We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Phil's Place Restaurant

$$ - $$$Seafood, European,
101 Te Awanui Drive | Tauranga Bridge Marina, Tauranga 4550, New Zealand
+64 7-574 4147
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent49%
  • Very good28%
  • Average13%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“pork belly” (23 reviews)
“laksa” (3 reviews)
“mash” (9 reviews)
Open Now
11:30 AM - 8:30 PMAll hours
Seafood, European, New Zealand, Soups, Gluten Free Options
$$ - $$$
101 Te Awanui Drive | Tauranga Bridge Marina, Tauranga 4550, New Zealand
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (250)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

11 - 20 of 247 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2017

Everything was good until the waiter arrived to serve us, we thought he had left months ago and we were looking forward to him not being there. We were entertaining some very high level executives from out of town and the last thing we needed...More

Thank bartholomew123693
JoatPhilsPlace, Manager at Phil's Place Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2017

Sorry to hear of your experience. Not sure who you are talking about so if you would like to email me at info@philsplacenz.com I will look into it. Many thanks Jo

Reviewed 5 November 2017

Had lunch here, all staff very friendly and attentive. Food very good. Great views. Good variety on menu.

Thank deanyboy
Reviewed 3 November 2017

Well after travelling 11 000 miles, an extra 100 to Phil's place shouldn't have been an issue. Bit difficult to find as Google maps had it in a different place, but we eventually got there on a wet and windy day. Service was good as...More

Thank brymcd
Reviewed 1 November 2017

All very good excellent food service as iam a ac/dc fan thought I’d better travel to see it The service was excellent I had a fillet steak which was fantastic followed by creme bruel

Thank tadge999
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

Went out for dinner here partner never liked pork belly before, but this restaurant converted her! She loved it great atmosphere out at the marina! Would highly recommend in the summer as the suns coming down sitting outside with a beer enjoying an entree while...More

Thank willsamtroy
Reviewed 3 October 2017

A group of 4 of us decided to visit Phil's Place for dinner. A good location right on the harbour's edge. The ladies running the restaurant were very personable and attentive. The meal was of a good standard and pricing was consistent with the quality....More

Thank Lindsay P
Reviewed 17 September 2017

We ate at Phils Place last night and had a great family dinner The food was great and everyone enjoyed their meal. There staff are quick and efficient. Saturday night was busy but service was exceptional

Thank Kim S
JoatPhilsPlace, Manager at Phil's Place Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Thank you for your lovely comments xxxx

Reviewed 11 September 2017

We booked the private room for Granny's 90th birthday. From the first conversation with the staff, nothing was too much trouble. Right up until the day, the staff were phoning to confirm details with us, Ryan, in particular was amazing to deal with. We went...More

Thank JJZTauranga
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

Doubt we would ever go back. Bruschetta was cheese & tomato on bread. Mussel fritters were mussel slop Poor selection of wine Service average at best and then the bill came to add insult to injury. Great setting but to be avoided unless you just...More

2  Thank GeoffC53
JoatPhilsPlace, Manager at Phil's Place Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

So you must have been sitting with Angie who wrote the last post. Sorry you were disappointed.

Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

What an absolute waste of a great setting. I don't know where the chef went from the good reviews but ours was an overpriced and very disappointing experience. The main meals took forever so we had nothing else to do except drink the very basic...More

2  Thank AngieK947
JoatPhilsPlace, Manager at Phil's Place Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Wow you had a bad day. Never had a review like that. , even the central otago sauv blanc couldnt please you . Sorry you didn't enjoy anything.

Nearby HotelsSee all 57 hotels in Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
1,155 reviews
.96 km away
Roselands Motel
56 reviews
1.22 km away
Hotel Armitage
326 reviews
1.32 km away
Strand Motel
40 reviews
1.42 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Bobby's Fresh Fish Market
786 reviews
1.32 km away
373 reviews
1.54 km away
Nomad Food & Wine
107 reviews
1.59 km away
The Phoenix Tauranga
396 reviews
1.56 km away
Nearby Attractions
Hairy Maclary & Friends Tauranga Waterfront Sculpture
162 reviews
1.54 km away
The Elms
80 reviews
1.22 km away
Tauranga Art Gallery
88 reviews
1.49 km away
Dolphin Seafaris
219 reviews
.04 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Kiamaia W
17 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from HelenWindle | Reviewed this property |
they do have a function room so give them a call
William P
24 September 2016|
Response from JoatPhilsPlace | Property representative |
Yes you can book online, but best to give us a call.
31 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from JoatPhilsPlace | Property representative |
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
US$10 - US$30
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Private Dining, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
View, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Open Hours
11:30 AM - 8:00 PM
11:30 AM - 8:30 PM
11:30 AM - 8:30 PM
11:30 AM - 8:30 PM
11:30 AM - 8:30 PM
11:30 AM - 8:30 PM
11:30 AM - 8:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 101 Te Awanui Drive | Tauranga Bridge Marina, Tauranga 4550, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Bay of Plenty Region  >  Tauranga
  • Phone Number: +64 7-574 4147
  • E-mail
Open 7 days a week from 11.30 am and serving food all day. We are located right on the waters edge at the Tauranga Bridge Marina.
Large menus to suit all ages and we do have children"s portions available.
Friendly staff in a wonderful ambiance. Delicious food and affordable prices.No surcharge on public holidays.
Closed Christmas Day , 26th and 27th December and Good Friday.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing