We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Nikau Gallery Cafe

Mercer Street | City Art Gallery, Civic Square, Wellington 6001, New Zealand
+64 4-801 4168
Website
Share
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent57%
  • Very good24%
  • Average12%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“lunch” (36 reviews)
“kedgeree” (34 reviews)
“pancakes” (9 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Cafe, New Zealand, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Mercer Street | City Art Gallery, Civic Square, Wellington 6001, New Zealand
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

Many many moons ago, in the mid-late 90s, I used to travel to Wellington for work quite frequently and Nikau was always a favourite for coffee and/or breakfast/brunch. I had one visit around 2008 and it was still good then. Was in Wellington for the...More

Thank LPAuchterlonie
Reviewed 4 days ago

While I explored Wellington as a tourist, I absolutely fell in love with the Nikau Cafe. The cafe’s atmosphere is warm and welcoming whether you are looking to read a book (like me!), reflect on the pieces from the art gallery, or host a business...More

Thank LCfromtheAC
Reviewed 1 week ago

Love the dirty Chai, even better with almond milk!!! Favourite spot for halloumi as the salad that is pair with it, is always changing!

Thank Curiosity54208676140
Reviewed 30 September 2018 via mobile

The food at this cafe was fine, but the menu is rather bland with not a lot of options. Maybe the week day menu is better, but I wouldn’t walk past other cafes to get to this one.

Thank calebstrawbridge
Reviewed 25 September 2018 via mobile

The kedgeree is their signature dish, even though Zelda Haines the proprietor says in the Nikau Cafe Cookbook (yes its that good i went and bought the cookbook) that she wishes diners would order other things..it's all about flavours and combinations of flavours using fresh...More

1  Thank Robert C
Reviewed 20 September 2018

Nikau has been a Wellington Icon for years leading in the way in terms of service and quality. Nikau has very much been a destination for those looking for the legendary Kedgeree and high quality treats. It never needed signage because there was always a...More

Thank Fernetdan
Reviewed 11 September 2018 via mobile

My team and I decided to go to Nikau as we heard it was a delicious brunch spot and we were not disappointed. The staff were more than accommodating with a large booking at the last second and service was superb. I ordered a cappuccino...More

1  Thank Michelle H
Reviewed 16 August 2018

I visited Nikau with my husband in July. The staff were very friendly and happy to help. I had not had an experience with ordering coffee in New Zealand, the staff were helpful and explained the different choices to me. Coffees were very good once...More

1  Thank helenshickens
Reviewed 1 August 2018

Had breakfast at Nikau Cafe last Sunday. Food was OK but not spectacular. Customer service was very poor to the extent I felt unwelcome. Not a smile, not a friendly word, just sour looks and begrudging service from the waitress who acted like she was...More

Thank butters125
Grace P, General Manager at Nikau Gallery Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Hi butters125, thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback for us. I am sorry to read you did not have an outstanding experience with us, which we take pride in being able to provide for our guests. With regards to the service,...More

Reviewed 27 July 2018 via mobile

We arrived 10 mins early to a table booked at 7.00am. The door was unlocked and the table was ready but we were asked to wait outside in the cold until 7.00am. We came for coffee not breakfast and that was stipulated when booking but...More

Thank Steve D
Grace P, General Manager at Nikau Gallery Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Hi Steve D, thank you for bringing this to our attention. I agree that we should have handled the situation better. I have spoken to the staff who was on that day. We will make sure that if situations like this happen again, we can...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 48 hotels in Wellington
West Plaza Hotel
538 reviews
.15 km away
Mercure Wellington Central City Hotel and Apartments
620 reviews
.34 km away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
3,228 reviews
.34 km away
Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel
612 reviews
.41 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Apache
243 reviews
.16 km away
The Green Man Pub
365 reviews
.18 km away
Kaffee Eis
85 reviews
.12 km away
The Lido Cafe
181 reviews
.16 km away
Nearby Attractions
Wellington i-SITE Visitor Information Centre
532 reviews
.17 km away
Wellington City Library
268 reviews
.08 km away
City to Sea Bridge
253 reviews
.13 km away
Frank Kitts Park
192 reviews
.15 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Nikau Gallery Cafe staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$20
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Business meetings, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Monday
7:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Tuesday
7:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Wednesday
7:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Thursday
7:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Friday
7:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Mercer Street | City Art Gallery, Civic Square, Wellington 6001, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Greater Wellington  >  Wellington
  • Phone Number: +64 4-801 4168
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing