We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
CUISINES
Seafood, European, New Zealand
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Highchairs Available, Live Music, Waterfront
Reviews (1,316)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
1,276 results
Traveller rating
662
305
151
93
65
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
662
305
151
93
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coconut cake fish and chips pork belly scallops bluff oysters degustation menu steak salad plant based set menu special occasion fish of the day new zealand waterfront function wharf platter
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed today

I had some relatives visiting from out of the country I hadn't seen for several years, and wanted to go somewhere special for dinner. I had been to Dockside several times before and enjoyed it all but once, around COVID time when I heard their...chef was replaced, so it had been a few years going back. Fingers crossed I gave it a go and was NOT disappointed. There were six of us in our party and all had drinks, entrees, mains and desserts. All loved the food which was of a high quality and prepared impeccably. My wife and I had gone to dinner at a different location a week prior and commented on how delicious our cocktails were compared to our other restaurant - my wife even said that "this made up for the others we had recently." Service was great and to a high standard (and I can be critical in that area). The waitress knew the menu well and was able to offer recommendations for one member of our party with an allergy. Nothing was too much for her, and she was genuine and friendly. View by the water was great - lucked out with a wonderful Wellington evening. If anything, chairs got slightly uncomfortable after awhile (but might have been because we were there quite long enjoying ourselves), they were out of oysters (but other restaurants had been out as well, due to their being out of season), and thought they'd offer more seafood on their menu as they had in the past seeing as they were by the water - but, didn't impact us having lots of choice and all enjoying what we had. Thank you Dockside, was awesome, gave us a great memory.More

Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed today via mobile

Numerous flavours on every plate. Staff friendly and attentive, pleasant partial waterfront location. Pricing very reasonable..

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 days ago

It was our 39th wedding anniversary. What better place to celebrate on a perfect Wellington day on the deck overlooking the water. The person serving us asked if this was a special occasion and arranged for out dessert to have "Happy Anniversary" written on the...desserts - his attention to to us and conversation about the importance of family added to occasion. The only comment I would add is that I come from the West Coast of NZ - the whitebait fritter was not bad but the eggs were a bit heavy making ut more of an omelette.More

Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Really enjoyed our whitebait and the oysters (which were not on the menu) but the waitress was so obliging. Nothing was a problem. Our guests were from a cruise ship and they were most impressed. Will dine here again..

Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I have dinned at Dockside of the years without problems. However, today the only positive point was the nice staff. My order was crumbed fish. The three pieces overcooked fish was less than appetising. I have never seen such a big helping of less inviting...chips, all different sizes and most unpeeled to some degree. Further, my glass of Perini was in a dirty glass, something I did not notice until empty.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went for dinner and drinks prior to the foo fighters. It took atleast 30 minutes to be served at our table for food and drinks each time. Staff were disorganized and walking in circles. Atmosphere was dull given the city had a significant concert on....Probably wouldn't go againMore

Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Conrad Banks, General Manager at Dockside, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Kia ora, We're sorry to hear you were unhappy with your experience on a very big day in Wellington. With the extra numbers of guests in over the course of the day our wait times were higher than normal, our team were working hard to...More

Reviewed 15 January 2024

My wife and I visited Dockside on 13th Jan 24, to celebrate our 35th Wedding anniversary. We chose the seven course Premium Tasting Menu with matching wine selection. It looked delicious and we were not disappointed. Each course looked and tasted fantastic, and the final...course had an unexpected personal touch – the Chef had written “Happy Anniversary” on my wife’s dish. She was delighted and this small gesture exemplified the service throughout the evening. A special thanks to Nancy, our waitress for the evening. This was her first time serving and explaining the tasting menu courses, and she rose to the occasion magnificently. Well done and sincere thanks for making this anniversary special for both of us.More

Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Conrad Banks, General Manager at Dockside, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are so pleased you enjoyed your anniversary dinner dining on our wonderful Degustation menu. We love to hear when our team go the extra step to help make your day a special one. We hope to see you for the next one!

Reviewed 13 January 2024

Been on the bucket list for a while and didn't disappoint. Service was outstanding, from the moment we arrived and acknowledged by every one who passed us that we would be attended to shortly (they were busy). Food was on point, fresh and delicious. Only...issue was the mussels in my partners starter weren't cleaned properly and that's the only reason food gets a very good instead of excellent. Thanks Dockside!!More

Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Conrad Banks, General Manager at Dockside, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Kia ora, we're delighted to hear that you enjoyed everything Dockside has to offer while ticking off a bucket list! I've passed the feedback on regarding the mussels to the kitchen team. Thank you very much, The Dockside Team

Reviewed 13 January 2024

Excellent food, absolutely exceptional! Wait staff were nice but quite absent and the seating provided was rather uncomfortable. Also a hot evening and no fans or air conditioning seemed to be on.

Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Conrad Banks, General Manager at Dockside, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed our menu offering here at Dockside. I have passed the other feedback onto the relevant managers. Many thanks, The Dockside Team

Reviewed 12 January 2024 via mobile

Very disappointing with the service and understanding from the staff. We had dinner on the upper level at 6.30pm and our table was in radiating sun. We asked to move tables as we could not even speak with our table guests as the sun was...in our eyes. We contemplated just leaving but waited for our mains. We quickly ate an average meal and left. We mentioned it to the waiter and his approach was “yeah I’ve been here for 4 hours” - not the reply we wanted. The restaurant needs to know that many more guests were also complaining about the sun and honestly should not sit people in this area. At the end of the top floor was a whole area that was not with any sun and no guests, perhaps the restaurant needs to think about the seating arrangements for the time of seating it’s guests. Please also note that the area with no sun had no guests even as we quickly exited.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Conrad Banks, General Manager at Dockside, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Kia ora, Firstly we are dissapointed to hear our team did not respond in a way that reflects our core beliefs as a restaurant to your complaints. This has been passed on to the training team and wider management. We are aware that during the...More

Reviewed 10 January 2024

The oysters where out and the mussels where cold, we had the same 2 days ago and it came in a pot, hot and perfect. The side we have choosen was garlic and rosemary potatoes, we actually love it, but there was neither garlic nor...rosemary for 15 NZD, although the location was nice we cannot recommend this place.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Conrad Banks, General Manager at Dockside, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are dissapointed to hear that your recent experience with us did not meet our usual high standards. We always want our guests leaving feeling happy, well looked after, and ready to return.

Reviewed 7 January 2024

Waiter was really friendly and helpful. The food was stunning. The wine was really good. The view out of the restaurant was gorgeous. Overall we had a really fantastic evening

Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Conrad Banks, General Manager at Dockside, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2024

Kia ora, So thrilled to hear both the team and our location looked after you well! Have a very lovely new year. The Dockside Team

Reviewed 5 January 2024

We dined at Dockside on New Year's Eve and our food was fantastic. 3 courses at a great price. Service was spot on. Highly recommend for any occasion.

Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Conrad Banks, General Manager at Dockside, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2024

Kia ora and Happy New Year! We're so happy to hear that New Years Eve treated you well and that you decided to spend the end of 2023 with us! The Dockside Team

Reviewed 5 January 2024

Food was excellent- service was great and venue was beautiful. Enjoyed visit immensely and highly recommend.

Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Conrad Banks, General Manager at Dockside, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2024

Kia ora, Thank you for leaving such a great review! Many thanks, The Dockside Team

Reviewed 2 January 2024

Absolutely love Dockside! The food is amazing and the service is top notch. Great atmosphere and lovely decor with great views. Can’t recommend highly enough!

Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Conrad Banks, General Manager at Dockside, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2024

Afternoon Karen, We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your experience with us here at Dockside and our beautiful waterfront building. We hope to see you again soon. Many thanks, The Dockside Team

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
InterContinental Wellington, an IHG Hotel
2,099 reviews
.21 km away
ibis Wellington
2,694 reviews
.24 km away
Quest On Johnston
225 reviews
.30 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Wellington
416 reviews
.32 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Shed 5 Bar & Restaurant
1,478 reviews
.04 km away
Charley Noble Eatery & Bar
1,211 reviews
.14 km away
The Crab Shack
2,030 reviews
.02 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Wellington Museum
1,368 reviews
.12 km away
Civic Square
186 reviews
.28 km away
Old Bank Shopping Arcade
37 reviews
.30 km away
New Zealand Portrait Gallery
87 reviews
.18 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
ImaBrit
19 October 2020|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from conradb495 | Property representative |
We are open Christmas day for lunch. We have designed a set menu that is $129 per adult including a glass of Pol Roger. Thank you!
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

DOCKSIDE, Wellington - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions about Dockside

Dockside is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5