We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Nikau Gallery Cafe

Mercer Street | City Art Gallery, Civic Square, Wellington 6001, New Zealand
+64 4-801 4168
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent56%
  • Very good25%
  • Average12%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“lunch” (36 reviews)
“kedgeree” (32 reviews)
“halloumi” (7 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Cafe, New Zealand, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Mercer Street | City Art Gallery, Civic Square, Wellington 6001, New Zealand
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

Nikau has been a Wellington Icon for years leading in the way in terms of service and quality. Nikau has very much been a destination for those looking for the legendary Kedgeree and high quality treats. It never needed signage because there was always a...More

Thank Fernetdan
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My team and I decided to go to Nikau as we heard it was a delicious brunch spot and we were not disappointed. The staff were more than accommodating with a large booking at the last second and service was superb. I ordered a cappuccino...More

1  Thank Michelle H
Reviewed 16 August 2018

I visited Nikau with my husband in July. The staff were very friendly and happy to help. I had not had an experience with ordering coffee in New Zealand, the staff were helpful and explained the different choices to me. Coffees were very good once...More

1  Thank helenshickens
Reviewed 1 August 2018

Had breakfast at Nikau Cafe last Sunday. Food was OK but not spectacular. Customer service was very poor to the extent I felt unwelcome. Not a smile, not a friendly word, just sour looks and begrudging service from the waitress who acted like she was...More

Thank butters125
Grace P, General Manager at Nikau Gallery Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Hi butters125, thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback for us. I am sorry to read you did not have an outstanding experience with us, which we take pride in being able to provide for our guests. With regards to the service,...More

Reviewed 27 July 2018 via mobile

We arrived 10 mins early to a table booked at 7.00am. The door was unlocked and the table was ready but we were asked to wait outside in the cold until 7.00am. We came for coffee not breakfast and that was stipulated when booking but...More

Thank Steve D
Grace P, General Manager at Nikau Gallery Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Hi Steve D, thank you for bringing this to our attention. I agree that we should have handled the situation better. I have spoken to the staff who was on that day. We will make sure that if situations like this happen again, we can...More

Reviewed 10 July 2018

A really good flat white cafe should be a walk in the park for a cafe of this pedigree. Sadly too many pretty boys on front-of-house duty who were too busy enjoying themselves instead of making good coffee. Won't be back for coffee.

Thank KSAX88
Reviewed 17 June 2018

Good food and coffee. It’s in the Lonely Planet recommended list, and they mention their Sage Eggs but it’s really overrated. The location is awesome though - seems like it's in the middle of the arts district.

Thank Neha G
Reviewed 19 May 2018 via mobile

A quick Saturday lunch break during a course in central Wellington. Nikau was busy as always but the service was friendly and fast. The kedgeree, which I hadn't had for years was as outstanding as ever - back to the days when those in the...More

Thank alexbH5837JU
Reviewed 27 April 2018 via mobile

Went for a business breakfast, while the food was good the service was so slow that it took over 40 mins to get our food. Unfortunately now will cross off our breakfast meeting list.

Thank Nick G
Reviewed 24 February 2018 via mobile

Wandered in on a lovely sunny day, feeling in the mood for a coffee and a cake...sadly all the seats outside were taken but inside was bright and airy. Very welcoming service, the inside seems more set up as a restaurant cafe rather than a...More

Thank HRCB79
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 46 hotels in Wellington
West Plaza Hotel
528 reviews
.15 km away
Mercure Wellington Central City Hotel and Apartments
606 reviews
.34 km away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
3,164 reviews
.34 km away
Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel
598 reviews
.41 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Apache
229 reviews
.16 km away
The Green Man Pub
359 reviews
.18 km away
Kaffee Eis
83 reviews
.12 km away
The Lido Cafe
177 reviews
.16 km away
Nearby Attractions
Wellington i-SITE Visitor Information Centre
528 reviews
.17 km away
Wellington City Library
266 reviews
.08 km away
City to Sea Bridge
249 reviews
.13 km away
Frank Kitts Park
189 reviews
.15 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Nikau Gallery Cafe staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$20
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Monday
7:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Tuesday
7:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Wednesday
7:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Thursday
7:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Friday
7:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Mercer Street | City Art Gallery, Civic Square, Wellington 6001, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Greater Wellington  >  Wellington
  • Phone Number: +64 4-801 4168
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing