We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Phil's Place Restaurant

) #42 of 291 Restaurants in Tauranga $$ - $$$ Seafood, European,
101 Te Awanui Drive | Tauranga Bridge Marina, Tauranga 4550, New Zealand
+64 7-574 4147
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent50%
  • Very good27%
  • Average14%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“pork belly” (20 reviews)
“mash” (7 reviews)
“tapas” (9 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Seafood, European, New Zealand, Soups, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
101 Te Awanui Drive | Tauranga Bridge Marina, Tauranga 4550, New Zealand
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2017

Rainy day nice table near a window - good food and service . I brought my daughter here for her birthday. We enjoyed a shared feast of different small dishes. A good choice of dishes to choose from. The Lamb Tapa highly recommended. The scallops...More

Thank JanenGeoff
Reviewed 23 April 2017

I went there with my family from overseas and they were impressed with the beautiful view and lovely service. The waiter bring us some taste of NZ beers and also reserved a table inside for us when the weather got cold. The food was really...More

Thank mlmayara
Reviewed 12 April 2017 via mobile

2 lunch meals both disappointed: steak open sandwich with overcooked leathery steak ; seafood skewer 2 tiny scallops over cooked and dry, prawns & squid ok. Wild rice dry and boring, made edible by tasty coriander dip. Salad not dressed. Fortunately desserts were delicious -...More

Thank BeachFoodie528
JoatPhilsPlace, Manager at Phil's Place Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2017

We apologise if you didn't enjoy your meal and appreciate your comments.

Reviewed 11 April 2017

The venue is great - affording views of the harbour and tons of parking. Staff reception is warm and welcoming. As a party of eight mature (or thereabouts!) and discerning diners, we were given the private room adjacent to the restaurant and were smothered in...More

Thank KFG2004
Reviewed 11 April 2017

Phil's place sits on the edge of the marina looking towards the sunset and on the night we went to celebrate our wedding anniversary it was a stunning evening, the restaurant is lovely, and the service is reasonable/good/average. Mains run at about $36 -$39 so...More

1  Thank RussRascal
Reviewed 10 April 2017

Stunning sunny day, sat overlooking water, friendly prompt service without being IN YOUR FACE! Both meals ceviche and prawn salad superb, could have been in one of our favourite holiday places with ambience, weather and such fresh light food. Easy parking too, and setting puts...More

Thank ElsaMiro
Reviewed 6 April 2017

Love this place so much. Great tunes are always playing in the background with amazing food served every time. The atmosphere is relaxing and the staff are always welcoming. My family and I always keep coming back as we know we will always have a...More

Thank Bo Q
JoatPhilsPlace, Manager at Phil's Place Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2017

Thank you for your lovely comments.

Reviewed 5 April 2017

There is ample parking and the venue and menu are great. Service was personal and efficient. There is also a good wine list but beer selection was mainly bottles. bookings are optional but because it is popular one should.

Thank Rodney B
Reviewed 4 April 2017

There is no better place to dine on the waterfront for fabulous views of the water and the iconic Mt Maunganui, however our last 3 visits to this beautiful restaurant have not been nearly as good as we have experienced in the past few years,...More

Thank Jenny M
JoatPhilsPlace, Manager at Phil's Place Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2017

Sorry to hear that your visit wasnt up to standard. Some of our staff we employed over summer have now moved on and I apologise for any slack service. Our prices havent increased in 2 years . As far as checking meals we dont come...More

Reviewed 30 March 2017

We called in here on a busy Friday night. Although we had to sit outside we were pleased to have done so - inside was very crowded and noisy. Also, the view over the harbour was great. Staff were attentive and helpful. Food was delivered...More

1  Thank Paul B
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Bobby's Fresh Fish Market
713 reviews
1.32 km away
Macau
327 reviews
1.54 km away
The Phoenix Tauranga
348 reviews
1.56 km away
Volare
341 reviews
1.59 km away
Nearby Attractions
Hairy Maclary & Friends Tauranga Waterfront Sculpture
145 reviews
1.57 km away
The Elms
77 reviews
1.22 km away
Dolphin Seafaris
212 reviews
.04 km away
Gyrate NZ - Day Tours
8 reviews
1.56 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Kiamaia W
17 March 2017|
Answer Show all 3 answers
Response from HelenWindle | Reviewed this property |
they do have a function room so give them a call
0
Votes
William P
24 September 2016|
Answer
Response from JoatPhilsPlace | Property representative |
Yes you can book online, but best to give us a call.
1
Vote
Shonamarieob
31 August 2016|
Answer Show all 4 answers
Response from JoatPhilsPlace | Property representative |
Yes
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$10 - US$30
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Private Dining
Good for
Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Groups, Romantic, View
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 - 23:00
Monday
11:30 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 23:00
Thursday
11:30 - 23:00
Friday
11:30 - 23:00
Saturday
11:30 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 101 Te Awanui Drive | Tauranga Bridge Marina, Tauranga 4550, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Bay of Plenty Region  >  Tauranga
  • Phone Number: +64 7-574 4147
  • E-mail
Description
Open 7 days a week from 11.30 Am and serving food all day. We are located right on the waters edge at the Tauranga Bridge Marina. Large menus to suit all ages and we do have children"s portions available. Friendly staff in a wonderful ambiance. Delicious food and affordable prices.No surcharge on public holidays. Closed Christmas Day , 26th and 27th December and Good Friday.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing