We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Whitebait Restaurant

1 Clyde Quay Wharf | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
+64 4-385 8555
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent69%
  • Very good21%
  • Average8%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“snapper” (33 reviews)
“seafood” (56 reviews)
“sorbet” (21 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Mediterranean, European, New Zealand, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
1 Clyde Quay Wharf | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Write a Review
Reviews (351)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 351 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Whitebait was recommended to us by the staff at Ohtel - like Ohtel it was a quality experience. Beautiful restaurant that purveys a warmth and friendliness whilst at the same time being very professional in its dining experience. Beautiful fresh, vibrant, local seafood creatively crafted...More

Thank kts17
Reviewed 1 week ago

Family group of 7 prebooked, exellent service, meals were great in all a great night out for our special occasion

Thank leog38
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We spent a dinner at this place. I love seafood so I took a "fruit of sea" as a starter. 26$, so I expected something pretty big, a little disappointed when I've seen the plate. One small oyster, one small clam and one small shrimp....More

Thank Morgane P
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had the degustation menu, with wine match, from the moment we walked through the door was excellent, staff very professional, food was a wow factor, every course was Devine, my favourite was the venison and then the pear soufflé my husbands was the Oysters...More

Thank Mish580531
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went for our anniversary dinner and didn't regret it. The starters were amazing I had the wagu beef tongue with smoked bone marrow. Ordinarily I stick with the more low key dishes but decided to challenge my tastebuds and never regretted it. Absolutely delicious. The...More

Thank TrevorKeough
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went to this restaurant because my partner loves seafood, although I'm not a big fan so I was hesitant. However I was pleased to find that they have great meat options on the menu (As well as vegetarian) and I really enjoyed my meal....More

Thank young_traveller3
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is the second time we have visited here in the past two months and it was so much better this time to the disappointing meal experience we had in April which admittedly was a first, as we have been on numerous occasions where we...More

Thank Julieg1965
Louise-Director, Owner at Whitebait, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for the lovely feedback and we were thrilled to read that you had a much better experience this time.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice ambient restaurant with great staff and great food , very good seafood menu for that TASTE OF NEW ZEALAND

Thank Paul M
Louise-Director, Owner at Whitebait, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for the comments - we are very proud of our New Zealand seafood.

Reviewed 14 May 2017 via mobile

Great service and pretty good food. Fish cooked beautifully. As expected, not the range offered at its counterpart restaurant Charley Noble being more seafood based but still not bad. The Waikanae crab tart was very delicate but the egg yolk overpowered it unfortunately. Still tasty...More

Thank Cynthia N
Louise-Director, Owner at Whitebait, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback - we cooked the Sunday roast long and slow in our charcoal oven which does result in a crust on the outside.

Reviewed 12 May 2017

Haha at last we have a seafood restaurant in the best city in the world that is equal or better than the Fish restaurant in Oban!!!

Thank Fishothebest
Louise-Director, Owner at Whitebait, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Love the feedback - our team all work incredibly hard to deliver the best in the best city in the world.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Istana Malaysia Restaurant
420 reviews
.40 km away
Hippopotamus
830 reviews
.32 km away
One80o Restaurant & Lounge Bar
397 reviews
.26 km away
Nearby Attractions
Museum of New Zealand (Te Papa Tongarewa)
9,969 reviews
.32 km away
Harbourside Market Wellington
82 reviews
.26 km away
Circa Theatre
69 reviews
.47 km away
BATS Theatre
18 reviews
.42 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Marilyn I
I'm planning a dinner for a 60th birthday & wondered if I made a booking for 6 people on the 5th November, would we be able to be seated with a view of the harbour to take in the fire works display?
17 July 2016|
Answer
Response from SuzieLock | Reviewed this property |
Not sure sorry, all depends on where the fireworks are let off from. I would suggest telephoning Whitebait and asking them directly.
2
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$17 - US$72
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Reservations
Good for
Business meetings, View, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
17:30 - 23:00
Monday
17:30 - 23:00
Tuesday
17:30 - 23:00
Wednesday
17:30 - 23:00
Thursday
17:30 - 23:00
Friday
17:30 - 23:00
Saturday
17:30 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 Clyde Quay Wharf | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Greater Wellington  >  Wellington
  • Phone Number: +64 4-385 8555
  • E-mail
Description
Located at Clyde Quay Wharf overlooking the Wellington waterfront, Te Papa and the city skyline Whitebait is the brainchild of owner, Paul Hoather.

Whitebait focuses on showcasing local seafood in it's purest and simplest form. Alongside the seafood the menu features locally sourced game, lamb and vegetarian dishes. The kitchen makes their own ricotta, pasta and bread using local artesian water.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing