We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Phil's Place Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
101 Te Awanui Drive | Tauranga Bridge Marina, Tauranga, Tauranga 4550, New Zealand
+64 7-574 4147
Website
Today
11:30 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:30 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

209 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 206: English reviews
Mangawhai, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2016

I was there for a Christmas work function tonight, absolutely beautiful presented and yummy tasting meals, our waiter was friendly, polite and knowledgeable, staff were wonderful, couldn't fault anything - would definitely go back again :-)

Helpful?
Thank amypie71
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2016

Fabulous food, staff were helpful, funny and everything arrived at our table in a timely manner. Every dinner guest with us commented on how yummy the food is and all of us eat out a lot so we have a good grasp of what's fresh, seasonal and well prepared and cooked.

Helpful?
Thank Raewyn L
Whitianga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
83 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2016

We visited Phil's Place for lunch and were seated in a private room of the main restaurant to celebrate our 10th Anniversary. I have to say from the moment we arrived we were greeted by Joe and Penny and given such a warm restaurant they were busy and why we ended in the VIp Suite overlooking the harbour. The waitress... More 

Helpful?
Thank DavidinNZ
Axbridge
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2016

We took some friends here recently and were pleasantly surprised. On booking I asked for a table by the window so we could look out over the Marina and this duly happened. We thought the menu catered for all tastes (and particularly good as I need gluten free and there was plenty of choice). The staff were attentive, we did... More 

Helpful?
Thank SusanAxbridge
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2016 via mobile

Hubby and I went to Phil's Place tonight for dinner and we found it absolutely lovely. The staff were attentive and professional. The menu is great, with the average meal costing around $34.00. I had the chargrilled lamb which was well cooked and a good size and hubby had the beef open sandwich which was fantastic (according to him!). It's... More 

Helpful?
Thank fieryred33
JoatPhilsPlace, Manager at Phil's Place, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely comments it is very much appreciated. More 

Perugia, Italy
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2016 via mobile

Dropped in without a reservation for lunch, warmly greeted and accommodated. good selection of local wines, very comprehensive menu. We chose the civiche, scallops and green lipped mussels as a main. The coconut coriander smothered civiche was fab, the scallops sublime and the mussels, wow, if I could, I would go back for more. A nz staple, did proudly. All... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Caipucci
tanzania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2016

The food was very average, unfortunately. $30 for fish and chips so I expected better. The batter was gluggy and tasteless, the aioli tasted like it was full of preservatives and the salad was limp. The chips were good. While other tables around us were checked on during their meals (and complained), we were not, so I'm sharing my opinion... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank livetwodine
JoatPhilsPlace, Manager at Phil's Place, responded to this review

Sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your meal. It always pays to let the staff know and then we can do something about it at the time. More 

1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2016

Atmosphere was warn and friendly as was the welcome and service. Food was excellent so much so we had a return visit two weeks later , which didn't disappoint us either.

Helpful?
Thank Veronique T
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

First time patrons with visiting muso friends in tow. We were place at a window seat over looking the marina. We were impressed with the size and quality of the meals making Phil's Place somewhere we'll definetly visit again.

Helpful?
Thank Sonya B
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2016

I visited this restaurant a month ago with family. The service was great and the food was even better. The whole evening was so good I cannot wait to go back. I would highly recommend the pork belly and the green curry.

Helpful?
Thank Bal0ne

Travellers who viewed Phil's Place also viewed

Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 

Been to Phil's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$10 - US$30
Cuisine
Seafood, European, Soups, New Zealand, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Private Dining
Good for
Bar Scene, Business meetings, Child-friendly, View, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 - 23:00
Monday
11:30 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 23:00
Thursday
11:30 - 23:00
Friday
11:30 - 23:00
Saturday
11:30 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 101 Te Awanui Drive | Tauranga Bridge Marina, Tauranga, Tauranga 4550, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Bay of Plenty Region  >  Tauranga
  • Phone Number: +64 7-574 4147
Description
Open 7 days a week from 11.30 Am and serving food all day. We are located right on the waters edge at the Tauranga Bridge Marina.
Large menus to suit all ages and we do have children"s portions available.
Friendly staff in a wonderful ambiance. Delicious food and affordable prices.No surcharge on public holidays.
Closed Christmas Day , 26th and 27th December.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Phil's Place and other visitors
5 questions
Ask a question
6 months ago
Mt Maunganui New Zealand
7 months ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Phil's Place staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?