We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Phil's Place Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
101 Te Awanui Drive | Tauranga Bridge Marina, Tauranga, Tauranga 4550, New Zealand
+64 7-574 4147
Website
Today
11:30 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:30 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

218 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 215: English reviews
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I went there with my family from overseas and they were impressed with the beautiful view and lovely service. The waiter bring us some taste of NZ beers and also reserved a table inside for us when the weather got cold. The food was really good!

Helpful?
Thank mlmayara
Opotiki, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

2 lunch meals both disappointed: steak open sandwich with overcooked leathery steak ; seafood skewer 2 tiny scallops over cooked and dry, prawns & squid ok. Wild rice dry and boring, made edible by tasty coriander dip. Salad not dressed. Fortunately desserts were delicious - and the view is fabulous.

Helpful?
Thank BeachFoodie528
JoatPhilsPlace, Manager at Phil's Place, responded to this review

We apologise if you didn't enjoy your meal and appreciate your comments. More 

Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The venue is great - affording views of the harbour and tons of parking. Staff reception is warm and welcoming. As a party of eight mature (or thereabouts!) and discerning diners, we were given the private room adjacent to the restaurant and were smothered in attention. Eight different diners ordered eight different meals from all over the menu and specials... More 

Helpful?
Thank KFG2004
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Phil's place sits on the edge of the marina looking towards the sunset and on the night we went to celebrate our wedding anniversary it was a stunning evening, the restaurant is lovely, and the service is reasonable/good/average. Mains run at about $36 -$39 so it is slightly higher end, so I expected very good meals, hence my disappointment with... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank RussRascal
Level Contributor
99 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stunning sunny day, sat overlooking water, friendly prompt service without being IN YOUR FACE! Both meals ceviche and prawn salad superb, could have been in one of our favourite holiday places with ambience, weather and such fresh light food. Easy parking too, and setting puts you in holiday mood!

Helpful?
Thank ElsaMiro
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Love this place so much. Great tunes are always playing in the background with amazing food served every time. The atmosphere is relaxing and the staff are always welcoming. My family and I always keep coming back as we know we will always have a great night out.

Helpful?
Thank Bo Q
JoatPhilsPlace, Manager at Phil's Place, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments. More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
68 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

There is ample parking and the venue and menu are great. Service was personal and efficient. There is also a good wine list but beer selection was mainly bottles. bookings are optional but because it is popular one should.

Helpful?
Thank Rodney B
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

There is no better place to dine on the waterfront for fabulous views of the water and the iconic Mt Maunganui, however our last 3 visits to this beautiful restaurant have not been nearly as good as we have experienced in the past few years, we have found that the food seems to take longer on each visit and that... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jenny M
JoatPhilsPlace, Manager at Phil's Place, responded to this review

Sorry to hear that your visit wasnt up to standard. Some of our staff we employed over summer have now moved on and I apologise for any slack service. Our prices havent increased in 2 years . As far as checking meals we dont come over and bother your table and assume you are enjoying everything unless are otherwise told.... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
105 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We called in here on a busy Friday night. Although we had to sit outside we were pleased to have done so - inside was very crowded and noisy. Also, the view over the harbour was great. Staff were attentive and helpful. Food was delivered reasonably promptly considering how busy they were. Two of us a fish dish, which was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
Bundaberg, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great Place Phil on the water veiws, atmosphere,great imformitive Floor staff,but I got sucked in to ordering a meal which i didn't receive Shame! Driving all day to see a friend and family for the evening we were delighted to be told that we were eating in a establishment owned by rock and roll royalty . was told that the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nic H
JoatPhilsPlace, Manager at Phil's Place, responded to this review

I spoke the chef and it was mussels that we had sold out of not the fish. Our apolgies for any inconvenience More 

Travellers who viewed Phil's Place also viewed

Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 

Been to Phil's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$10 - US$30
Cuisine
Seafood, European, Soups, New Zealand, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Private Dining
Good for
Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, View, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 - 23:00
Monday
11:30 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 23:00
Thursday
11:30 - 23:00
Friday
11:30 - 23:00
Saturday
11:30 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 101 Te Awanui Drive | Tauranga Bridge Marina, Tauranga, Tauranga 4550, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Bay of Plenty Region  >  Tauranga
  • Phone Number: +64 7-574 4147
Description
Open 7 days a week from 11.30 Am and serving food all day. We are located right on the waters edge at the Tauranga Bridge Marina.
Large menus to suit all ages and we do have children"s portions available.
Friendly staff in a wonderful ambiance. Delicious food and affordable prices.No surcharge on public holidays.
Closed Christmas Day , 26th and 27th December.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Phil's Place and other visitors
5 questions
Ask a question
7 months ago
Mt Maunganui New Zealand
8 months ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Phil's Place staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?