We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Phil's Place Restaurant

$$ - $$$Seafood, European,
101 Te Awanui Drive | Tauranga Bridge Marina, Tauranga 4550, New Zealand
+64 7-574 4147
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent51%
  • Very good26%
  • Average13%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“pork belly” (20 reviews)
“laksa” (3 reviews)
“mash” (7 reviews)
Open Now
11:30 AM - 11:00 PMAll hours
CUISINES
Seafood, European, New Zealand, Soups, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
101 Te Awanui Drive | Tauranga Bridge Marina, Tauranga 4550, New Zealand
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 232 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A group of 4 of us decided to visit Phil's Place for dinner. A good location right on the harbour's edge. The ladies running the restaurant were very personable and attentive. The meal was of a good standard and pricing was consistent with the quality....More

Thank Lindsay P
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We ate at Phils Place last night and had a great family dinner The food was great and everyone enjoyed their meal. There staff are quick and efficient. Saturday night was busy but service was exceptional

Thank Kim S
JoatPhilsPlace, Manager at Phil's Place Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely comments xxxx

Reviewed 11 September 2017

We booked the private room for Granny's 90th birthday. From the first conversation with the staff, nothing was too much trouble. Right up until the day, the staff were phoning to confirm details with us, Ryan, in particular was amazing to deal with. We went...More

Thank JJZTauranga
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

Doubt we would ever go back. Bruschetta was cheese & tomato on bread. Mussel fritters were mussel slop Poor selection of wine Service average at best and then the bill came to add insult to injury. Great setting but to be avoided unless you just...More

2  Thank GeoffC53
JoatPhilsPlace, Manager at Phil's Place Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

So you must have been sitting with Angie who wrote the last post. Sorry you were disappointed.

Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

What an absolute waste of a great setting. I don't know where the chef went from the good reviews but ours was an overpriced and very disappointing experience. The main meals took forever so we had nothing else to do except drink the very basic...More

1  Thank AngieK947
JoatPhilsPlace, Manager at Phil's Place Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Wow you had a bad day. Never had a review like that. , even the central otago sauv blanc couldnt please you . Sorry you didn't enjoy anything.

Reviewed 3 August 2017

Wonderful, wholesome, happy, interesting, fabulous food! Always welcomed by staff who are atrociously funny and appropriately friendly. The French waiter was a nice touch too. Thank you for a great night and we WILL be back for many more great nights. Always recommend Phil's Place....More

Thank Megan W
JoatPhilsPlace, Manager at Phil's Place Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely comments

Reviewed 28 July 2017

We turned up with no reservation on a busy night and were given the most amazing service with very attentive staff. The food was incredible and the plate was loaded with food. This place has been one of best discoveries in a long time! Yes...More

Thank tanz320
JoatPhilsPlace, Manager at Phil's Place Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely comments.

Reviewed 22 July 2017

Went as a group of nine, restaurant full. Eye fillet steak is the best I have had for a long time just divine. Hubby had ribs , outstanding.

Thank jan r
JoatPhilsPlace, Manager at Phil's Place Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to give your lovely comments,

Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

Located half way between the mount & Tauranga CBD This restaurant is right on the waters edge at one of the BOP marina's making the location one of the best in the bay. It's a perfect destination alongside the moored boats with exceptional harbour views....More

Thank claudieluv
JoatPhilsPlace, Manager at Phil's Place Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

Sorry it wasnt what you expected

Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile

Starting with the empty atmosphere and dull 1970s music the experience of Phils Place is a far cry from that of AC/DC. The staff were lovely, but the menu is dated. The food was variable. Prawns and scallops were fabulous, the calamari and seafood chowder...More

Thank Meals-Geology
JoatPhilsPlace, Manager at Phil's Place Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2017

Thank you for your comments. We play Pandora live so music can vary. This is not an ACDC place it is Phils Place and he does not want ACDC music played here. We are a relaxing restaurant not a Hard Rock Cafe and I am...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Bobby's Fresh Fish Market
751 reviews
1.32 km away
Macau
347 reviews
1.54 km away
The Phoenix Tauranga
363 reviews
1.56 km away
Nomad Food & Wine
95 reviews
1.59 km away
Nearby Attractions
Hairy Maclary & Friends Tauranga Waterfront Sculpture
152 reviews
1.56 km away
The Elms
78 reviews
1.22 km away
Dolphin Seafaris
213 reviews
.04 km away
Gyrate NZ - Day Tours
8 reviews
1.56 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Kiamaia W
17 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from HelenWindle | Reviewed this property |
they do have a function room so give them a call
0
Votes
William P
24 September 2016|
Answer
Response from JoatPhilsPlace | Property representative |
Yes you can book online, but best to give us a call.
1
Vote
Shonamarieob
31 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from JoatPhilsPlace | Property representative |
Yes
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$10 - US$30
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Private Dining, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Local cuisine, Groups, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, View, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Monday
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 101 Te Awanui Drive | Tauranga Bridge Marina, Tauranga 4550, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Bay of Plenty Region  >  Tauranga
  • Phone Number: +64 7-574 4147
  • E-mail
Description
Open 7 days a week from 11.30 Am and serving food all day. We are located right on the waters edge at the Tauranga Bridge Marina. Large menus to suit all ages and we do have children"s portions available. Friendly staff in a wonderful ambiance. Delicious food and affordable prices.No surcharge on public holidays. Closed Christmas Day , 26th and 27th December and Good Friday.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing