We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
PRICE RANGE
$25 - $76
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
CUISINES
American, Southwestern, Bar, New Zealand
FEATURES
Takeout, Television, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Table Service
Reviews (496)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
484 results
Traveller rating
157
164
66
52
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
157
164
66
52
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ribs burrito fish and chips kids meals saturday night great meal the wait staff ravi lake auckland
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went to Lone Star Taupo to celebrate with family. We had a fantastic meal enjoyed the main, desert and cocktails. The service was amazing and food was great value for the money. Would definitely recommend and will be a return customer. Thumbs up to...you Lone Star.More

Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Leah Hepi, Owner at Lone Star, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

That sounds like a wonderful dining experience! It's great to hear that you and your family enjoyed everything from the meal to the service at Lone Star Taupo. Thanks for sharing your positive review, and it's awesome to hear you'll be returning!

Reviewed 10 March 2024

Virtually no service, couldn’t remember which beer was which ,or who was having what meal, all the food was overcooked and then drowned in sauce, no one asked how the meal was , I feel sick just looking thinking about itMore

Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Leah Hepi, Owner at Lone Star, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2024

Hi I understand there may have been confusion regarding our seating policy. Our outdoor area, like many lakefront establishments, operates on a pay-as-you-go basis without table service. We're happy to replace any unsatisfactory meals, but we rely on customers to inform us as our waitstaff...More

Reviewed 28 February 2024

Was very shocked to see how a worker at Lone Star Taupo treats their customers. saw a young lady come in and ask to see someone must have been a worker, the short blonde hair lady that was on the desk said she would go...and get the person for this girl, but never did instead she walked outside with another worker to watch a parasailer that was going to land out front the poor lady was so confused on why the worker had just walked outside and didn't even go and get the person this young lady had asked for. But Lucky another worker came to the front and the young lady told this worker that she was there to see some and this worker did go and get this person for this young lady.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Leah Hepi, Owner at Lone Star, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2024

The situation involved the daughter of one of our workers who was expecting her and knew she had arrived.

Reviewed 31 January 2024

We stop in Taupo for a night or two in Jan on our way north each year. We typically have dinner here given we have 4 kids who are starving! Our experience in Jan this year was unfortunately poor. It was an hour and a...half before any food arrived and were ignored by wait staff throughout. We would have appreciated a heads up at the time of being seated of a wait like this as it’s far far too long. We politely mentioned this when paying but got the strong sense that our feedback wasn’t valued and wouldn’t be going any further. Doubt we’ll be back unfortunately.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 January 2024

Pathetic customer service . Manger and owner shouldn’t be in the food industry. Treat their customers like dirt . Will never returnMore

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Leah Hepi, Owner at Lone Star, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2024

Hi Lisa We adhere to a no outside food policy in our restaurant. Despite our request, your persistence in allowing your children to eat pizza inside was considered disrespectful. We've already discussed this matter on two platforms, including a phone call. We've moved on and...More

Reviewed 17 January 2024

This was a great stop for lunch while we were travelling to Napier. The staff were awesome and the food was the best we both had the beef burger lunch special they had going and it was super tasty. Would happily come back next time...we are up thereMore

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 January 2024

Friendly staff yummy food and great cocktails . Lots of variety on the menu to suit all tastes ❤️❤️❤️❤️

Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 January 2024

Excellent service, friendly staff. Kids had colouring in which was appreciated. Food came out fast and was so delicious 10/10. Thank you

Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Leah Hepi, Owner at Lone Star, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2024

Thank you for your positive feedback! We're delighted to hear that you had a great experience with our service, staff, and food. We appreciate your 10/10 rating! If you have any more comments or requests, feel free to share.

Reviewed 9 January 2024

Nice evening for the family, good dinning experience, food choices catered for all . The music was way too loud and spoiled the atmosphere somewhat. Felt like we were yelling to communicate and the staff definitely had to yell to be heard. Not the only...guests to mention the music volume!! However food was very good,More

Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Leah Hepi, Owner at Lone Star, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2024

I appreciate your detailed feedback on the evening. It's great to hear that the food met your expectations. I'll pass along your comments about the loud music to the management for consideration. But isn’t country music great. We aim to create a pleasant atmosphere for...More

Reviewed 31 December 2023

We were searching for a breakfast spot to kickstart our day's activities, and the Lone Star menu caught our attention for its diverse catering to our group's dietary needs. It turned out to be the ideal place, with warm and friendly staff, a vibrant atmosphere,...and delightful breakfast dishes—all at a fantastic price. We're looking forward to returning for another breakfast. Big thanks to Lone Star!More

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Leah Hepi, Owner at Lone Star, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2024

I'm glad to hear you had a positive experience at Lone Star! It sounds like a great choice for your breakfast, and it's wonderful that they accommodated your group's dietary needs. Looking forward to hearing about your future visits!

Reviewed 7 December 2023

Me and my Dad had a great evening here. The Stir Crazy Sirloin was cooked perfecty and the El Greengo Burger (vegetarian) was great! FOH service was excellent!

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Leah Hepi, Owner at Lone Star, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2023

Thank you for the wonderful review

Reviewed 17 November 2023

We popped in here for dinner without a booking and during a very busy period. The staff were very accommodating and seated us in the bar. We had to order our drinks etc from the bar (there was no table service), but no problem. Dinner...came in good time and was yummy.More

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Leah Hepi, Owner at Lone Star, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2023

It's great to hear that the staff accommodated you well, despite the busy period. Glad you enjoyed your dinner.

Reviewed 5 November 2023

the old Lady out the front poor customer service tonight and made us feel like we couldn’t afford our food just looked at us like we were below the lone star grade.

Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Leah Hepi, Owner at Lone Star, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2023

I apologize for the unfortunate experience you had with our service tonight. We value all our customers and aim to provide a welcoming environment for everyone.

Reviewed 7 October 2023

Really nice night at Lonestar! The waiter was lovely, really professional, and made us feel so comfortable. It was really busy but we were very impressed with the wait time, especially with drinks which came out really quick. We also really appreciated being seated in...the bar as the main area was very busy and loud with lots of kids running about, and as it was just the two of us it was nice to be somewhere quieter. Only criticism would be that the meat in the beef nachos was a little dry, but we generally loved our experience :)More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 September 2023

Came here to celebrate my sons birthday as we have every year since 2020. Got a tray of drinks spilt over myself and my son. Had to change tables as it was a mess.. at the end we were not in any way compensated even...though we were told we would get the drinks paid for… a disgusting way to finish a family birthday tradition.. we will not be back and will share this storyMore

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Leah Hepi, Owner at Lone Star, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2023

Hi Ben That’s the first incident we have had in 2 years and will probably be the last for another 2. So sorry you let this ruin your night. I feel even the free drinks may not have satisfied you. I’m sure if mentioned at...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Great Lake Motel Taupo
140 reviews
.23 km away
Absolute Lake View Motel
68 reviews
.23 km away
Acacia Lake View Motel
126 reviews
.29 km away
ASURE PRINCE motor lodge
344 reviews
.36 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Malabar Nepalese and Indian Kitchen
979 reviews
.11 km away
Indian Affair
726 reviews
.12 km away
The Steak House Taupo
439 reviews
.12 km away
Cafe Baku
443 reviews
.06 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Chasing Waterfalls with Taxicat Adventures
19 reviews
.50 km away
Lake Taupo
923 reviews
.23 km away
Taupo Museum
233 reviews
.27 km away
Taupo Information Centre
205 reviews
.29 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Lone Star staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

LONE STAR, Taupo - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Lone Star

Yes, Lone Star offers takeaway services.

Lone Star is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 4