We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

#1 of 32 Cafe in Taupo
Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

CUISINES
Cafe, International, European, Healthy, New Zealand
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Drinks
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (745)
Filter reviews
713 results
Traveller rating
510
137
38
19
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
510
137
38
19
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brunch french toast eggs bene lamb salad loaded fries scones cake great coffee converted house lovely cafe big breakfast outdoor seating great lunch delicious food friendly service new zealand gingerbread
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago

This place served the most delicious hash stack and even had vegan options for those that way inclined. Super dope and mean!

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Good food, one of our favourite places in Taupo. Staff and service are excellent. Value for money too

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Was ok for brekkie, not sure it should be top of the list though. Friendly staff, good selection on menu.More

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?
MrMukesh, General Manager at Spoon and Paddle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear A1dan, Thank you so much for leaving us a 4-star review! That's pretty good, as you say. But please elaborate - what was it about your experience that has made you say that we shouldn't be at the top of the list? We always...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had really high expectations due to reviews and menu options. Was quite disappointed by what was presented. Felt that the food was very underseasoned and bland, Quite underwhelming.More

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?
MrMukesh, General Manager at Spoon and Paddle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi there 321Jessica123, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. 3-stars isn't the worse but it's certainly way below what we aim for. I'm so sorry that you left feel underwhelmed... Could you please elaborate on what it was you ordered?...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We ate at many places when staying in Taupo over the Christmas period but I have to say Spoon & Paddle was the stand-out. We dined three times in total, twice for breakfast and once for lunch. All dishes were amazing - the ginger french...toast and creamy mushrooms in particular. My macchiato was perfection! Nice staff. The English girl on the till in particular was very friendly. She recognised us on each visit and was so personal, made us feel like regular customers! I've never experienced service like that during my time in NZ. Really nice touch she's a great host.More

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?1  
MrMukesh, General Manager at Spoon and Paddle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear lenalorenalore, Wow! Thank you so much! We love all of our positive reviews, but the best ones are when my individual staff and their hard work is noticed. We boast a fantastic team of skilled hospo professionals here, and the server you're referring to,...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We turned up unannounced with a group of 20 and the staff catered for all of us excellently and efficiently. The food was delicious and fast. Highly recommend.More

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?
MrMukesh, General Manager at Spoon and Paddle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear F6380TXjoshh, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such an amazing review! It was great fun when the 20 of you turned-up, and we were more than happy to accommodate you all. Our barista and chefs are super fast, and...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Having been here a few times now we have yet to be disappointed, the coffee and cold drinks were good and the food was delicious.More

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?
MrMukesh, General Manager at Spoon and Paddle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear halez84, Thank you for this great review! It makes our day we hear that we not only pleased you on one, but many visits! I will pass on your amazing comments to staff so that they are all aware that they are doing a...More

Reviewed 21 December 2020 via mobile

Breakfast was fantastic and the coffee first class. Great and friendly service. Highly recommended ...

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?
MrMukesh, General Manager at Spoon and Paddle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear garyes1, Wow what a review! Thank you so much for this stellar praise. We take coffee very seriously and endeavour to provide the best service in town. Sounds like we did just that. Thanks again. See you soon hopefully!

Reviewed 20 December 2020 via mobile

Try the chilli garlic prawn hash stack ! ! New on the menu - totally worth the try. Very nice staff too :)More

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?1  
MrMukesh, General Manager at Spoon and Paddle, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2020

Dear mpnmpn, Yayyy - we're so happy you enjoyed our new garlic chilli prawn option! Our chef will be thrilled to read this review. As will our servers as they are clearly doing a stellar job. Thank you so much - please come back in...More

Reviewed 14 December 2020 via mobile

Yummy menu and great coffee! And the service from the friendly staff was wonderful. Would definitely recommend this place for brunch!More

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?
MrMukesh, General Manager at Spoon and Paddle, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2020

Dear StaceyKav, Thank you this lovely review, Stacey! Recommendations means so much to our business and we couldn't do without them. I'm so pleased to hear that my staff were friendly and gave you such superb service. Hopefully we'll get the pleasure of welcoming you...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
ASURE PRINCE motor lodge
288 reviews
.14 km away
Adelphi Motel
87 reviews
.24 km away
Lake Taupo Motor Inn
368 reviews
.25 km away
Chevron Motel
70 reviews
.28 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Malabar Indian Restaurant & Bar (Nepalese & Indian Cuisine)
857 reviews
.30 km away
Master of India
1,215 reviews
.25 km away
Indian Affair Restaurant and Bar
662 reviews
.27 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Lake Taupo
538 reviews
.31 km away
Taupo Museum
227 reviews
.48 km away
Maori Rock Carvings
461 reviews
.53 km away
Taupo i-SITE Visitor Information Centre
199 reviews
.52 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
lynneh523
10 April 2019|
Answer
Response from Debra P | Reviewed this property |
Sorry I reviewed it only. I don’t know the answer and I am curious to know that too!
0
Votes
zpyder
12 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Mukesh G | Property representative |
Hi there, Dogs are very welcome. We do have lots of shade and a water bowl for your dog.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing