We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$11 - US$23
CUISINES
Bar, Pub, New Zealand, Fusion, Gastropub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about

Location and contact

Kelburn
1.7 km from Museum of New Zealand Te Papa Tongarewa
Improve this listing
Reviews (110)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveller rating
55
29
11
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
55
29
11
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews burger cheesecake garden bar range of beers last night small plates relaxed atmosphere love this place
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Restaurant's Favourite
Reviewed 6 September 2020 via mobile

We live round the corner and pop in every so often with the kids (or when we can without them!). Every time we turn up the team are really welcoming and helpful which sets the tone as to the focus of the KVP. There is...a good range of beers which change often and the staff are always happy for you to taste them. The current owners have revamped the food menu and priced it well so you are encouraged to return more often than just for the one off special occasion. The food is really good and the burgers sublime... We really love this place and it’s so good to have a local that you enjoy supporting. Of course it’s not just for locals - everyone is welcome!!More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
869kierstenk, Owner at Kelburn Village Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2020

Kia ora MaidaValeBoy, Thanks for making our day by letting us know what you love about the KVP! We love having locals like you! Cheers

Reviewed 1 September 2020

I love this place. My wife and I pop in every two weeks or so and whilst we are certainly not 'locals' the bar manager usually remembers what she drinks. The beer taps change often and the service is good. I have read some of...the other reviews and feel some have an expectation of a five start restaurant when its a local pub. I have found the food really good. Keep it up and hope the person who wrote the review under your name instead of Kelburn Cafe removes the post.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
869kierstenk, Owner at Kelburn Village Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2020

Kia ora 433stevew, You'll always be a local to us. Thanks for the great review! Team KVP

Reviewed 25 July 2020

for a cafe that is pretty much empty I don't understand how its possible to serve rock hard poached eggsMore

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?1  
869kierstenk, Owner at Kelburn Village Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2020

Dear Sam, We are sorry to hear of your disappointing experience. As the Kelburn Village Pub we have no ownership or influence over the Kelburn Cafe. We take our reviews seriously and would appreciate it if you would leave your review for the accurate location...More

Reviewed 27 May 2020 via mobile

Had dinner on a Saturday night with a group of six friends. The restaurant was very busy and we had to wait some time for our booked table. Once at the table the service was really poor and only got worse across the night. Had...to ask for additional drinks, water, salt and pepper etc. Plates weren’t cleared quickly and we were not offered desert or coffee. That said, the food was very nice. Having to wait two hours to get our main courses is not ok. The restaurant got quieter but the service didn’t improve and it really felt like they couldn’t be bothered. The service at Kelburn Village Pub falls far short of the Wellington standard.More

Date of visit: May 2020
Helpful?
869kierstenk, Owner at Kelburn Village Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2020

Dear Kiwigirl100, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are very sorry to hear about your experience - it is certainly not the experience we aim to give our customers. We had a very unusual situation on Saturday night in...More

Reviewed 17 February 2020

A lovely local pub in this village location. We were taken by friends and their family. I had a great burger. The rest also enjoyed their food in a lovely ambience made better by the efficient knowledgeable and helpful staff. Will certainly return on our...next visit to WellingtonMore

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
869kierstenk, Owner at Kelburn Village Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2020

Thank you for taking the time to review us. It's helpful for us to hear from customers what they like about the KVP, so we can make sure to keep it up! Looking forward to seeing you again :)

Reviewed 9 January 2020

i had the burger with bacon and fries last night and (I know this sounds a little ridiculous, but . . . who cares) I have honestly never eaten a better hamburger in my entire life. Each bite was like a transforming experience. Incredible meat...quality. Juicy. Just absolutely exquisite. And then there was the staff. Unbelievably laid back, relaxed atmosphere . . . . with friendly attentive service at the same time. Almost forget to mention the nice selection of smaller label craft beers (no, not the usual Lion/DB "craft" clones with no hops). Funny how hard it's become to not be faced with only Macs, Montieths, Steinlager, Speights, etc when you walk into a "pub" hoping for a REAL beer. And then to finish it off . . . . . a beautifully prepared slice of cheesecake that looked like an art project . . . . and an absolutely delicious flat white (that name really didn't do it justice). I'll remember last night for a very long time. Thanks so much.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Kiersten K, Owner at Kelburn Village Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2020

Dear KevsCountryBunker, It sounds like we made your night last night and today you made ours. Thank you so very much for the lovely review. It's always helpful to hear from our customers and rewarding as well when we have succeeded in giving them a...More

Reviewed 14 December 2019

Usually a with great, friendly pub a garden bar and dining area, but can. without notice, be booked out, as was last night, by special functionsMore

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?1  
Kiersten K, Owner at Kelburn Village Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2019

Dear Kiwi-Pat, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We can understand how disappointing it would be to make plans to come to the pub and find it booked out. Due to some last minute changes that night and the large number of...More

Reviewed 12 October 2019 via mobile

Service was good Dinner was average at an average price. Drinks list the same. To be fair it was no problem for the to do gluten free and dinner came in a good amount of time. Dinner and drinks for 2 $66. It would be...good for meeting mates for a quiet and some small plates.More

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?1  
Kiersten K, Owner at Kelburn Village Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2019

Dear Ella, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. Over the past couple of years we have tried offering first class food. The feedback we received was that people really wanted more traditional 'pub grub' at typical pub prices....More

Reviewed 15 September 2019

Visited Kelburn Village Pub in a Friday night without a booking. They made us feel welcome and made an managed to finds us a table before we finished our first drink. Food was delicious and interesting. Will definitely be back, next time with a bookingMore

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?
Kiersten K, Owner at Kelburn Village Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2019

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We're very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience at the KVP. We're always happy to go out of our way to find a table, but bookings are a safer way...More

Reviewed 29 August 2019

Dinner on the spur of the moment last night on our way home from the city. We both had the Wellington on a Plate burger accompanied by Happy Daze beer - perfect in every way!

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?
Kiersten K, Owner at Kelburn Village Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2019

Dear Doreen, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. We are so happy to hear that your visit was perfect!! We like to think of ourselves as a great alternative to dining in the city :)

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Te Puni Village
23 reviews
.52 km away
Trinity Hotel
637 reviews
.97 km away
Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel
747 reviews
1.01 km away
Willis Wellington Hotel
476 reviews
1.07 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Yellow Chilli
171 reviews
.04 km away
Rita
81 reviews
.78 km away
Garage Project Taproom
46 reviews
.77 km away
Aro Cafe
65 reviews
.77 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
ZEALANDIA Ecosanctuary
2,740 reviews
.75 km away
Lady Norwood Rose Garden
307 reviews
.80 km away
Space Place at Carter Observatory
460 reviews
.71 km away
Wellington Cable Car
6,500 reviews
1.04 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Kelburn Village Pub staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing