We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Crab Shack

$$ - $$$, Seafood,
Queens Wharf, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
649164250
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent42%
  • Very good39%
  • Average13%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“crab” (320 reviews)
“seafood” (225 reviews)
“calamari” (76 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, Seafood, New Zealand, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Queens Wharf, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (1,602)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 1,503 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

Haven't been here before but reviews all good. And have to say the food and service was up there with the best! The shack itself was once a cargo shed for ships bringing goods to NZ. Although renovated to save that ambiance, which is nice,...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Maureen D
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Staff are lovely but there are either not enough of them or the kitchen cannot cope with the volume of orders. Maybe it was just a bad night. Food was fine when it did arrive -but nothing out of this world.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Origami_kid
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

What a fabulous place to eat at. The area is right on the harbour but with a few warehouses out front. The music is welcoming. No thump thump, just great 70s 80s tunes. Loved my meal and good NZ wine of course !

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank VickiB3032014
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Visited on our last evening in Wellington - very busy and vibrant restaurant which is obviously popular with many locals. Be advised that on the evening we went you couldn’t book so you may want to factor that in to your plan for your evening...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank T1278HTnickp
shed5crabshack, Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Cheers for the excellent feedback! We love having tourists in our restaurant because we can showcase New Zealand seafood. We are thrilled to hear that our awesome team offered friendly kiwi service and looked after you well. Hopefully you'll tell all your friends to stop...More

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

We have been to this place several times and come out satisfied every time. They offer different daily special at half priced, which is a must to us. We love the chicken wings, which is the special on Wednesday. The soft crab taco is also...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank ShaifulKL
shed5crabshack, Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Cheers for the awesome feedback! We hope to see you and your friends again soon! Crab Shack

Reviewed 4 days ago

You cannot reserve a table unless it’s for ten or more, so be prepared to queue. It is worth it. Cheesy garlic bread went well with the mussels and the shrimp mac and cheese was awesome, calamari was tender and crispy and the booze milkshake...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank hgtravel2018
shed5crabshack, Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Cheers for the awesome feedback. The mussels are always a hit, and they go great with a Marlborough Savvy. Now that the weather is great we hope you come and dine in our courtyard or our deck next to the water. Cheers, Crab Shack

Reviewed 6 days ago

Stopped in here for a lunch on a vary busy day. Even though it was busy we easily got a table. The staff were friendly and each of them asked us about our day and if everything that was served was alright, much appreciated. A...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank SydneyBambam
shed5crabshack, Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Cheers for the awesome feedback, we are busy at this time of year but we are sure to keep our standards high. Thank you for dining with us, and having a choice time with your friends and family. Crab Shack

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was one of the worst experiences we have ever paid for. The Service was hands down the worst we have ever come across. They forgot where we were sitting whilst holding the two dishes and walking up and down the deck. They asked us...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Ronanirishkiwi
shed5crabshack, Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

We apologize that you didn't have a good dining experience with us. We are usually consistently good and organised however we missed the mark on the day you dined. Our deck has recently opened for summer, and Friday was the first day we had opened...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The cheesy garlic bread is good. The rest was not. Went to The Crab Shack tonight while in town for business. I ordered the clam chowder, cheesy garlic bread, and the clam fettuccine. The chowder was serviceable but kind of bland. The garlic bread was...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank KaulyJo
shed5crabshack, Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hello, we appreciate your feedback about your experience with us, and we apologize that you didn't enjoy your meal. Our Fettuccine dish is one of our most popular meals that we serve, and the recipe has remained the same since the day we opened, making...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Aside from the slight inconvenience of not being able to book a table for eight people (minimum booking ten) we had a great night. Excellent service, brilliant food (the calamari, mussels, crab and lamb rump are to die for!!) and a great atmosphere made for...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank 2015FamilyK
shed5crabshack, Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Cheers for the wonderful feedback, we appreciate it! Hope to see you again for some kai moana! Cheers, Crab Shack

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 48 hotels in Wellington
InterContinental Wellington
1,740 reviews
.19 km away
ibis Wellington
2,415 reviews
.22 km away
Quest on Johnston
195 reviews
.28 km away
Doubletree By Hilton Wellington
80 reviews
.30 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Chameleon Restaurant
412 reviews
.16 km away
Shed 5 Bar & Restaurant
995 reviews
.02 km away
Charley Noble Eatery & Bar
951 reviews
.13 km away
Nearby Attractions
Wellington Museum
1,168 reviews
.14 km away
City to Sea Bridge
257 reviews
.38 km away
Wellington Underground Market
186 reviews
.29 km away
Civic Square
178 reviews
.28 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Shaq M
3 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from gazzy43 | Reviewed this property |
Hi Shaq. Sorry - just seen your question a week late. Try calling them to ask. One of my Grandsons has an allergy problem so if we were to go to any place (let alone Crab Shack) we would explain our issue and see if they... More
0
Votes
qinni
6 November 2016|
Answer
Response from StevenR245 | Reviewed this property |
No I dont think so. You can see the menu on the Internet if you google the crab shack -Wellington NZ
1
Vote
qinni
6 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from harvey s | Reviewed this property |
No sorry
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$10 - US$24
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Wheelchair Accessible, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Bar Scene, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, View, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Monday
11:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
11:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday
11:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
11:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Friday
11:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Saturday
11:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Queens Wharf, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Greater Wellington  >  Wellington
  • Phone Number: 649164250
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing