We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Phoenix Tauranga

Is this your business?
$$ - $$$, European,
67 The Strand, Tauranga 3112, New Zealand
+64 7-578 8741
Website
Share
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent47%
  • Very good41%
  • Average8%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“brunch” (16 reviews)
“angus burger” (8 reviews)
“pizza” (43 reviews)
Open Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, European, Pub, New Zealand, Pizza, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
67 The Strand, Tauranga 3112, New Zealand
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (425)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 408 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

In Tauranga for the Easter Jazz festival, Phoenix was nicely located to a band we were enjoying. Our group grew and we ended up having lunch here. The place was crazy busy and food orders were at a separate counter, with a lengthy queue. Clearly...More

Thank KiwiKerry53
Ralph W, Owner at The Phoenix Tauranga, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for your great review of the Easter Jazz Fest weekend. We are delighted that you chose 'The Phoenix' to enjoy the busy atmosphere with the 'fab' music and sunshine. Due to the massively high volume of people that gravitate to The Strand, Tauranga...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Popped in for a business dinner not realising that Thursdays are cheap nights! Great burger, chips and a beer for $15. Can't argue with that! Really packed and noisy but great waitstaff & service. Will be back.More

Thank diver201
Ralph W, Owner at The Phoenix Tauranga, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are delighted that you were pleasantly surprised with what was on offer at The Phoenix and that the waitstaff and service you experienced were equally 'fabulous'. This is our aim.Thank you also for showcasing one of our many great rituals on offer which we...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A great spot for a casual drink or food. Great service from the bar but unfortunately the table service was disappointing. She was slow, we had to go and get our own menus then she offered to bring them over so followed me back to...More

Thank Kokako64
Ralph W, Owner at The Phoenix Tauranga, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you rate us a 'great spot' with great bar service. Respectfully, we would happily have recovered your table service yesterday and the bacon matter had you brought these matters to the attention of a manager. The...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited for dinner and pints on a Friday night when we were visiting Tauranga as part of our trip to NZ. We were served by an Irish lad (Dean? Not sure if I have the right name) who promptly seated us and gave good...More

Thank chatelaine76
Ralph W, Owner at The Phoenix Tauranga, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Wow! Thank you for your excellent review and feedback on our team and your experience with us at The Phoenix. This is always our aim and we are delighted that we got it 'all' right for your visit to Tauranga. A big thank you to...More

Reviewed 13 April 2018 via mobile

went for lunch on Monday with my daughter and baby grandson. waiter was the best. lovely warm manner. offered to refill the baby's bottle and heat it. the food was delicious. best fish I have had in a long time. definitely will be back there...More

Thank Alana C
Ralph W, Owner at The Phoenix Tauranga, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2018

Thank you Alana for your excellent rating and feedback. It is great when we get it all right! A warm manner and going that extra mile is what we strive to impress on our team as service. That the waiter was the 'best' is recommendation...More

Reviewed 7 April 2018 via mobile

Met up with friends for a spot of lunch whilst we were in the area. Place was empty at 11.30am so we sat down and after a drink, placed our order. Food was ready reasonably quickly and was well presented when it arrived. The menu...More

Thank Chris H
Ralph W, Owner at The Phoenix Tauranga, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Thank you Chris for advising that our prices are reasonable and that your food was well presented and arrived quickly. We do have a substantial menu catering for all price levels, tastes and sizes, including the children, our specials and rituals. The menu will soon...More

Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Had dinner and drinks here, food was average, ok but just plain old pub food. The service wasn’t too much better, staff were nice enough but took awhile, weren’t that attentive and didn’t give off a welcoming vibe. Wouldn’t bother coming backMore

Thank ypup
Ralph W, Owner at The Phoenix Tauranga, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

We totally respect you opinion as everyone has a different perspective. We do mostly receive rave comments when farewelling customers on our food and the welcoming atmosphere we strive to create. Unfortunately the greater percentage of happy people are not the people who write reviews....More

Reviewed 2 April 2018

Visited here for a family brunch on Easter Monday , where to begin ....First the drinks order was mucked up then 15 minutes after ordering our food we were then informed that the kids pancakes were not an option . Changed our orders , 40...More

Thank 623andre
Ralph W, Owner at The Phoenix Tauranga, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

We are truely sorry to read your comments of your experience with us on Easter Monday holiday. There were some waits on what was the 2nd busiest day of the last year at our establishment. Our aim is that every customer has equally the best...More

Reviewed 2 April 2018

Had lunch we enjoyed a pizza and chips it was nice a fast even thro it was busy a good selection of beer......

Thank bopmitch
Ralph W, Owner at The Phoenix Tauranga, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you for your excellent rating and feedback, especially at Easter which has been our busiest time ever! We trust you will be back to see us again soon... :-)

Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

Never been here before. Walked The Strand looking for an early dinner. Everyone else were virtually empty but The Phoenix was filling up. We decided to try what others obviously already knew was a good thing and we weren’t disappointed. Beware, serving sizes are large...More

Thank louisehQ1632FR
Ralph W, Owner at The Phoenix Tauranga, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Thank you for your excellent rating & recommendation. We are delighted to read you were a 1st time visiter to our venue and loved it! It is always our hope that we can deliver the level of experience that you enjoyed. We look forward to...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 58 hotels in Tauranga
Harbour City Motor Inn
190 reviews
.18 km away
Strand Motel
41 reviews
.19 km away
Quest on Durham
147 reviews
.22 km away
Durham Motor Inn
107 reviews
.32 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Momo Teppan-Yaki
156 reviews
.08 km away
Macau Bar Kitchen and Lounge
411 reviews
.02 km away
Volare
379 reviews
.05 km away
Nomad Food & Wine
123 reviews
.04 km away
Nearby Attractions
Hairy Maclary & Friends Tauranga Waterfront Sculpture
187 reviews
.06 km away
The Elms
86 reviews
.66 km away
Tauranga Art Gallery
92 reviews
.20 km away
Tauranga i-SITE Visitor Information Centre
66 reviews
.11 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
caley c
18 April 2016|
Answer
Response from justgowithit2015 |
Menu is on their website thephoenixtauranga
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, European, Pub, New Zealand, Pizza, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Groups, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine, View, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
8:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Monday
10:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
10:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday
10:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
10:30 AM - 12:00 AM
Friday
10:30 AM - 12:00 AM
Saturday
8:30 AM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 67 The Strand, Tauranga 3112, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Bay of Plenty Region  >  Tauranga
  • Phone Number: +64 7-578 8741
  • E-mail
Description
The Phoenix is the latest addition to the family of Monteith's Craft Beer Bars. We strive to excel in what we do, and provide GREAT FOOD and FRESH BEER to the people of Tauranga. We are passionate about the hospitality industry and strongly believe this is what helps us stand out in the crowd. The Phoenix is designed to be a place where people can come and relax, socialise and be themselves. We hope to bring new, fresh ideas to Tauranga with our different menu, designer cocktails, craft beers and service. We hope you enjoy your visit at The Phoenix Tauranga.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;