We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Whitebait

1 Clyde Quay Wharf | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
+64 4-385 8555
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent67%
  • Very good22%
  • Average9%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“snapper” (39 reviews)
“oysters” (43 reviews)
“sorbet” (22 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Mediterranean, European, New Zealand, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
1 Clyde Quay Wharf | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (404)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 398 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

We dined here on our last night in Wellington and were not disappointed. The decor draws you in to the underwater world it serves with subtle shapes that reflect the flavours on the menu. We could not resist the degustation with matching wines. Not big...More

Thank atripaway
Restaurant's Favourite
Reviewed 6 September 2017

This place is ASTOUNDING! I'd go to Wellington just to eat here. Probably one of the top 3 restaurants I have ever eaten at... Host was so very gracious, food was beyond compare. Wow... just.... Wow!

1  Thank John W
Louise-Director, Owner at Whitebait, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

WOW just love your comments, thank you so much.

Reviewed 1 week ago

We were really looking forward to eating here. The food was superb but the whole evening was ruined by having to wait well over an hour for the main course. Perhaps as it was a Monday evening they were short of staff.

Thank Ross B
Reviewed 1 week ago

A perfect place for that special occasion. Although parking during the day would be awkward the challenge would still be worth it. We were celebrating a special occasion, although I didn't mention this to the restaurant, and the service, delivery and food made the evening...More

Thank 710grahama
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We enjoyed a superb meal at Whitebait in Wellington on a beautiful Sunday evening. You can enjoy a tasting menu or order traditionally with entrees and mains. The wine list is excellent with plenty of craft beers. The service was good with a little bit...More

Thank jdsamsara
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The location is fantastic, with views of the bay. Decoration is beautiful. The waitresses are very nice, polite and helpful (specially Rebecca)! Oysters were amazing, very fresh. All of the food was delicious. Very good wine list.

Thank Natalia N
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had a business dinner at Whitebait with some colleagues. To say I was pleasantly surprised would be an understatement. It wasn’t like I was expecting a poor meal but I certainly wasn’t expecting a meal that would knock my socks off. I had the fruit...More

Thank klkh2002
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited as a "walk in" and were very lucky to get a table in a very busy resturant. Table staff were terrific. The seafood tasting menu that we had was amazing. We thoroughly enjoyed each of the eight dishes. At $110 we thought it...More

Thank gilby190754
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It was one of those nights when they just couldn’t get the service right! I went with my husband to celebrate his birthday - our lovely daughter had given us a voucher but oh dear the service let them down. We just seemed to have...More

Thank Hilary51
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

very interesting seafood selection. Oysters, scallops, and Kahawai starting the menu. 2nd course of Cloudy Bay Storm clam with a bacon bone broth, very tasty. 3rd course Wild Kingfish crisp, (is there tame Kingfish?) again excellent. 4th course West Coast Whitebait Tarte (very very rich,...More

Thank Ian-R-Bray-JP
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
One80o Restaurant & Lounge Bar
481 reviews
.26 km away
Hippopotamus
906 reviews
.32 km away
Istana Malaysia Restaurant
471 reviews
.40 km away
Nearby Attractions
Museum of New Zealand (Te Papa Tongarewa)
10,694 reviews
.32 km away
Harbourside Market Wellington
90 reviews
.26 km away
Circa Theatre
72 reviews
.47 km away
Saint Gerard's Catholic Church and Monastery
11 reviews
.46 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Marilyn I
17 July 2016|
Answer
Response from SuzieLock | Reviewed this property |
Not sure sorry, all depends on where the fireworks are let off from. I would suggest telephoning Whitebait and asking them directly.
2
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$16 - US$68
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Reservations, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Business meetings, View, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
5:30 PM - 11:00 PM
Monday
5:30 PM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
5:30 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
5:30 PM - 11:00 PM
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
Thursday
5:30 PM - 11:00 PM
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
Friday
5:30 PM - 11:00 PM
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
Saturday
5:30 PM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 Clyde Quay Wharf | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Greater Wellington  >  Wellington
  • Phone Number: +64 4-385 8555
  • E-mail
Description
Located at Clyde Quay Wharf overlooking the Wellington waterfront, Te Papa and the city skyline Whitebait is the brainchild of owner, Paul Hoather. Whitebait focuses on showcasing local seafood in it's purest and simplest form. Alongside the seafood the menu features locally sourced game, lamb and vegetarian dishes. The kitchen makes their own ricotta, pasta and bread using local artesian water.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing