We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hippopotamus

90 Cable Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
+64 4-802 8935
Website
Share
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent65%
  • Very good21%
  • Average8%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“chateaubriand” (29 reviews)
“crepe suzette” (18 reviews)
“salmon sashimi” (12 reviews)
Open Now
6:30 AM - 10:30 PM Hours
CUISINES
French, European, New Zealand, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
90 Cable Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (1,005)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 967 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Breakfast was terrible. What a waste of money. Limited selection in buffet that wasnt looked after. Disorganised staff. Menu food wasnt great either.More

Thank JoeWilsson
QTWellington, Manager at Hippopotamus, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear JoeWilsson, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We're disappointed to hear that our food and service was not up to our usual high standards on this occasion. You’ll be pleased to know that we’ve recently upgraded our breakfast setting and...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great reviews to date and rightly so. Well located, easily spotted with a huge gold hippopotamus at the front. Staff were excellent in service and knowledge. Sommelier and maitre d deserves a special mention- bombarded them with questions of their more unique (pricier) drops which...More

Thank DrSteveTan
QTWellington, Manager at Hippopotamus, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear DrSteveTan, Thank you for your kind words. We’re thrilled to hear we provided you a 5-star experience on all counts. We love our Crêpes Suzette too - a deliciously entertaining feast for all the senses! The scaffolding are gone so we are looking forward...More

Reviewed 9 October 2018

Biggest let down of our Wellington visit. Advertised as a special event for the WOW experience it was a huge disappointment. When the booking was made we were told the time frame was 12 to 3pm. We arrived at 12.30pm and made our way to...More

Thank jopeg2014
QTWellington, Manager at Hippopotamus, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Jopeg2014, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We're disappointed to hear our service let you down; this is certainly not up to our usual high standards. Please rest assured your comments regarding the lack of information regarding your reservation has...More

Reviewed 9 October 2018

Nice classy place for breakfast and with a great view. The waiting staff were very nice and the food was nice. Although I think they were premixed scrambled eggs...More

2  Thank Jenny L
QTWellington, Manager at Hippopotamus, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Jenny L, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are delighted to hear your positive comments regarding the food, service & unique décor! Please rest assured we serve free range and freshly scrambled eggs in our Breakfast buffet. We are...More

Reviewed 8 October 2018

This was our second visit and breakfast again was a highlight. The food is delicious with the buffet hot dishes being a favourite. The portobello mushrooms in rosemary sauce and their potato rosti were se good we needed seconds. The view was obscured by the...More

Thank Martine L
QTWellington, Manager at Hippopotamus, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Martine L, Thank you for your kind words! We’re pleased to hear that you enjoyed our food and attentive service. Rest assured the scaffolding has been removed so you can enjoy uninterrupted harbour views on your next visit. We are looking forward to welcoming...More

Reviewed 3 October 2018

Nice ambiance, good service and very tasty food. We opted for a la carte for breakfast instead of buffet and were not disappointed.

Thank Lisa S
QTMuseumWellington, Manager at Hippopotamus, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dearbluegoldhighlander, Thank you for sharing your recent dining experience with us. We’re pleased to hear that you enjoyed our food and attentive service. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon to enjoy more A La Carte dining. Kind regards, Florent

Reviewed 3 October 2018

We went for the WOW high tea, which was to die for.The staff are excellent and attentive, silver service. Lovely quirky surroundings, and views of the Bay I would highly recommend this place.More

Thank MAGICK52
QTMuseumWellington, Manager at Hippopotamus, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

DearMAGICK52, Thank you for your lovely words! We are glad to read that we were able to provide you a 5-star experience on all counts for our WOW inspired Edible Art High Tea. We look forward to welcoming you for more memorable dining experiences. Until...More

Reviewed 3 October 2018

We had a lovely high tea here to celebrate a family birthday. The staff were helpful and knowledgeable, the food was delicious and the tea kept coming. The art work in the hotel is very interesting and worth a look.

Thank finlaygj
QTMuseumWellington, Manager at Hippopotamus, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dearfinlaygj, Thank you for sharing your recent dining experience with us. We're thrilled to be able to treat you to a quality experience on all counts for your special celebration. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Florent

Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

A lovely meal. With an outstanding drinks menu. Worth coming to try out a little sample of the enormous selection. Something like 60 types of Gin. The desserts were also very good with the chocolate and caramalised banana and the raspberry pannacotta both recommended.More

Thank KimP3784
QTMuseumWellington, Manager at Hippopotamus, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dearcatsongea, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. We are delighted to hear your positive comments regarding the service and food for your hubby's birthday. For next time we do have a separate Vegan/Vegetarian menu, next time please inform...More

Reviewed 1 October 2018

We came here for my husbands birthday. The service was paced slowly - I think that was on purpose to make the night an event. The food was well done and well presented. There were 4 or five seafood starters - nothing non seafood. The...More

Thank catsongea
QTMuseumWellington, Manager at Hippopotamus, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dearcatsongea, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. We are delighted to hear your positive comments regarding the service and food for your hubby's birthday. For next time we do have a separate Vegan/Vegetarian menu, next time please inform...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 48 hotels in Wellington
QT Wellington
2,080 reviews
.04 km away
U Residence Hotel
882 reviews
.18 km away
Bay Plaza Hotel
451 reviews
.25 km away
Ohtel
449 reviews
.28 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Field & Green
169 reviews
.11 km away
Istana Malaysia Restaurant
531 reviews
.11 km away
Monsoon Poon
714 reviews
.17 km away
Nearby Attractions
Museum of New Zealand (Te Papa Tongarewa)
12,206 reviews
.15 km away
Cuba Street District
1,944 reviews
.15 km away
Harbourside Market Wellington
109 reviews
.06 km away
Circa Theatre
85 reviews
.25 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
jtf2611
10 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 12 answers
Response from scribblerz | Reviewed this property |
Yes, but it is wise to book.
0
Votes
jtf2611
10 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 10 answers
Response from 2007noodle | Reviewed this property |
Yes but must specify when booking
0
Votes
EmmaW4692
8 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from QTWellington | Property representative |
Absolutely! We have a cocktail bar if you're looking for a glam place to drink!
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$20 - US$32
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Waitstaff, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine, View, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
6:30 AM - 10:30 PM
Monday
6:30 AM - 10:30 PM
Tuesday
6:30 AM - 10:30 PM
Wednesday
6:30 AM - 10:30 PM
Thursday
6:30 AM - 10:30 PM
Friday
6:30 AM - 10:30 PM
Saturday
6:30 AM - 10:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 90 Cable Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Greater Wellington  >  Wellington
  • Phone Number: +64 4-802 8935
  • E-mail
Description
When you are looking for a delicious dining experience in a stunning setting try QT Museum Wellington's flagship, French inspired restaurant – Hippopotamus. Our broad menu is peppered with a delicious mix of comfort food and fine-dining dishes that are designed to satisfy your hunger. Our skilled service team will weave their way in and out of your experience ready to recommend their favourite dish and aperitif. In our adjoining Cocktail Bar mixologists armed with all the hip, new cocktails and a host of firm favourites that can either be enjoyed while you dine, or as a pre and post dining spot.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing