We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Crab Shack

$$ - $$$, Seafood,
Queens Wharf | Queens Wharf, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent42%
  • Very good39%
  • Average13%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“crab” (300 reviews)
“seafood” (210 reviews)
“calamari” (72 reviews)
Closed Now
Bar, Seafood, New Zealand, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
$$ - $$$
Queens Wharf | Queens Wharf, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (1,561)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 1,464 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Visited Crab Shack with friends. We had clam chowder, fish pie and the shack stack steaks, the latter of which was incredible. Service good and nice atmosphere.

Thank Oliver M
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

We ate here on Wednesday evening, seated right by the window. Service was excellent and the food was very tasty and enjoyable, as was the wine we had to accompany our meal.

Thank LoriYau
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Place was busy which is why we chose this place. About a 30 minute wait for a table. Waitresses were all really lovely and friendly. Smoked fish pie was ok, a little over cooked Fish taco was tasty Clam chowder was yummy Pear and apple...More

Thank Tarawera99
Reviewed 1 week ago

Perfect location, good atmosphere and interesting decor. One of several staff was enthusiastic, helpful and working hard. Others were not so interested in providing service. Food was just average. We watched a number of families enthusiastically pick there way through fresh crabs - they seemed...More

Thank brisvegasgirl2018
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Unfortunately, I cannot recommend this restaurant. From the moment we walked in, we were treated as if we didn’t belong there. The service was lousy and the food not far behind. I’m not sure if they just don’t like Americans, but we felt their attitude...More

Thank FZLimner
Reviewed 1 week ago

Right in the middle of Queens wharf, the Crab Shack has a nice feel with it and lovely views out over the harbour. The food was really average though, which was a real shame. There were 6 in our group and everything was pretty average,...More

Thank matautraveller
shed5crabshack, Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback, and we are thrilled to hear you enjoy our vibe and our views. I appreciate you letting us know about the food, and we will certainly take this feedback on board. Hopefully you come...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Good way of blowing $60 on a bottle of wine in an environment worthy of the MacDonalds play area. Staff made the mistake of placing us adults in amongst several tables swarming with poisinous goblins. Nice place to go to waste money and watch selfish...More

Thank NZBeerMonster
shed5crabshack, Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello, I am sorry you didn't enjoy your experience with us. We aim to please everyone who dines with us which includes customers who are small and active. We acknowledge that children can be very excited and sometimes hard to keep still, and we have...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We called in for an early meal, no booking, on a Thursday night before we went to WOW and it was extremely busy but they found us a table very quickly. The service was excellent, told us the kitchen was busy and advised us to...More

Thank Margaret C
shed5crabshack, Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

We are proud to hear such amazing feedback for the busiest event of the year. The Crab Shack has been here for 5 WoW shows now and we seem to run like a well oiled machine. And we LOVE all the ladies who dine with...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Was really busy due to WOW - but service still good. Really is posh fish n chip shop. Friendly staff and deep fried food - you can't go wrong. And location / location / location.........More

Thank amr100
shed5crabshack, Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for the wonderful feedback, the 'Fush & Chups' has been a winner since being introduced on our menu recently. It is a posher version, featuring a white fish caught by local fishing companies, often a nice meaty Groper or a flaky Tarakihi. Cheers...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Came in nice and early after missing out a few times and managed to get a seat quickly which was great. The food takes quite a while to arrive even when moderately busy and isn't really anything to sing and dance about. It is just...More

Thank makomartin
shed5crabshack, Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hello, I am sorry to hear you weren't treated to our usual top notch service. We are a very busy and buzzy little restaurant, but we pride ourselves on being very attentive, even whilst under pressure so I apologize that we didn't maintain our usual...More

Nearby HotelsSee all 48 hotels in Wellington
InterContinental Wellington
1,712 reviews
.19 km away
ibis Wellington
2,391 reviews
.22 km away
Quest on Johnston
193 reviews
.28 km away
Doubletree By Hilton Wellington
53 reviews
.30 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Chameleon Restaurant
404 reviews
.16 km away
Shed 5 Bar & Restaurant
973 reviews
.02 km away
Charley Noble Eatery & Bar
923 reviews
.13 km away
Nearby Attractions
Wellington Museum
1,144 reviews
.14 km away
City to Sea Bridge
252 reviews
.38 km away
Frank Kitts Park
190 reviews
.28 km away
Wellington Underground Market
186 reviews
.29 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Shaq M
3 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from gazzy43 | Reviewed this property |
Hi Shaq. Sorry - just seen your question a week late. Try calling them to ask. One of my Grandsons has an allergy problem so if we were to go to any place (let alone Crab Shack) we would explain our issue and see if they... More
6 November 2016|
Response from Steven R | Reviewed this property |
No I dont think so. You can see the menu on the Internet if you google the crab shack -Wellington NZ
6 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from harvey s | Reviewed this property |
No sorry
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
US$10 - US$23
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Wheelchair Accessible, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
View, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
11:30 AM - 10:00 PM
11:30 AM - 10:00 PM
11:30 AM - 10:00 PM
11:30 AM - 10:00 PM
11:30 AM - 10:00 PM
11:30 AM - 10:00 PM
11:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Queens Wharf | Queens Wharf, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Greater Wellington  >  Wellington
  • Phone Number: 649164250
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing