We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About
In a relaxing and friendly environment we invite our guests to revel in all the freshness and goodness our little slice of the world provides. Nestled in a spot where land meets sea, the Portlander is a unique take on the grill house concept - one which is local, seasonal, cultivated... and just a little bit wild. We're about superb cuts of meat, prepared to perfection and finished in style. Bloody rare and rather well done - it's the ideal place to eat meat and greet. PORTLANDER is the proud winner of 'BEST RESTAURANT' at the Hospitality New Zealand Awards for Excellence 2015
PRICE RANGE
$27 - $54
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
CUISINES
Steakhouse, European, New Zealand, Grill
FEATURES
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Street Parking, Digital Payments, Non-smoking restaurants, Sports bars, Gift Cards Available
Reviews (871)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
843 results
Traveller rating
488
185
89
51
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
488
185
89
51
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steak ribs oysters bread chicken eye fillet buffet breakfast dining experience rydges mouth
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 23 January 2024 via mobile

Portlander is always good, had lunch there today 23/1 and must say staff are tops in presentation and service. Food was A1 and steak was cooked as I ordered (and I’m a fussy old curmudgeon). My wife’s dish was also great and we will return...with friends. Cheers, RodMore

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rydges Team, Marketing at Portlander, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2024

Wow! Thank you so much for the awesome review! We're so glad you enjoyed your meal!

Reviewed 2 January 2024

We ate in Portlander twice during our stay in Rydges Wellington. We had some good, less than good and bizarre experiences. Some of the food was delicious for example the burgers and the sticky date dessert, others were very bland (clam linguine and the fish...of the day which was salmon that day). The bizarre came when we were considering ordering a steak and we were told that a 700 gr sirloin would take 70 minutes to cook! We asked to double-check with the chef and he said it could probably be done in 50 minutes. We understand the searing, finishing in the oven and resting, but 50-70 minutes for a steak is something we've never experienced in our lives and we've had a lot of steaks around the world. The restaurant was not full by any means.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 December 2023 via mobile

What arrogance. The waiter explained they could not honor your cook request for your steak, instead you got it how the chef chose to prepare it. I’ve had plenty of chef meals and I’m fine trusting the chef generally, but at an expensive steakhouse you...usually get your steak like you like it. I can’t think of any reason for this other than their convenience or chef arrogance. Regarding service, the bar staff and drinks were outstanding. We dined as a group, and service was horribly slow. Several considered leaving hungry, rather than continuing to wait, and most left before dessert. The steaks were good, not great, when served, mostly cooked rare to medium rare, albeit uneven. The side dishes were all terrific. So, and overall uneven experience, some very good, and some quite disappointing.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 October 2023 via mobile

I was lucky enough to get an invite to the Fine Wine Masterclass for wines from the Church Road Winery. It was a great event, the MC had a brilliant knowledge of the wines and really engaged with us all. The wines were superb and...are well and truly on my go to list from now on. Well done to all involved.More

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rydges Team, Marketing at Portlander, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2024

Thanks so much for the great review and taking the time to write it! We look forward to seeing you in the next one!

Reviewed 3 September 2023 via mobile

We went for the ‘Trust the Chef’ option, which is 5 courses (3 entrees, 1 mains and 1 dessert). You don’t know what will be brought to your table, but we were not disappointed. The entrees were mozzarella salad, clams, and lamb ribs. The main...was sirloin steak with sides, the dessert was sticky date pudding and ice cream. We were very hungry when we arrived and fit to burst when we left. The food was of exceptional quality, the service was very swift, attentive and friendly (the young lads who waited on us deserve a mention), and it was reasonably priced. Will definitely be back. If you’re a fussy eater, maybe stick to something from the menu. If you’re prepared for anything, I highly recommend the Trust the Chef option. It was also good to see the restaurant buzzing on a Saturday night.More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rydges Team, Marketing at Portlander, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2024

What an outstanding review! Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review, and we look forward to seeing you again soon hopefully!

Reviewed 29 July 2023 via mobile

I was lucky enough to win an invite to the Prime Club Masterclass. It was a truly great night with a brilliant chef leading the night. The food was the Wellington on a Plate burger ‘Napoleon’s Dynamite”. If you get get a chance to try...the pork burger you will not be disappointed. Highly recommended.More

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rydges Team, Marketing at Portlander, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2024

Awh! We love your review BrendenM65. Thanks so much for taking time out of your day to give us some love!

Reviewed 5 May 2023

We had the absolute best night out. It seems we were lucky enough to come here after they changed back to their full menu. We actually had a hard time narrowing down out options, there was just too much to choose from! The food was...amazing. We tried each of the oysters, my partner had the pork belly (which he said was delicious) while my friends and me had a steak each. Whoever the chef on that night knocked it out of the park. Our waiter Ethan was lovely. Generally, the staff was extremely friendly and happy. We will definitely be back.More

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rydges Team, Marketing at Portlander, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2024

Thank you so much for this amazing review! We're so glad you enjoyed your meal and service and we look forward to having you back with us again soon!

Reviewed 12 April 2023

Very disappointing & misleading - special of the night waitress tells us about is the $15.00 aged steak - took for ever to come out & came out by itself & went cold time our other meals came to the table. Staff young & dumb...to be blunt. Went to pay for our meal & they charged us $82.50 for the steak - so apparently the special was $15.00 per 100 grams which we were not told! The lady taking payment didn't seem to care how unhappy we were & just wanted payment - they don't care about customers at all. Breakfast is very average I would not go back ever again. At breakfast we spoke to a lady who was also staying at upstairs & had the steak special she was saying the same thing happened to her & how unhappy she was so it seems they have there staff misleading customers on the special so watch out for this place!More

Date of visit: March 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 April 2023

I have been to the Portlander quite a few times in the past and would have rated it in the top 5 restaurants in Wellington before this experience. On arrival (we were booked in a group of 6 and arrived in two groups of 3,...I approached the bar to order a ;pre dinner drink. Tye bar manager asked if we were staying at the hotel. I said no. He then asked if we were booked into the restaurant. I answered in the affirmative and gave him the name and he went to check the booking. These questions were fine - as there are service laws applying the alcohol service on Easter Sunday, and staff are up for personal fines if the law is not complied with. The Bar Manager made it very clear that he wanted us to move through to the restaurant before consuming alcohol. he was very reluctant to serve the group any drinks. He even came up to us 10 minutes before our booking was due saying our table was ready "and he would prefer under the alcohol rules that we moved through to the restaurant" Section 47 of the Sale and Supply of Alcohol legislation makes it clear that patrons can be served alcohol if they are "on the premises to dine". Once it was established we were there to dine (by him checking our booking), there was no need for the further conversations and pressure to move through to the restaurant. It was only when I rather firmly told the bar manager that we were clearly here to dine as he had already established and wanted to enjoy a pre-dinner drink in the bar, that he finally dropped the subject. The whole situation put quite a dampener on the experience - and we hadn't even got in to the restaurant yet! The only reason the rating is a 3 is because of the food. The food remains generally very good, though the current struggles for hospitality staff did show though. A drink was forgotten, and there seemed to be no "house" selection available, so it you ordered a "sauv" for example there was a big scramble and a return to the table to ask what particular "sauv" you would like. Not a major criticism, but just seemed a bit strange. Service on drinks was quite slow and one was missed, but not the end of the world given current conditions. A small niggle with the food was "Mr Chips Crinkle Cut Chips" was on the menu and for some reason straight cut fries arrived. Again not the end of the world though. Leaving the bar manager interactions aside which in my view was totally inappropriate behaviour from him, this establishment is going to have to work hard to maintain their current good reputation in Wellington.More

Date of visit: March 2023
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 April 2023 via mobile

While staying at the Rydges we went down for dessert and a drink after having dinner in town. The staff were super accommodating with our drinks and the pannacotta was absolutely incredible, one of the best desserts we've had. We also had the gelato which...was delicious. Great restaurant and lovely staff, also enjoyed the decor and atmosphere.More

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 March 2023

Went to dinner at the Portlander after months of renovations having been completed and was looking forward to it, but was extremely surprised in comparing the night with a good dozen or more dinners I have experienced there. It was not the experience I was...expecting quite honestly. The wine we ordered turned out to be 3.5 times the amount you can pay at a supermarket. Nice wine, just over priced. The entree's we had was Lamb ribs. Last time I went, they were cooked in a beautiful rich bourbon bbq sauce. This time, they came with a mint sauce condiment. The Lamb was a very poor cut to be sure. Ribs presented, were contained with-in a small fist size compacted servings. Very fatty and under cooked. The main I ordered was a medium Sirloin. It came medium rare and more towards the rare (bloody) than medium. One of our group choose the Salmon and although very nice, was enough to fit onto a small spoon. The tomato salad was nice, as was the green salad. The waiter was extremely helpful and friendly and could not fault the cleanliness of the place. I won't be back in a hurry though, which for me is unfortunate, as the food used to be on a whole different level. One thing that struck me is they have removed the salt and pepper shakers from all tables because they wanted us to eat the food as prepared. Sorry Portlander, but thats up to the customer. We are after all, the one's paying for the food.More

Date of visit: March 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 March 2023 via mobile

Joined my family here for dinner two days ago. Atmosphere was lovely - not too loud. We were served by Maddy and her trainee who were absolutely amazing to deal with. Maddy was knowledgeable and friendly. She made great wine recommendations and seemed to have...vast knowledge of the wines on their list. Food was outstanding - I had the cheeseburger and it was juicy and so filling. Would 100% come back.More

Date of visit: March 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 March 2023 via mobile

No pictures as we gobbled so quickly. Incredible food and service. Could not fault a thing. Oscar our waiter was knowledgeable, friendly and extremely attentive. We will definitely be back.

Date of visit: March 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 March 2023 via mobile

Oscar made our evening! Very good food prepared to perfection. The whole team tailored our experience with wine and deserts to the highest standard.

Date of visit: March 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 February 2023

It is always about expectations and unfortunately the breakfast buffet was not what I expected. It might have been the time we visited, but I expect the food on a buffet to be good also for the last visitors. This was not the case. The...little girl that joined us took the last pancakes that were still there. They were so dried out. They should have been thrown away or replaced. Also the choice of pastries was very limited. Same for the cereal and fruits. Not a lot of bread choice either. Again it might have been the time as we were late, but there was still 45 minutes into the allocated breakfast time. I dont recommend to have breakfast hereMore

Date of visit: January 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Rydges Wellington
3,229 reviews
.03 km away
Wellesley Boutique Hotel
454 reviews
.08 km away
Quest On Johnston
225 reviews
.22 km away
ibis Wellington
2,693 reviews
.34 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Dillinger's Brasserie & Bar
246 reviews
.20 km away
The Old Bailey
272 reviews
.21 km away
La Cloche Central
55 reviews
.09 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Northern Explorer Train
683 reviews
.25 km away
Wellington Railway Station
209 reviews
.19 km away
Old Government Buildings
138 reviews
.18 km away
New Zealand Portrait Gallery
88 reviews
.24 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Phillip C
27 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 12 answers
Response from Rejjjjjjjjjjjj | Property representative |
Hi there, Great to hear you are on your way back to our side of the world. Our average head spend for a meal is about $80 including a couple of drinks and two courses - this is around 45 - 50 pounds.
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

PORTLANDER, Wellington - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions about Portlander

Yes, Portlander offers takeaway services.

Yes, Portlander is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Portlander is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4