Restaurant

120 Hereford Street | BNZ Centre, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
+64 3-943 9536
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent64%
  • Very good26%
  • Average7%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“sev puri” (9 reviews)
Open Now
17:00 - 22:00All hours
CUISINES
Indian, Asian, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
LOCATION
120 Hereford Street | BNZ Centre, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 267 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

We wondered in on a busy Satuday during a festival after being sent back into the rain by 4 other restaurants. Thankfully Mumbaiwala found us a cosy spot. We had amazing food, pretty much pick anything and your good! Check in with staff if you...More

Thank Ariane K
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Went here with a friend and we had a great time They're street foods are fantastic and was so different than what you would normally have in any other Indian Restaurants Would definitely recommend trying Mumbai Chicken, Malai Broccoli, Veg Manchurian, Coconut Prawns and many...More

Thank xMickyx14
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

This was a last minute change of plan and I'm so glad it was. As a small group we ordered 4 entrees to share, 1 main, 1 naan and a side dish. Every mouthful was absolutely delicious. The presentation and speed the food came out...More

Thank Rebecca M
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Totally in love with this place, specially the food is very yummy....amazingly delicious....loved the street food...ambience is superb...loved the touch of industrial look blending with their concept of Mumbai...highly recommended.

Thank Bhamini M
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Menu offered some interesting dishes especially the Starters, Main menu was quite limited. Taste was good but no better than our local Indian(Kafal Amberley) Staff were very pleasant & efficient, order taken quickly & meal served quite promptly. Servings were not generous & rice served...More

Thank janhB7129HF
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Visited Mumbaiwala on the occasion of my husband's birthday. Ordered a couple of street food and a main course. Our starters consisted of Mumbai Chicken and Dabeli and it was an absolutely perfect start for our meal. Great flavors and great texture, the chicken was...More

Thank Anukriti B
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Our work came here for a leaving dinner, myself and 4 others have felt sick after eating the food here. A week later I have still felt sick from the food poisoning. Expensive food and would like a refund. I have eaten Indian food before...More

1  Thank rjonsey123
Management response:Responded 4 days ago

Hi rjonsey, Thanks for your comment on Trip Advisor. Your first comment on Trip Advisor is rather surprising as we have never heard from you since you dined. If you had any issue you would of called us to resolve them. Firstly food poisoning does...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Loved the meal- loved the restaurant, definitely coming back to try more of the menu. Lots on offer for vegetarians too and the prices are great- fantastic flavours and not too heavy

1  Thank Beverley B
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Dined for dinner here and got pappadums, lamb kofta balls, vege manchurian, and the chefs special of the lamb shank with naan bread. We could not finish any of the dishes as none were very nice. Poor flavours and textures, the meat was chewy, and...More

3  Thank lns33
Management response:Responded 4 days ago

Hi Ins33, Thanks for your comment on Trip Advisor. Firstly, you called us up the next day after you dined with us, saying you had food poisoning from our food. We talked over the phone mentioning that we cook our food fresh every day hence...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Are you fed up of very sweet butter chicken? How about very creamy curries? If that was a "yes" to both questions, you need to try Mumbaiwala! I reckon that their curries are the best that I have ever tasted! At Mumbaiwala, I believe that...More

1  Thank Lauren_Healey
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Brick Mill Cafe
65 reviews
.12 km away
Dimitris Greek Food
478 reviews
.13 km away
The Rockpool
97 reviews
.08 km away
Nearby Attractions
Quake City
1,116 reviews
.12 km away
Cashel Street
409 reviews
.13 km away
Christchurch Cathedral
670 reviews
.16 km away
Bridge of Remembrance
163 reviews
.17 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Marla H
20 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Hamish68NZ | Reviewed this property |
Kadai chicken - if you like squid - must try the squid bhaji
0
Votes
MeredithNZ
30 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from LawrenceA1 | Reviewed this property |
no.
0
Votes
Monika T
28 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from thetravelshack | Reviewed this property |
I would say 1 1/2 meals per person would be the perfect amount. If you are going as a group of 6 I would get one of everything on their starters menu and highly recommend the Green Beans as a side dish by far the best I have... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Average prices
US$18 - US$37
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 14:00
17:00 - 22:00
Monday
12:00 - 14:00
17:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 14:00
17:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 14:00
17:00 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 14:00
17:00 - 22:00
Friday
12:00 - 14:00
17:00 - 22:00
Saturday
12:00 - 14:00
17:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 120 Hereford Street | BNZ Centre, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Canterbury Region  >  Christchurch
  • Phone Number: +64 3-943 9536
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing