We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
About
The Phoenix is the latest addition to the family of Monteith's Craft Beer Bars. We strive to excel in what we do, and provide GREAT FOOD and FRESH BEER to the people of Tauranga. We are passionate about the hospitality industry and strongly believe this is what helps us stand out in the crowd. The Phoenix is designed to be a place where people can come and relax, socialise and be themselves. We hope to bring new, fresh ideas to Tauranga with our different menu, designer cocktails, craft beers and service. We hope you enjoy your visit at The Phoenix Tauranga.
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
CUISINES
Bar, European, Pub, New Zealand
FEATURES
Takeout, Seating, Parking Available, Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Live Music
Reviews (576)
Filter reviews
557 results
Traveller rating
266
194
56
22
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
266
194
56
22
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brunch pizza beet salad steak pork belly great atmosphere friday night great lunch nice food beer waterfront
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

If you are aiming for mediocrity, the Phoenix is a wild success. We turned up without a booking as ANZAC Monday meant lots of places were closed. We were told to take a seat and it was over 10 minutes before we saw a waitperson,...who then gave us menus and water. Another 10 minutes before our drinks order was taken. Another 10 minutes before we got our drinks - they were a wine and a beer, not complicated cocktails. We ordered pizza and beer battered fries. The food took over 30 minutes to arrive. To be fair, it was quite busy and the restaurant seemed a little understaffed as tables weren’t being cleared quickly (a personal bugbear). Two tables of people who arrived after us got their food first - another thing that drives me mad. When the food did arrive, it was quite nice. The pizza was pretty decent and the chips were good. Would we rush back or recommend? Meh.More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Busy on a Friday night so perhaps this explained the not-that-friendly or attentive service. Standard pub food - not bad, not great, not at all memorable. OK overall but won't bother going back.

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 16 April 2022

Stopped here for late lunch, was excellent choice. Staff helpful and friendly, food fresh and tasty. To wash it down lovely jug of Monteith's cider. We decided on steak meal and steak was cooked just as I like it. Highly recommend.

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 7 March 2022 via mobile

Six of us had dinner here, each of us ordered a different main and all of us raved about our meals! Will definitely be going again.

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 January 2022 via mobile

First time in this bar ,always looks popular .we had wanted a late lunch but accepted only pizzas were available at 3 pm .we were hot and thirsty so after 15 minutes wait one of us went to find water. Eventually we placed an order...but the service was terrible. The staff came by, avoided eye contact and had no idea how to scan around to see what was going on. Very disappointed as had taken visitors, thank goodness not from overseas .pizzas quite nice, some cutlery might have been useful.More

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?
Pioneer45420167456, Owner at The Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2022

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your comments and sincerely apologise that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. We were utterly slammed early till late for 5 days continuously over the New Year with a lesser than previous workforce due all...More

Reviewed 12 November 2021

Really enjoyed our time here. our waitress Maria was so attentive, when the clouds came over she unasked organised a table inside in case it rained. A lovely meal and very well priced ((Friday was pizza special night which we didn't know) and a pleasant...atmsphere. All round a great night.More

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
Pioneer45420167456, Owner at The Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2021

Thank you Ed H for your great feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your nigh and we thank the lovely Maria also. Trust we see you again. The Phoenix Tesm 😊

Reviewed 7 November 2021 via mobile

Great ambience for a Sunday late afternoon bite and drink. Due in no small part to the live music of Josh Pow. It’s the reason we chose this restaurant in the restaurant lineup along the waterfront. My beef salad was delicious. If the music is...playing I’ll be back again.More

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
Pioneer45420167456, Owner at The Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2021

Thank you for your fab review and for joining us on a Sunday, “yes” live music is here every Sunday 3pm-6pm. We have a great new menu & specials too so looking forward to seeing you again soon. The Phoenix Team :-)

Reviewed 1 November 2021

The Phoenix provide both an indoor and outdoor seating experience. As a regular it is great to be acknowledged and have the team remember what you drink. Service is consistent as is the quality of the meals. The patio area provides a lovely view of...the water and is the best area to enjoy an any weather get together with friends or family. Bookings can be made for groups and rarely can they not accommodate even large groups with a reasonable amount of warning. There is parking close by and you can walk to anywhere in the city including Picture theatres or even Bay Court in minutes so it is the perfect place for a get together before or after events.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
Pioneer45420167456, Owner at The Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2021

Thank you Phil for remaining a ‘regular’ and for the all round hit the spot review. The Phoenix Team 😃

Reviewed 31 October 2021 via mobile

Decided on a late lunch on our travels so we stopped by. Attentive staff who were polite and friendly. Food service was prompt and very tasty. Highly recommend

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
Pioneer45420167456, Owner at The Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2021

Thank you for stopping with us and your awesome recommendation. The Phoenix Team 😊

Reviewed 25 October 2021

Very pleasant dinner at Phoenix. Great pizzas. Strive was attentive and good beer. Great spot for a casual feed.

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
Pioneer45420167456, Owner at The Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2021

Thank you for visiting and for your great recommendation. The Phoenix Team 😊

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Harbour City Motor Inn
220 reviews
.18 km away
Strand Motel
48 reviews
.19 km away
Quest on Durham
170 reviews
.22 km away
Durham Court Motor Inn
126 reviews
.28 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Macau Bar Kitchen and Lounge
555 reviews
.02 km away
The Hop House
118 reviews
.09 km away
The Dry Dock Cafe
182 reviews
.09 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Hairy Maclary & Friends Tauranga Waterfront Sculpture
236 reviews
.07 km away
The Elms
128 reviews
.66 km away
Tauranga Art Gallery
125 reviews
.20 km away
Tauranga i-SITE Visitor Information Centre
73 reviews
.11 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
caley c
18 April 2016|
Answer
Response from justgowithit2015 |
Menu is on their website thephoenixtauranga
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Phoenix

Yes, The Phoenix offers takeaway services.

The Phoenix is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5